My son is 4 month old now Mashallah. He was born in november but took a long time to come through the birth canal which resulted in a sort of cone shaped head. Although now his head is not as cone shaped as it was when he was born, its still a little long from the top (the part where the head curves). It is sometimes quite noticable when he has his head bent. His doctor said that I should try putting him in different position in his crib becoz he tends to turn his face to one side when he sleeps and since his skull bones are not fully fused yet the different positions will help his head get a more rounder shape. Some aunties told me to let him play on the carpet becoz the hard surface of the floor would help to shape his head. Do you guys have any suggestions on how this can be fixed?
My mom did that with me and my brother (head on ground) because she says most newborns have heads that are too outwardly curved. But place something on the floor (hard surface) that your baby can rest head on.
hmmm.. my daughter had the same issue and i placed a small pillow with wheat inside it under her head whenever she had a nap. And within 2 months her head was fine... lekin, the longer u leave it (as in shaping the head), the harder it will get cus the babies head starts to harden up as the months go on.
My mum, usually gets a cloth and puts a small cardboard in the middle and rolls up the sides so it resembles a small pillow, this way the babies head stays in the middle and doesnt move around too much. She's done this for all the babies that she has seen hehe..
But, u prob need to do something about it ASAP otherwise it'll be harder later.
You can get special neck support pillows in different sizes for all stages of infancy. Check out on google. I had some from Eddie Bauer. They were great for the crib as well as car seats and strollers.
My son is 4 month old now Mashallah. He was born in november but took a long time to come through the birth canal which resulted in a sort of cone shaped head. Although now his head is not as cone shaped as it was when he was born, its still a little long from the top (the part where the head curves). It is sometimes quite noticable when he has his head bent. His doctor said that I should try putting him in different position in his crib becoz he tends to turn his face to one side when he sleeps and since his skull bones are not fully fused yet the different positions will help his head get a more rounder shape. Some aunties told me to let him play on the carpet becoz the hard surface of the floor would help to shape his head. Do you guys have any suggestions on how this can be fixed?
Yes you can help him buy making or buy the pillow for him.
It would help. Insha Allah.
I knew one situation yes you can fix it by using right pillow.
Better you make ounself by measruing which side you want to be correct so make that accordingly. If you need help You can mail me a photo of you sons head from each side. I will try to draw what saped of pillow you have to make.
Carpet thing is so very useless.
If he do curwats himself always one side then put something there in order to block that side. So he won't be able to curwat that side. Put heavy pillow beside him
Better to put pillow beside each side in order not to let her sleep in any kurwat. If you want to make his head round buy a round pillow and fix his hed in that pillow and each side a heavy pillow.
Yes does work saw with my sisters baby now no one can find out that her head was so imbalance.
I would suggest you better make yourself or I can help you too. See which side needed help and make shape accordingly. First make drawing on paper and try to make one each time try to check under his head.
I didn't understand you explained the shape of your boys head.
Don't do anything to your child's head, just leave it as it is otherwise they'll be called "flat-heads" by their friends. "Sir banana" is a desi thing and I've been told off many a times for not doing it to my kids by my desi friends. I tell them it comes under changing Allah's creation.
I agree with hareem...There is noo need to do any thing..I hav 2 kids 23 months and 10 months..I never did any thing with head nd Mashalllah head shape is perfect.