I have heard that Azaan is recited once the baby is born.
What is the significance and who can do it?Can a female do it it has to be done only by a male ?
is it a farz?
Re: Azaan in newborn's ears
I don't know why it's done, if it's sunnat or anything, but my dad often does it for the baby's born in the family here. I figure it's a nice tradition -- no harm in it.
I'm sure some will say a female can't do it, but I don't see any reason for that.
Its not tradition, what I know its a farz .
the first thing a baby should hear after birth is the name of Allah. after birth, a male (because only males can do the azaan) says the azaan in the baby's right ear, and then the iqamah in the left ear. i know it's a sunnah, i'm not so sure about the fardh part of this.
this is similar to shaving the head of the baby, as well as the aqiqah.
I did it for my nephew - really proud moment for me.
Reciting azaan in the right and aqamat in the left ear of newborn is Sunnat. Prophet (saw) did it to his grandsons Imam Hasan and Imam Hussein (as).
Some people do it before cutting the cord. The old fashion way is to leave the cord pulsating and only cut it once it stops pulsating. This takes about 4-5 minutes or so. It is believed that babies recieve extra blood from the placenta after being born, and cord should not be cut immidiately (unless its necessary). Such babies rarely get iron deficient during the first year/s of life, I mean not because of the azaan but because of the delay in cord cutting.
People across the world had been doing it for centuries, I wonder when and how it became obsolete. Just thinking out loud ..
Reciting azaan in the right and aqamat in the left ear of newborn is Sunnat. Prophet (saw) did it to his grandsons Imam Hasan and Imam Hussein (as).
Some people do it before cutting the cord. The old fashion way is to leave the cord pulsating and only cut it once it stops pulsating. This takes about 4-5 minutes or so. It is believed that babies recieve extra blood from the placenta after being born, and cord should not be cut immidiately (unless its necessary). Such babies rarely get iron deficient during the first year/s of life, I mean not because of the azaan but because of the delay in cord cutting.
People across the world had been doing it for centuries, I wonder when and how it became obsolete. Just thinking out loud ..
and here docs cut it straight away!!
the azaan is usually done in the baby's right ear and iqamah in the left usually by a male relative, the Azaan or call to prayer is done on the birth of the baby and the actual prayer is read upon ones death, the namaz-e-janaza...it signifies how short our lives are.
**azaan in both ears ASAP after birth is a sunna of Prophet saws. after azaan there is supposed to be iqaama [salaat] so after a person dies then the namaaz-e-janaaza is held. so, there is a saying that the longest gap between azaan N iqaama is one's life span coz azaan is called at the time of birth and the iqaama after death.
this is the best reminder to establishing namaaz i've ever come across is as follows:
namaaz paRho isse pahle k tumhaarii namaaz paRhii jaaye**
Thanks for all the replies.
Restless..Does cutting of the cord have anything to do with the timing of the azaan?
I understand that it is a Sunnah.
Another question,I know its better to do it as early as possible,but what if no male relative is there at that time for whatever reasons.Will it be ok to do it like say when the baby is a few hours old?
Thanks for all the replies. Restless..Does cutting of the cord have anything to do with the timing of the azaan?
I understand that it is a Sunnah.
Another question,I know its better to do it as early as possible,but what if no male relative is there at that time for whatever reasons.Will it be ok to do it like say when the baby is a few hours old?
sure...azaan is NOT required to be called as soon as the baby breaths his/her first...it can be done as soon as possible. islam does NOT impose undue gardshgip on people. there is always a concession...for instance, one can eat pork if one's life is in imminent danger. Khair!
no cutting of chord has got nothing to do with it.** wallaho 'aalam bis-sawaab :)
Aate huwe azaan hui jaate huwe namaz
ji ji...saaNs aayii azaan huii saaNs gaii namaaz huii...is beech chand nafasoN kaa faasla hai phir bhi insaan ise bhulaa baiThaa hai...aur shaayad isii liye Allah ne Qur'aan-e-Paak meN farmaayaa k:
innal insaana la fee Khusr = be-shak insaan Khasaare meN hai
wallaho 'aalam bis-sawaab :)**
Is there someone in particular who should do it?
I think any male family member can do it.The father,any grandfather or uncle.
In our family, it has always been the most senior male.
My father did it for my eldest, Mr Maroush did it for our second.... and he'll be doing it for the third. :)
I think you got your answer already (although i am not sure about the sunnat/farz part). Alhamd my husband did the azaan for our baby when she was a few minutes old and i know he was really proud of being able to do that.
I've also heard if a baby is crying constantly for no reason you should give adhaan in his ears, it's soothing.
tabhe tu musalman hoga lol...