Baby Shower Tradition - Godh Bharai Rasam

Baby shower or Ghodh Bharai is a tradition and celebrated during pregnancy and welcome unborn child by giving blessings and gifts to pregnant women.

This event is women only gathering and they play different games including baby’s gender, name suggestion and singing happy songs.

What is the origin of Baby Shower?

Do Pakistani celebrate this and what are activities of this event?

How do people of other culture celebrate this tradition?

Re: Baby Shower Tradition - Godh Bharai Rasam

@hareem01 @Tahurra @Microbian @KKF @Jolie @muqawwee123 @Nain

I haven't seen this being followed in Sindh. Though some copycats are trying to arrange this after watching star plus stuff.

This implies that baby shower is not a Pakistani tradition… :hmmm:

Kaafi hinduaana rasam hai waisay…:hmmm:

I think its not from Hindu scriptures. let @the_kaur @Southie @queer confirm it.

I perceive it is a cultural practice of an agrarian society like tradition of besakhi in Punjab.

Dry fruits put in *godh *or *jholi *of a pregnant woman (Showed on Star Plus)

Well I’ve only seen two people doing it…Bolly movies/dramas and nowadays Americans. My knowledge is very limited on the origin side.

Baby Shower History

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xSO_dP-6f2U

^ Video is not history.. Misleading title...

@Mir_Baloch @marwati

ida biya…

what does it say?

It just describe details of baby shower and at the end it compares Burmee baby shower which happened after baby born....

I think its probably limited to Northern India in subcontinent and even before advent of Indian channels, it was followed in some Urdu speaking families. PTV serials by Bajiya which were famous for showing customs never shown Godh Bharai.

some baloch do that doing the same thing and some dont

I have only seen this in dramas not in real life.

Do you celebrate it?

Konsa drama?

Mehndi :hmmm:

Yeh pakistani drama tha ya Indian… daily motion ka link bhi post karain… :chai:

Jawad ahmed ka song nahi yad
Aye mehndi ki ye raat :5:
Khudi google kar lain :chai:
Ayesha khan ki gaud bharai hui the us me