Australia must beat South Africa for top spot

**Australia must beat South Africa in their forthcoming three-match series to stay on top of the world standings after tying with New Zealand on Tuesday. **

Australia’s points average dropped from 1.62 points to 1.54, giving South Africa the chance to overtake them in the official world rankings launched in May this year.

Standings:

Average
  1. Australia 1.54
  2. South Africa 1.50
    3-. England 1.14
    3-. Sri Lanka 1.14
  3. New Zealand 1.00
  4. West Indies 0.93
  5. Pakistan 0.73
  6. India 0.69
  7. Zimbabwe 0.50
  8. Bangladesh -

It is a sorry state of affairs to note that the only teams below Pakistan are India, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh. Even NZ and WI are above Pakistan. Doesnt say much about our team.

These rankings are not half as bad as they could have been or will be. I shudder thinking what's gonna happen to our team once Waqar and (more importantly) Wasim are gone. Wasim undoubtedly is the best ODI bowler at death. I doubt we'll just be able to pick another Wasim from the streets and replace the W's.

We had all these guys Sami, Shabbir, Zahid and of course Mr. Akhtar who were supposed to form the nucleus of our attack for the future. All have problems, some lack fitness, some have action problems and one has major attitude problems (guess which one and you get a prize).

2003 WC is reputedly when Wasim and Waqar are due to retire if they last that long in the first place. Then Saeed Anwar will also be gone unless he goes too before 2003. Wasim and Waqar have been the difference between Pakistan and other teams for the last decade. Who's going to replace them? Any thoughts? I certainly hope we're not heading the West Indies way.

yaar baki to uppar aa he jaaian gya pakistan kaa kya hoo gaa they are so down on the list... they must do very good to go up on the list

mairay dill mairay mussafir

It will take some time for pakistan to come on top.. provided that they start playing soon..

Comming back to the topic..I think SA has a good chance at the title. At least better than any other team.. Would be a cracker of a series.

“Sped up my XT; ran it on 220v! Works greO?_|”

Originally posted by Akif_zeb:
**yaar baki to uppar aa he jaaian gya pakistan kaa kya hoo gaa they are so down on the list... they must do very good to go up on the list

Akif Bhai, Pakistan Uper aa jayega, Aap sirf unki Hausla Afzai karo. Look at their performance at home & abroad. They always perform well outside Pakistan, but at home they always lose. Aap unka khayal nahin rakhte..unki harek loss ko shaq ki nigah se dekhte ho. Agar hindustan me Wasim aur Waqar jaise players ho to log unki Ibadat karenge. Mujhe to lagta hai ki Wasim aur Waqar ko jitni Izzat Pakistan ke bahar milti hai uski aadhi bhi aap apne mulk me nahi dete.

there is no doubt that australia and sa are two best teams at the moment and their match will indeed be a treat to watch .but my personal favorite will be australia

These rankings do not indicate the true worth of the team. One of the reasons Pakistan is so low is because they haven't played too much lately. India deserves to be at No.8 cause they never win outside. But I haven't seen NZL, SLK or WIN win outside either. I dont think SLK deserves to be so high up the rankings (despite their win against the West Indies at home). Frankly with the exception of SA and Pak not many teams have won abroad. To be honest, I dont think Australia can win abroad very much.

Originally posted by BombayKid:
These rankings do not indicate the true worth of the team. One of the reasons Pakistan is so low is because they haven't played too much lately.

If you study the rules and check the ratings carefully, you will find that Pakistan has played equal no. of tests as compared to Top countries. Pakistan is so low becaus they have lost the 5 series at home in last 5 years and won only 3 Tests.
Its Win against India/Bangladesh in Dhaka didn't count because that was part of Asian Cricket Championship and was not considered for the ICC TEST ratings.

India deserves to be at No.8 cause they never win outside. But I haven't seen NZL, SLK or WIN win outside either.

Yes, India deserves, But not SL or NZ - Because SL has won 2 test series in Pakistan and NZ may not have won much abroad but they haven't lost either (their last series in Aus ended in a draw)

** I dont think SLK deserves to be so high up the rankings (despite their win against the West Indies at home).**

Well, I dont know how can you say that, They have won consistently at home (exception being against England). It fully deserves its position.

*Frankly with the exception of SA and Pak not many teams have won abroad. *

What about England ? They won continous 3 Test series Abroad (Against - Pakistan, Srilanka and Zimbabwe) and one at home against WI. South Africa, yes they have won abroad, But how come Pakistan comes in the Picture ? They have won only 3 of their last 15 Tests. (Not counting ACC matches against India & Bangladesh)

To be honest, I dont think Australia can win abroad very much.

Check their recodrs buddy, Except India - They beaten everyone at Home and Away.

I can't understand why we should not consider the Asian Championship. Forget the ICC tournament for a minute, but when has Australia last won in India or SLK. Sure they can probably win against England in England or maybe against NZL but I dont think they can win in the subcontinent (something which even England showed they can do). But lets grant them their number one position. I still feel that SLK is not a great test team.

I agree with BK about Srilanka, I just can't remember the last time Srilanka played a good test team except England. They are not even recognized as a great team in test matches like they have been in one days.
I think the points system should be determined by the teams you play, for example, if Srilanka beats Australia, they should be awarded more points than if Srilanka beats Bangladesh.
And samething goes for winning matches away, get more points if you win matches outside your country than winning at home.

Thank you, come again

I am sure you consider Pakistan as a Good team (At least when they play in Pakistan). Lanka beat them in back toback series. Once can be a fluke, but twice..boy they got to be good.
http://www-usa.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2000/MAR/026271_DAILY_18MAR2000.html

I think they are under-rated. Check out their recent performance against any team, anywhere, they are better than India,Pakistan,England,WI & Zimbabwe.

What my point was that Srilanka has had all their success against weaker test teams like Pak, India, WI, Zim.( yes, pak is not a good test teams, look at their rankings)
Look at how many times they have played Zim in the past couple years, and they have always won, making them high on the rankings.
You can go back and check in your archives and you won't see them match up to Aus or SA.

Thank you, come again

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
**What my point was that Srilanka has had all their success against weaker test teams like Pak, India, WI, Zim.( yes, pak is not a good test teams, look at their rankings)
Look at how many times they have played Zim in the past couple years, and they have always won, making them high on the rankings.
You can go back and check in your archives and you won't see them match up to Aus or SA.

Well If they are stronger than India, Pakistan, Bangladesh,West Indies,Zimbabwe & England then they deserve their place (No. 3 ) Below Australia & South Africa. What are you complaining about.

[This message has been edited by Asif_k (edited December 11, 2001).]