What is the average age of marriage for male and female considering these characteristics?
born and raised in usa, both parents are traditioinal pakistani muslims
average to pretty in looks.
education is important and that they will go to college
please list what you think the average age is for both male and female pakistan-americans.
also, i wanted to add, a friend of mine is 23 and she is absoulutly GORGEOUS - could be one of the prettiest paki girls i have ever met. however, i havent heard her ever discussing getting married, nor have i heard of any plans of her getting married. do you have any idea why this could be? it shocks me how such a talented pretty lady like her isnt married yet…
I think it depends family to family, to be honest. My family is already talking about mine and I'm barely 21, lol. I a def. not going to get married until I am done with my degree, though. I have cousins who got married in their late 20s and I have friends who got married straight out of school (Indian and Pakistani). I have friends (same age group) who either have gotten their nikkahs done or are engaged, most have gotten their nikkahs done.
The average age is usually around 21-25 for girls and for guys is usually 23-28-ish.
i think it varies, my mum was brought up in the uk (after moving from africa when she was 7) and got married at the age of 24 in 1984.. my father was from pak and the same age.. im 25 in 2 months time by the time i get married next november inshallah il be nearer to 26! but then i have some people in our fam in the UK who have married at a really young age, and then some similar ages..
plus someobody being extremley pretty doesnt mean anything.. looks dont bring your kismat forward in finding a groom/wife pretty quick, depends on other factors. also women nowdays are more career focused then before i reckon, i know im glad i got my degree etc out the way before considering marriage
I think it depends family to family, to be honest. My family is already talking about mine and I'm barely 21, lol. I a def. not going to get married until I am done with my degree, though. I have cousins who got married in their late 20s and I have friends who got married straight out of school (Indian and Pakistani). I have friends (same age group) who either have gotten their nikkahs done or are engaged, most have gotten their nikkahs done.
The average age is usually around 21-25 for girls and for guys is usually 23-28-ish.
completely random tangent but I thought you were much older for some reason, I don't know why lol.
I'm 22 (almost 23) and my parents go through phases. They were on my case at 21 and started considering a few rishtas that were really persistent but after a mishap with one serious rishta they were freaked out and tend to tell people that I don't want to get married until I finish my professional degree (anywhere from 4-5 years from now)...but we came back from Pakistan recently and now mom ko phir se shadi ka bhoot sawar ho gaya hai, but there haven't been any proposals so I'm sure she's just talking generally.
Out of my entire graduating class/group of friends only 1 girl got married at 22, the rest of them are ranging from 20-26 with only one of them having had their baat pakki done like 2 weeks ago.
I think most girls are realizing they need to complete as much school as possible prior to getting married so people are gettin gmarried later and later. I know a lot of my friends complain about how it's also harder because theyre not able to find people compatible / no good rishtas and have been unable to find anyone in school either. So ther'es also that. My group does not go back and marry from India/Pakistan, though the girls that have done that from other families we know, got married earlier.
also, i wanted to add, a friend of mine is 23 and she is absoulutly GORGEOUS - could be one of the prettiest paki girls i have ever met*. however, i havent heard her ever discussing getting married, nor have i heard of any plans of her getting married. do you have any idea why this could be? it shocks me how such a talented pretty lady like her isnt married yet...*
I don't think this is shocking at all.. None of my friends ever discussed marriage before 23ish, regardless of how pretty they were, just didn't interest them.. We talked about holidays, clothes, studies and guys in general but not actually wanting to get married, it wasn't a priority.. Everyone is different tho.. I remember girls at my mosque very keen to get married and talking about it at 16/17..
My mum used to tell ppl I was 'too young' to marry at 21 (I was glad anyway as I never wanted to go down that route and it saved me having to explain myself for quite a while :D).. The average age of brides in our circle nowadays is anywhere from 23/24ish-28 and for grooms it's 27-32ish..
The average age of brides in our circle nowadays is anywhere from 23/24ish-28 and for grooms it's 27-32ish..
for males: 25-30
for females: 20-25
I completely agree with Deeba and KKF.
For bride: 20-25
For groom: 25-30
If I ignore geographic factor, i can see same trend in pakistan too. girls are more career oriented and want to finish study before getting married.
I also observed that many girls in pak are getting married around 22 to 26.
in old days, the age difference used to be hugeee…i heard one of my great grand father at age 65 married my great grand mother who was 12 at the time … lolllzzz…that was in late 1800’s i believe. hehe
If I ignore geographic factor, i can see same trend in pakistan too. girls are more career oriented and want to finish study before getting married.
I also observed that many girls in pak are getting married around 22 to 26.
in contrast, there are some desi parents that tell them to stay at home and enjoy themselves after all their studies are completed. whats the point of that?
there are few parents, but majority of parents allow them.
In the UK (just my personal observation) the age of couples is decreasing. Generally, girls between 18-21 and guys 23-25.
because paki community is bigger than US, and might be social pressure on girls' parents.
Well i will be 27 when i get married in April Inshallah, n my fiance will be 28...most people i know have got married in their late 20's, friends and family!
I'm 27 and unmarried... I don't really care to be, to be honest. I have a bf whose 28, we're happy the way things are right now. My parents go through phases of "I wish you two would settle down" but then they're like "you don't need to settle down, have your freedom". So I dunno... It's not really high on my priority list, nor is it on my parents.
:( this question makes me sad....if it was upto me id be married but because of all this family hoo haa i might not be married till im 30!! i hate having pakistani origins somtimes...stupid cultures!!!!
*don't shed a tear...draw optimism from me...i'm almost 32 and still NOT married!!! :D *
In the UK (just my personal observation) the age of couples is decreasing. Generally, girls between 18-21 and guys 23-25.
I think this was more common in the past.. Of course it still happens but the number of couples getting married earlier is defonot increasing imo, esp as more are going to uni nowadays..