Babu (the Chimp') takes revenge at Indian Zoo

KOLKATA (AFP) –

A chimpanzee in Kolkata zoo took revenge on visitors by hurling stones at them, injuring a mother and her six-year-old daughter, newspapers reported Monday.

Babu, a male chimpanzee, was being teased by the packed Sunday afternoon crowds when he hit Mithu Mondal, 30, and her daughter Nikita.

“Some of the visitors threw pieces of bricks at a chimpanzee named Babu. He became furious and retaliated by throwing stones at them,” S.K Chowdhury, the director of the zoo, told the Calcutta Telegraph.

The two victims were taken to hospital and released after treatment.
Last year Babu and a female chimpanzee escaped from their enclosure by breaking the lock.

:hehe: Love Chimps, kamal ke makhlooq hai.

Yahoo

Re: Babu (the Chimp') takes revenge at Indian Zoo

"Some of the visitors threw pieces of bricks at a chimpanzee named Babu. He became furious and retaliated by throwing stones at them," S.K Chowdhury, the director of the zoo, told the Calcutta Telegraph.

Good Babu, very good babu ... :p

How can visitors be cruel to these poor caged beings?
It never ceases to amaze me how insensitive people can be towards animals.......

GOOD for the little babu getting even with them lol! They were lucky and got off easy though, chimps are known to throw their poops at each other during disputes!!

Primates are fascinating! I could spend all day at the zoo just in their area. There was one zoo near my parents place that we visited where they allow much interaction between the animals and visitors, we could toss peanuts into monkey cage, feed hay pellets to goats etc etc. I was probably a bit mean with the baboons. They had a daddy baboon in one cage and the mama with baby right next door. They could see each other but were separated by chain-link fence. The daddy baboon would pay attention to all the visitors looking for peanuts but if he saw any visitor show affection to another visitor he would go NUTS. If I picked up one of my sons to see better, he would open his jaw like a hippo and scream then bounce up and down and then start throwing himself from one side of the cage to the other screaming at the top of his lungs the whole time. I have NO idea what that was all about and at first I didnt know what it was that was making him so agitated. So I was there for a while, talking to him, singing to him and boyz did too. And after a while, we figured out what it was that made this guy so very angry. He'd get particularly incensed if we hugged each other.

lol....I guess we were mean to the poor baboon daddy ... not intending to piss him off but not knowing what it was that made him so mad. It was fascinating though.

Re: Babu (the Chimp’) takes revenge at Indian Zoo

:rotfl: nice

LaHolWallah, yeh Ilzam hey

Main nay Nahee Kita Aisa

I is go to Sued Them on using mine name...schee

Babu Rocks...

Hahaha Babu bhai chaa gaya!

:hehe: Good babu rocks

schee I are vary good Babu

[quote=“Let_Uz_Chat, post:2, topic:193297”]

Last year Babu and a female chimpanzee escaped from their enclosure by breaking the lock.[

Babu eloped with a female chimpanzee :rotfl:](“http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20081215/wl_sthasia_afp/indiaanimalzoooffbeat_081215073500”)