Aurat Aur Islam on Vectone Channel - Presenter Banned

I think thats what the programme is called.

It is presented by a lady called “Syeda Umme Farwah”.

I have watched the programme a few times out of interest and noticed several things.

1. The urdu speaking lady has better than average arabic for a pakistani and speaks it with an iranian accent
  2. She is very rude to callers if they ask her for evidences for her “fatwas”
  3. She doesnt quote any scholars or hadiths, just Quran
  4. She has a feminist streak in her

Anyway, I was watching the other day and a lady called in and thanked the presenter for doing a good show and then said “we are taking knowledge from you but you dont quote the sources of your opinions - are they from a particular mathab”.

The presenter was not impressed with the caller and dismissed her with some harsh words, as she quite often does.

The caller then explained that it was important for us to know who we are taking islamic info off and then proceeded to ask “Are you shia?”.

Umme Farwah was seriously annoyed and snapped “you shouldnt ask such questions” and cut the caller off.

I Googled her name and came across the following info of a shia website

“Umme Farwah the shia lady presenting the show called ‘Roshni’ banned because within 2 days of her hosting the show 150 complaint letters went to Vectone tv to get her off because she was of the shia faith”

Now my point is if she is shia, which I think she is, why is she ashamed to admit that she is propogating her belief?

She was openly asked if she was a shia and she chastised the caller, meaning she is uncomfortable with her belief but is happy to try and propogate in anundercover manner publicly.

Why not say, I am a shia and this is what we believe rather than cover it up and pretend to the majority sunni viewers that she is a sunni?

Confused due to the deception involved.

Re: Aurat Aur Islam on Vectone Channel - Presenter Banned

That's about as bad as people wanting her off the air because she's Shia.

2) She is very rude to callers if they ask her for evidences for her “fatwas”

Is this not a fair enough reason ?

edit-- The wysiwyg editor is messing up. every thing i am writing :mad:

The way I look at it is if she is shia and has a shia slot then fine - viewers can make their own minds up.

But why try to mislead sunnis into taking the shia angle without them knowing it. She has got something to hide and must be uncomfortable with her shia-ness…

Most probably that she already got fired for being a shia.

She doesnt quote any scholars or hadiths, just Quran
LOL, thats one of the many reasons why I was convinced and converted to shiaism. Thats what the shia scholars do to answer your questions. *Just Quran. :) *

BTW is there any proof that she is misleading sunnis by giving them fatawas using Quran?

we as a family watch that programme on sami sani's channel with a lot of interest. neely u pretty much sumed it up, she deserved the sacking. when da male hazraat ring her and tankeed kartain hai un ki tu umme farwa snaps instantly saying bhai sahab don't watch this program then and bye.. what dis is no way to talk to someone, she is a mehzabaan she has to be a little patient and keep a tight grip on her emotions.

personally i'm a big fan of imam qasim, hero mufti barkatullah sahab and fayaaz adil farooqi. sami sani is diuing a gr8 job he was a good actor and now has really made gr8 stride in his new venture.

i saw her programme the other day, she seemed pretty good and balanced overall. It was quite obvious she was a shia, however i think her keeping her sect out of it was more to reach to all audience then make it sect specific. I havent seen her cutting people off, but if she has then thats a real let down. She seemed really calm and collected throughout.

As for her being ban, i dont think it was anything to do with her being a shia, bizzarely the complaints were from within her local community, some internal sh!t stirring me thinks.

Well she wasnt sacked just banned but she is still on!

You are right about Imam Qasim etc - they are far better.

she is banned but still on? dat can only happen on a pakistani channel :k:]

sorry yaar! She was banned for 2 days or some crap! She is most definately still on and hiding her shia-ness big time.

^^ Pathetic!

