Ok , so I got the following :

• Body suits

• Baby Grows

• vests

• bibs

• socks

• caps

• mittens

Also got a towel wrap, fleece blanket, cellular blanket and changing mat.

**Questions I have:
**1- Do 0-3 month old babies need underwears ? or can I do without them?
2- Anything else I am missing on the essential list?
3- how many body suits and baby grows would the baby need in a week? I would reckon no more then 3 , but just asking incase i am wrong

Re: Baby essentials

Nopes no underwears for babies, just diapers-lots of them.
you need lots of bodysuits, also depends on how frequently you’d do laundry. Have at least 10 bodysuits for a week if you’re planning on doing laundry a lot.
You’ll need baby wipes, burp cloths, receiving blankets, nail clippers, diaper rash cream or Vaseline. I’m sure there is a complete list of essentials somewhere on this forum.

Newborn Essentials List - September 2012 Birth Club - BabyCenter

this is a pretty accurate list from which you can make your own

10 bodysuits :hayaa: Why do we need so many? is it when they spit out the milk that you have to change them so often?

I plan to do baby laundry twice a day :hmmm:
Nail clipper … now where can I possibly find that … I wonder if we get baby nail clippers

yeah I am making a separate list of baby toiletries

Do newborns need nail clipping at all in the first month or two?

PS : I havnt cared for/ been around a baby since 25 years .. so kindly bear with my dumb questions patiently :hula:

Oh honey, you have no idea how many clothing changes you BOTH will go through in one day!!! Spitting up milk is just half the equation, it comes out the other end too, sometimes simultaneously! Stock up and be prepared!

Newborns are born with very sharp nails, and they are prone to scratching themselves on the face quite frequently, so baby nail clippers are a must!

Lololol your questions are sooooo adorable!! Can totally tell its your first time!
Yup babies spit, diaper leakages etc you need clothes!

If you manage to do laundry twice a day, with a new born, I will give you the biggest trophy I can find :smiley: seriously!!!

Babys nails grow super rapidly and they can tend to scratch themselves too, need clipping 2-3 times a weeek!

ohhh I am so sorry I mistyped , I meant twice a week :smack: … I hope I will still get the trophy lol

Khati, thanks for that list, will go through it now. So the nails will need clipping right from the start .. I am already petrified at the thought of it :no:

Ok, I might be naive , but I actually thought the diapers would stop the nappy leaks and the bibs would control the spitting of all sorts .. but apparently that doesnt seem to the case here :hmmm:

you are kidding me , right , tell me its not true :eek: what are they, mushrooms or human nails !

Baby essentials

just get lots of bodysuits. Have lots patience. The one thing I would really suggest is freeze food and keep it in frozen containers. I would suggest to cook in double batches and freeze the leftover. A lot of There is breast feeding stress, guests/visitors…

yes baby needs lot of clothing accidents happen sometimes they spit milk sometimes diaper leaks. honestly speaking sleepsuits work best in first 3 months no shoes no socks anything required and yes you need swaddling blankets also, uff they make your life easy so easy to swaddle baby in them. n yes nails also keep mittens also my abbay was winter abby so mittens were fine if i am not able to trip the nails used to make her wear mitten, soft cotton caps also
if you are not able to find nail clipper get small scissor its so easy to cut nails

ok guys when you say babies need loads of clothing , give me quantities please ..

I was thinking of getting 5-7 body suits
Two baby gro’s ..

Looks like that isnt gonna be enough .. so I need to know the quantities please ..

ok here it is wht i bought since body suits first size can be used upto 3 months so yeah you can get 10 body suits n i bought almost 6 sleepsuits in newborn size tht i sued almost 3 weeks n i was doing laundary daily :smiley:
n then i bought almost 6 to 9 sleepsuits upto 3 months size n thn gradually brought wht i needed
3 swaddling blankets
2 separate blankets
i got almost 4 fleece blankets but tehy were totally wasted
got 2 sleeping bags wow loved them so easy to carry baby
4 pairs of mittens
almost 12 bibs
6 cotton caps ( even 2 or 4 can work) but i did some matching :slight_smile:

new baby in town ? :e6:

CB when are you due?

Yes LP inshallah baby ( nugget , as he is known here ) coming soon :hugz:

Aaliyah, inshallah early to Mid Jan .. anytime the Stork may drop him at the doorstep :@:

Oh my…congratssssss :hugz: May Allah ease this phase and bless you with a healthy baby.

Very happy to hear tht
:hugz:

congratzzzz :hugz:

I am in my last tri semester. 7 month has almost going to finish. And still i hvnt bought anythng. List mentionee above help me wt to buy. But i need pics to see. I am living in lahore. And shopkeeper makes me confuse. So plzz CB thngs u hv bought plz post pics. Others who can plz do it. Help me out while buyng. Tgis would be my first baby shopping. Thanx in advance

In lahore all shops that sell baby clothes have new born list in shops too.
there is baby shop, mothercare, zubeidas in lahore. Raja sahib also has good baby variety.

yes you need nail clippers.. I bought this safety kit pouch and a nail clipper to add in..I carry it in the diaper bag!

this is the pouch I got.. it has:

Alcohol Wipes
Medicine Dropper
Newborn Nasal Aspirator
Soft Grip Toothbrush
Emergency Information Card

Safety 1st Hospital’s Choice Complete Healthcare Kit (Styles Vary) - Safety 1st - Babies “R” Us

and this is the nail clipper I got.. (cant find the single item so I am sharing the kit) but we are still using it and its great! first time nail clipping was hard, in fact automne mentioned biting them off and I can see that because they were sooo soft but sharp! BUT i used this nail clipper and it worked for us!

The First Years American Red Cross BPA Free Deluxe Healthcare Kit - Learning Curve - Babies “R” Us

so here is my thread about nail clipping.. first time was scary, now I am pro at it :smiley:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/parenting/530479-nail-trimming.html

You neeed lots and lots of body suits… we found the open front body suits very helpful during early days of healing of belly button, circumcision etc.. in fact thats all we used for first two weeks and I had about 10 of them! I had lots and lots of body suits and I dont regret it at all.. I did go overboard but then remember I wasnt doing laundry everday after c section and my mom had to cook n clean so I wasnt expecting her to do these things for us.. hubby did the laundry every 2-3 days and to be honest we did throw away the body suits with poppy explosions since it was just silly try to wash and get the stain out.. we had no time for that!