my baby is Alhumdulillah 2months+1week old now and most of my relatives and in-laws are saying that he’s kamzor…
i dont know what the problem is as m regularly breasfeeding him…he sleeps for maximum 15 hours a day…his stools n urine-passing schedule is perfect…
at his 2month checkup the doctor said he’s doing fine…
he’s wearing 4-6month baby’s size clothes…
at birth his weight was 3.7kg…after 1 week he was 3.5kg…after 2months he’s 5.5kg…
the doctor also told me to multiply his birth weight times 2…so that will be his weight when he’ll be 4 month old…that is 7.4kg…so in 2 months he needs to gain 2kgs…
is this pattern fine?
my baby is Alhumdulillah 2months+1week old now and most of my relatives and in-laws are saying that he's kamzor.....:(
i dont know what the problem is as m regularly breasfeeding him....he sleeps for maximum 15 hours a day....his stools n urine-passing schedule is perfect....
at his 2month checkup the doctor said he's doing fine.....
he's wearing 4-6month baby's size clothes....
at birth his weight was 3.7kg.....after 1 week he was 3.5kg......after 2months he's 5.5kg.....
the doctor also told me to multiply his birth weight times 2...so that will be his weight when he'll be 4 month old...that is 7.4kg...so in 2 months he needs to gain 2kgs....
is this pattern fine?
If your ped says he is doing fine then he is doing fine.
5.5 kg at 2 months is mashaAllah a good weight. You can keep a track of his growth percentile and as long as it does not significantly drop and stays the same, the baby is growing fine.
My son was very small and was growing at less than 10%ile but he remained at the same percentile throughout his infancy so even though he weighed very less and was very thin, he was growing at the same rate which is what was important.
there is no specific patteren every baby is different.... if baby is tiny n slimy its not necessary he is kamzoor if ur ped is saying he is doing fne thn not to worry.... i remember when i went to pakistan for 1st time n every1 said the same n she was already above her weight percentile n when i told my ped tht every1 saying she is kamzoor tu she said u want her to start gym right now she is already above average percentile......
if ur ped is satisfied wth ur baby's growth dont worry.
people always say the baby is kamzoor. no baby can be chubby enough for desis :D (our ped actually warned us about this, tho he's hispanic and was referring to his own relatives.)
if the baby's growth rates and percentiles are steady, then don't worry.
Akmoti, someone saw my 6 month old son and gave us advice to get appetite increaser from pharmacy. This lady's son was CHUBBY, my husband was royally pissed.
Pls don't pay attention to these kind of ppl, like you said ur baby is pretty regular with his bowel movement, just look at his activities, when he is up is he fresh and responding. That is all. Every child is different and body structure is different.
Like others said,as long as your baby is gaining weight and growing in length at a good steady 'rate' it is all well.Every baby is different and as long as he is eating well and developing well and achieving milestones it is good.
I have heard of a formula regarding weight gain in the first year of life but do not recall well.I think they are supposed to be double the birth weight by 6 months of age and triple the birth weight (or was it four times..?!?!) by the first birthday.You can ask the pediatrician about it.
Just yesterday I was told by a random stranger that my 2 yo is very tiny and she does not look like 2 years old.I know she is above the 50th centile for her height and a lil below that for her weight so I know she is fine.But people always say that,all kids are 'kamzoor' by default...:D
lol oh thank god!!! i was soo worried my MIL was saying start giving him formula twice or thrice a day so that he'll become chubby....he looks perfectly fine to me at this age....but its very difficult to convince people
Akmoti, genes play a very important part in chubbiness too. I was skinny as a kid, and my hubby was skinny skinny guy till his college days. Our kid wasn't going to be a chubby kid so pls keep that in mind too.
Don't overfeed your child, you are not helping them. Chubbiness as a child looks great (everyone loves a gappu baby but ) no one calls a kid chubby once they start walking, then those chubby kids are called fat / obese.
^i was super chubby at my childhood lol but my husband was skinny till his education completed…my mil was a working lady so she said i used to formula feed him so he was very chubby…but he doesnt look chubby to me in pictures…
and my height is short 5’'3 while husband’s n inlaws height is good n my baby’s height is also good mashaAllah so maybe because of good height he doesnt look chubby…
U know what akmoti, wait a little while longer. It only gets more annoying, when your baby is 10 month old everyone will start asking does he talk , does he walk ? kitney daant aagaey.
If he has less teeth then they will doctor ko check karao, maybe you are not feeding him right. IF he hasn't started saying little words then they will say koi disability toh naheen, he should be saying blah blah. If he is not walking they will ask if he is standing and so on.
Best advice for new mothers, develop a thick skin, and ignore ppl. You are a good judge of whether your baby is healthy, lacking or showing disability or slowness in something. If you are worried, talk to your paed and that is it.
Haha agree with u automne..these days my mom is saying khadija ka sar bara bara nahi lgra iski sar ki veins q itni pholivi hain is she ok?
I just reply mom she has a very light skin she is not Paa(amitabh)
^lol my cousins who r of my age in pak n have babies also say doctoron ko kya pata hum sahi bata rahay hain kamzor lagta hai:D
good advice automne77 we should rather enjoy people's comments lol