Strange, the above text you quoted was posted on shiacaht.com on Oct 24 2004, 10:01 PM GMT

You started your thread on **Jan 12th, 2005 at 12:20 AM whatevertime **with the topic "Aurat Aur Islam on Vectone Channel" - Presenter Banned

and throughout the thread you are keep whining that the **SHIA LADY **is somehow misleadingThe Poor Masoom Sunnis

let me repeat your own words:

**Confused due to the deception involved. :stuck_out_tongue: **

heres something for you from quran to ponder:
040.028 And a believing man of Firon’s people who hid his faith said: What! will you slay a man because he says: My Lord is Allah, and indeed he has brought to you clear arguments from your Lord? And if he be a liar, on him will be his lie, and if he be truthful, there will befall you some of that which he threatens you (with); surely Allah does not guide him who is extravagant, a liar:

Call me thick but I seriously dont understand your post - can you just come out and say what you want to say? What is strange about the post and the significance of the dates etc?

If you are confused about the names of the prog, she presents 2 progs, one is called Aurat aur islam and the other is Roshni. She was, according to the shia site, banned for 2 days. A later post reveals it was the shias who were calling for the ban.

I still stand by my words - she is deceiving people and more importantly appears to be ashamed of being a shia. She chastises anyone who asks her about her background - something to hide maybe like a small point of belonging to a different sect? I bet she wouldnt take anything from a sunni imaam.

Our deen of Islam is far too important for it to be messed around with. If we take our knowledge off a person, we have every right to ask them if they are qualified and if they know what they are doing.

If you were ill and a friend said I know a man who can give you medicine your first question would be “is he a doctor (ie is he qualified to help me?”.

The quote you gave from the quran. Please explain the context in which this verse was revealed.

Finally we don’t believe sunnis are masum, only certain people were masum as Allah has informed us.

well if its so obvious she's not a sunni, why does it seem a problem? Have you ever thought maybe she's not permitted to reveal her sect? I mean you'd think if you want to decieve people, you wouldn't make it so obvious would you. some peoples cages get rattled too easily me thinks.

Such things are only obvious to those who know.

The vast majority of people who watch or call such shows have very very little islamic knowledge. Some of them (from what I have witnessed) do not know the basics. Differentiating between a sunni and a shia is quite advanced in comparison.

As for not being able to disclose her sect - no muslim in their right mind would trust an alim if he said I cant reveal my sources! Its not the way it works!

Nobody can touch shias in Pakistan. We have control of all the influential positions and offices of the Pakistani establishment. Try to pay attention to the names of most of the anchors, presenters, talk show hosts and reporters be it PTV, GEO, or any other channel worth their money and you shall know how we permeate all aspects of the society.

what the hell has that got to do with this topic?

BTW do they hide their shia-ness too???

:bukbuk: :bukbuk: ^^
Has it ever occurred to you that it could be programm’s policy not to disclose the presenters sect. There could be a lot of reasons.

But since you are so concerned about the **Bholey Bhaley Massom Sunnis getting deceived **by that Moalima who does nothing but gives the answers only from the Quran (as you wrote above) why not do one of the following:

1 - getther some courage and simply call her and ask her the damn question by your self.

2 - Or use the following contact information and ask the related personal

[indent][indent]Vectone Media Limited
54 Marsh Wall
London E14 9TP
United Kingdom

Tel : +44 (0)207 517 43 00
Fax : +44 (0)207 517 43 09
E-mail: [email=“[email protected]”][email protected]

or contact:
Tahawur Jafri
[email=“[email protected]”][email protected]
Tel: +44 (0) 207 1700 400
[/indent][/indent]
3 - go to the www.Petitiononline.com and post there a petition that a Shia Mauelima is **deceiving The Masoom And Bholey Bhaley Sunnis by using Quran. **Instead of whining here gether a couple hundered ppl there, send the petition to vecton tv and simply get her fired.

4 - Or simply accept the fact that its not because she is hiding her faith what disturbs you. It is her being a Shia giving the callers answers from Only Quran to thier satisfaction burns you every time.

If nothing above then simply get over it, stop repeating the new word you learned like a parrot and leave the GS’s bandwidth alone. :slight_smile: