i am 37 weeks pregnant and had my ultrasound this morning..the radiologist told that baby’s bones,head,etc are fine for his intrauterine age butthe weight is 3 pounds less than what it should be at this stage i have gained 14 kgs during my pregnancy which i think is fine..i take milk,yoghurt,fruits,meat regularly..where have i gone wrong? what changes should i bring in my diet to make the best use of the final 2-4 weeks i am left with ? plzzzzzzzz help !
dear you should ask ur dr. for the best possible advice bcz she/he knows ur medical history but any way just eat well drink loads of water, milk eat fruits, carbs protiens etc n not to forget the folic acid. and read a lot of jokes to keep ur self and baby smiling. bcz when u feel happy u release serotonin and other happy neurotransmitters which makes the baby smile and feel happy too!
Congratulations!!! Try to eat less junk food (if you do at all) and keep on eating the healthy food. That way it all goes to the baby. Eat bananas and avacadoes (if they are available where you live). . By the way the ultrasound predictions of weight etc are not 100% accurate. Are you in a country other than Pakistan? If so, the western charts are different than others and our babies are usually petite. Ask the doctor too as others suggested and don’t worry. Insha Allah all will be fine. just pray and congratulations. At 37 weeks you arenear and babies do put on more weight in teh final weeks. As for me, I put on only 20 lbs (9-10 lilos) for my son and only 13-14 lbs in case of my daughter and was convinced both would be born very underweight (I was very sick both times, henceteh less weight gain) but both were born above average weight. Let us know how much the baby weighs and all the nicedetails when he/ she comes along. Remember 6 lbs at least (2.7 klios) is fine for a baby.
i have tried my best to take healthy food all the time during my pregnancy..but will be more careful now since it is the final 2-3 weeks to go now.. thanks eastern11
It sounds like you've been taking care of yourself, thats the most important thing! Talk to your doc about the size of the baby and see if your doc has any concerns. When a baby is too small, its called IUGR - Intrauterine Growth Restriction. It can have any number of causes, the most typical is insufficient uterine arteries. I had this and was put on "aspirin therapy" - one baby aspirin a day, this thins your blood a little bit so the baby gets more blood flow from the uterine arteries. It COULD also just be that your baby is small. Talk to your doc about it. And best wishes to you and your little one!
mamaof3: nahi nahi baba..it is not IUGR khuda-na-khwasta .. IUGR is i guess below 1700gms..but still..i will confirm with the doctor..i am a doctor myself too but not good enough with gynaecology !! esp when it comes to myself or my close ones
It could be the margin of error kind of thing you know that’s with ultrasounds. You are a doctor yourself, masha Allah, I know that while it helps you understand your pregnancy more, you probably keep thinking of all the rare things that could go wrong khda na karay. Let us know what the doctor says. Prayers.