Attention doctors: Whats the name of this thing?

For the last few days, there is a twitching sensation under the eye… more like blinking, but its below the eye. Quite uncomfortable, actually. Does not happen all the time, but rather several times a day, for few minutes each. Here is where it happens exactly.

[thumb=H]eye12080_8915896.JPG[/thumb]

I’d like to do some more research on the net, before I can figure out if its something to be worried about or not, but I am not sure what are some of the possible names for this. Don’t want to go to the doctor, if its something relatively harmless and caused only by lack of rest or some other lame excuse.

Any ideas?

aoa Faisal bhai, i dont think its anything to be worried abt coz i get this sometimes too. weird spasms in the eye muscles, which r REALLY uncomfortable. u feel like closing ur eyes, pressing them real hard with ur hands and then just keeping them shut and even then u feel like something weird is going on with ur eyeballs :D

when i got typhoid it was the side effect of a medicine they were giving me. i think an antibiotic. r u taking any medicines?

waise sometimes its also jus a result of being tired and not eating/resting properly i think.

if its happenning constantly tho without a reason u shud definitely go see the doc.

:eek:

i have been suffering from this the whole day today…
and am still suffering right now…
it wont go even if u close the eye…

the best i do is place a finger on the eye (or just under the eye) to relax that stupid twitching…

SOMEONE HELP US!!!

I actually have this problem occassionally … my eye lid and the part you have pointed arrows to twitch like mad. I would hold my eye, press it down into a pillow, do other things to try and make it stop twitching but even then I would feel it twitch.

I did some research online and found that this happens when you lack Vitamin B. I started taking vitamin supplements that had more Vitamin B in it and soon after the twitching stopped.

Other factors that affect this are lack of sleep, fatigueness and stress.

Then there is also the superstition that if your left eye twitches, it means good luck. If your right eye twitches, it is bad luck. My right eye twitched continuously for 1 year at one point. :bummer:

^^

armughal bhai :hehe:

waise kehte haen agar daaYein aankh pharak rahi ho toh haath mein paisa anay wala hota hae aur agar baaYein pharak rahi ho toh koi khatRa [khudanakhasta]

ps. someone plz confirm, i might be gettnig the superstition associated with the pharakna of daayein[right] n baayein eyes respectively confused :smiley:

you ppl need some sleep!

and definitely need to go away from behind the pc screen for some looooong time :p

ask me to scale the stars or climb the K-2 but this…! naheen ye possible nai :hehe:

good to know everyone has this .....hehe....it happens with me quite often .....but i don't think its anything serious!

There's an old wives tale which says that it means that someone is talking about you behind your back.

*Originally posted by Brit Chick: *
There's an old wives tale which says that it means that someone is talking about you behind your back.

You got me there. Sorry Faisal i won't talk about you behind your back no more.

Muscle twitching is usually caused by low calcium. But i dont think this is of any concern. But try to drink milk and stuff.

It means you have mehmaan coming. This is tested and proven over and over for me.

Or it could be your eye is strained from excessive PC/TV light.

OKie I get this too and not only that but my eye lid swells as well.

I asked a doc and he said when your eye is strained or you're doin some work (usually it happens to me when I'm at the gym) he said that the blood isn't circulating equally in both eyes hence a lil twitching and swelling develops..as long as it goes away after a while you have nothing to worry about. :)

Faisal uncle, ap booray ho rahay hein. Fikar ki koi baat nahi :k:

I had these twiches in all parts of my body (palms, eyes, cheeks, elbows, arms, feet, knees and hair…) and still do… Sirf booray ho rahay hein hum sab :k:

^^ :hehe: wannabe

same here.. my eye twitches sometimes…for me its usually when i haven’t had enough sleep…or im not eating right..

The doc may ask you to reveal the rest of your face in order to give a proper diagnosis.

edit

I get this twitching now and then too - went to the Docs he said its nothing to worry about BUT if i does get bad, he can INJECT (yes that is INJECT as in INJECTION!!!!!!!!!) into the area to sort it out...

Funny tho cos the twitching dissapeared straight away!!!

Hmmmm... so seems like this is not such a rare problem, and more likely nothing serious. Good thing I took this whole week off, so won't be spending so much time in front of the computer screen either. I did Google with some generic searches and came about some useful info, but essentially it was the same as some of you mentioned here already. Thanks! :-)

ur all good :slight_smile: