Atta Boy!

Swift Shoaib arrives in style
Scott Coghlan
December 01, 2004
ALL HAIL, the Rawalpindi Express is in town.

Never one to do things by half, Pakistan speedster Shoaib Akhtar made a Hollywood-like arrival yesterday at his team’s first training session of their Australian tour.

While the rest of his team-mates walked from their nearby hotel to the WACA Ground, the man Cricket Australia hopes can re-ignite a dreary summer arrived in rock-star style in a $177,000 silver Lexus sports convertible.

The car, provided by a personal sponsor, is his to use while the Pakistanis are in Perth for the next three weeks or more.

On top of the sports car, he’s also being given a $30,000 1000cc Honda motorcycle for his use while in Perth.

If his modest record on Australian soil was bothering him, the supremely confident Shoaib wasn’t showing it as he cruised into his Test match preparation.

Shoaib didn’t bite at Australia captain Ricky Ponting’s dismissive claim that the Australians had already seen everything he had to offer.

He claimed he had learned from previous trips here and said he had fully recovered from the shoulder injury that kept him out of Pakistan’s second Test against Sri Lanka last month.

“I’m going to let the ball do the talking,” was Shoaib’s simple but straight response to Ponting’s comments yesterday.

“I’m fit, I’m strong, it feels good and I always look forward to coming back to Australia to play.”

It seemed Shoaib’s only concern was when a small plastic sign blew into the side of his car as he pulled into the ground.

But he definitely has a point to prove on this tour.

The 29-year-old has played just three Tests in Australia, all in 1999-2000, for a paltry six wickets at 67.67.

Shoaib worked out with the Pakistan team at practice yesterday but didn’t extend himself, rarely getting above three-quarter pace.

Pakistan officials announced Shoaib would play in the three-day match against the West Australian second XI beginning today at the University of WA’s James Park.

The tourists requested the extra match to give them additional practice for the first Test at the WACA, starting tomorrow fortnight.

After the first game, they have three days off before the annual Lilac Hill festival match next Tuesday.

A four-day match against WA, starting tomorrow week, rounds out their preparation for the Perth Test, which could pit Shoaib against his old pace rival Brett Lee.

Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer said today’s match was mainly going to be used as batting practice by his side.

“I think we’ll try to get most of our batsmen going in both games, the three- and the four-day game,” Woolmer said.

"The bowlers, I think we’ll just ease into the tour a little bit, the one-day game and maybe the four-day game after that.

“That’s the idea.”

Former Zimbabwe Test all-rounder Sean Ervine will play against the Pakistanis as he attempts to force his way into the WA side.

WA’s second XI will also include several players with first-class experience, including Luke Ronchi, Adam Voges, Peter Worthington and regular Warriors opener Scott Meuleman.

• West Indies’ dissident cricketers began arriving at a training camp in Bridgetown, Barbados yesterday (AEDT), as a judge was named to arbitrate their contract dispute with national administrators.

Most of the victorious Champions Trophy squad, including captain Brian Lara and deputy Ramnaresh Sarwan, were barred from the camp last week when they would not sign contracts with the West Indies Cricket Board because of a conflict over personal endorsements.

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5744,11549890^2722,00.html

:rolleyes:

hahaha :rotfl:,so which ^^ part should bother me,:hehe::k:
The world fastest bowler arriving for a practice run in style..,?
or that he is such a ‘talker’ & wannabe,?

In fact non bother me,Shoaib Akhtar can turn the game around on its tail ,or on a bad day his super fast deliveries find the sweet spot in tandum,but !! not to be discarded or treated the way he’s being treated,now guess what!!!,even the Lobby Media has joined the band wagon,

I ask this,'Arraay to theek hai na $ 177,000 ki gari hai,chala raha hai
,koi bollywood ki heroin to nahi hai na,:rotfl:

Pakistan’s young side Austrailia ki wat lagai ge,

Mohammad Khalil & Mohammad Asif :dhimpak::jhanda:

*Originally posted by Raindance: *

Pakistan's young side Austrailia ki wat lagai ge,,,

ok - now you just sound boring.

well let's hope this doesn't go to his head like it did before

what I do not understand is why can;t Shoaib bowl yorkers as Waqar did in his prime?? Am I the only one who feels this?

i was about to say that Shoaib GROSSLY overpaid (factor of 3) for the car, but it's in Australian dollars, not US. oops.

*Originally posted by ffaisal80: *
what I do not understand is why can;t Shoaib bowl yorkers as Waqar did in his prime?? Am I the only one who feels this?

haha
Comeon now dude. Why would you even ask the question. Waqar is a legendary bowler, why cant everyone bowl like him?
Good for Shoaib with the Lexus, lets hope he can back some of that talk up.

Shoaib knows to pace himself
By Scott Coghlan
December 6, 2004

LAST Tuesday, Shoaib Akhtar was loaned a $177,000 Lexus sports coupe by a sponsor, which he duly drove to Pakistan training while his team-mates walked to the WACA Ground.

The following day, he signed a sponsorship deal with fashion label Hugo Boss.

Today, Shoaib will take possession of a new 1000cc Honda motorbike.

Life is sweet and the world is your playground when you are the fastest bowler in the world, and handsome to boot.

Although cricket has been good to Shoaib and his cult personality is as strong as ever, the ultra-confident 29-year-old was quick to point out that it hasn’t always been sweetness and light.

“I thought my career was ended and I wasn’t going to come back,” Shoaib said this week of the chucking controversies that have dogged him.

"If you are called for chucking three times and banned twice, mentally it wrecks you.

"It was a three-year roller-coaster when I had no clue what I was going to do.

“People don’t understand that I haven’t had a normal career. My career has always been in jeopardy.”

Perhaps cricket was paying him back for the disdain with which Shoaib viewed the game as a youngster growing up in modest surrounds in Rawalpindi.

“I was in an average family, we weren’t wealthy at all, but we were surviving,” he recalled this week.

"I had three elder brothers who played club cricket.

"In college, I was playing with a tennis ball and someone asked me to play cricket against the New Zealand under-19s.

"Arrogantly, I said I didn’t want to play cricket, as I never liked it back then.

"I was playing everything, but I wasn’t really interested in this game until later.

“Now I love it and it is my passion.”

Cricket is certainly not the sole passion for Shoaib, who has a playboy reputation and freely admits to enjoying the good things in life.

“I’ve done everything - bungee-jumping, parachuting, parasailing, jet-skiing, scuba-diving, paragliding,” he said.

"I don’t sit at the hotel. I sleep for a couple of hours and then I look for a nice restaurant and have a good dinner.

"If there is a free day I go out, go to the beach or something.

“I make sure I have plenty of fun.”

Although his off-field activities have often brought his commitment to cricket into question, Shoaib said he was under no illusions that his priorities were team and country.

“The cars, the motorbikes, these are my toys and they make me happy,” he said.

"But they don’t distract me. My training and my bowling are my priority.

“I know bowling fast is what I do.”

As a professional cricketer, Shoaib gets to spend only a few weeks in Pakistan each year, but is confident in his ability to balance his lavish western lifestyle with his Muslim beliefs.

“Some Muslims are strict and some are not strict - it is between you and God,” he said.

With his looks, charm and talent, Shoaib was a unique package from the time he burst on to the international cricket scene in 1996.

He sealed his place in the marketing stratosphere enjoyed by the game’s elite when he become the first bowler to be recorded breaking the 100mph barrier in a match, in Lahore in 2002.

His Australian manager, Maureen Collins of Athlete One, believes only the tip of the global Shoaib iceberg has surfaced.

Collins has known Shoaib since 2001 and says she has watched him mature as a cricketer and a person.

She has heard him criticised for being over-confident, brash and petulant, for not being committed enough to the team and for failing to perform to his capabilities.

Collins’ aim is to brand Shoaib as a “smart, sophisticated, sexy man”.

The Australian

question is does any one in pakistan really care about shoaib?

*Originally posted by MundaPakistani: *

"Some Muslims are strict and some are not strict - it is between you and God," he said.

chacha ghalib ka aik she'r yaad aa gaya....

kaabay kis moo se jaao ge ghalib
sharam tum ko to magar nahin aati

Wah Wah Wah

Air Aur Hoo Jaye