astma attacks

well I have astma since I remember…

am ill since last week..
and I had a couple off attacks within a week time…

When I get them ( and I am talking about the heavy ones)
I get all weak … and I just lay down…
cant do nothing, then Just trying to breath …

I am getting worried…
am missing my practicals…
I did went to my work on monday..
my boss saw me … and sended me home again…
keh raha tha ke meri shakal bilkul bigri huwi haye…

so what I want to ask here is.,…
is there any temporary cure?
desi I mean…

couse it aint gonna go away,
thats for shure…

what triggers asthma atatcks, in many people its allergens that trigger them, smoke, pollen, dust, mold etc. if you know what is triggering it you may be able to counter it. Additionally if you do have an asthma attack you should keep the inhaler with you at all times, taken immediately at the onset of an attack it would help and you should be able to continue with your day. Other prescription mediations are daily pills which help as well.

I am not aware of any desi nuskhaas that work.

yep fraudia bhai ..
I avoid all the things that bother me... my abbu smokes in the house. not where I am . even if he smokes on the pehli manzil, I can notice it on the third manzil. par khair ye baat alagh...

spray is always with me..
but if its a heavy attack, then even the spray take a while to work ...

look into the daily prespcription medication, that avoids the onset of attacks. I dont know the name of it but a former colleague used it and it really helped her condition.

Re: astma attacks

Hanie sis
i got the same problem ..i have astma since i was 6 ..it's hard specially in winter ...i can understand how u feel ...what medecin u take for it ..let me know ...and yep that's right ke heavy attack mein spray dosent help a lot in start lakin i never used anything else then spray ..it depends on doc's i guess cz i have 2 cousins in pak wid same problem ...their's doc's suggest some seerup and pills lakin yahan in dk i never got these kind of medecin .

*Originally posted by hanie: *
well I have astma since I remember...

am ill since last week..
and I had a couple off attacks within a week time...

When I get them ( and I am talking about the heavy ones)
I get all weak ... and I just lay down...
cant do nothing,,, then Just trying to breath ........

I am getting worried....
am missing my practicals...
I did went to my work on monday..
my boss saw me ........ and sended me home again...
keh raha tha ke meri shakal bilkul bigri huwi haye...

so what I want to ask here is.,....
is there any temporary cure?
desi I mean...

couse it aint gonna go away,
thats for shure......

hmm..temporary cure? only things I know of are the steroids and ventolin which u have alredy been using....apart from that, nothing that i know of...perhaps avoiding the stimulus.

as you already know hanie that asthma will stay with you..but there's no harm in taking precautions..

few questions that i would like to know..have you ever considered keeping humidifier in your room? how often airvent filters are changed in your house? how about using allergy free pillows?

there are so many products in market these days..that will be of somewhat help to you..

have you ever considered alternative medicines and therapies..coz my phupho's whole family backhome does have asthma..and they use homeopathic medicine..and according to her its helpful..

Also from my readings i have read that Acupuncture, Chiropractic Spinal Manipulation, Hypnosis, laser treatment and yoga helps too :)

I recently heard this desi nuskha from a friend, who swore by it.

Mix a raw egg into a glass of milk and drink it up for immediate relief from asthma attacks.
I will get more definitive info for you on this.

hanie, this link might help :slight_smile:

From BBC: The Asthma Guide

I believe changes in diet can also treat asthma very well. I will need to contact the guppie who was telling me about it.

*Originally posted by Akif: *
I recently heard this desi nuskha from a friend, who swore by it.

Mix a raw egg into a glass of milk and drink it up for immediate relief from asthma attacks.
I will get more definitive info for you on this.

although then you may have to look for a desi cure for salmonella :D

I think other members have already made lots of points. I cannot say that I have asthma because medical tests have proven otherwise, but I do feel tightness in chest sometimes, especially when the weather is warm and humid, and Ventolin inhaler does relieve lots of symptoms. Although, I have never used anything else, since many physicians recommend against the long-term usage of inhalers that contain steroids. You cannot factor out side effects, which may appear over a period of time. First thing each and every asthma patient should do is to get allergy tests done, and then seek appropriate vaccinations for each allergy. However, being allergic to things such as dust, pollen etc does not mean that one is bound to be an asthma patient. I am allergic to lots of these things, but my asthma has remained dormant over the years. Partly, it’s due to the strenuous workout routines, which definitely help tremendously in reducing the symptoms. But, if you are going to workout on your cardiovascular, and you are an asthma patient, please raise your level up gradually. Although, one thing is for certain, it may not root the problem, but will give your lungs a lot of flexibility and strength, but please consult your physician first.

There’s one thing that helps sometimes; honey in warm water. It definitely alleviates asthma attacks to some extent and brings quick relief. I hope you feel better, see your physician on regular basis. Seek long-term treatment coupled with workout schedules, and inshallah you will feel fine. Take good care.

hanie,

like outlaw suggested, you need to get allergy tested to identify what exactly triggers your attacks. the skin prick test is commonly used for this purpose - its simple and fast. once you have your trigger factors nailed down, all it takes is to avoid them, (which might be easy or tough).

for me, all it takes usually is to stay away from dust mite's err crap. stay clear of desi nuskhas, they usually are a load of bull, esp true regarding asthma remedies. in fact, the milk and egg mix sound like the perfect way to get an asthma attack - both are known to contain proteins that a lot of people are allergic to.

and get your abbuji to smoke outside the house.

although I came and read the responces. I didnt responded....
so am sorry for that....

fraudia:
I did...
it sayes if I have to spray more then 1 time aftereach other I have to connect with my docter..
lekin woh bhi kehta haye ke take it easy. and rest. avoid al the things that harm you.

sandleen:
its called bricanyl...
and I got a blue spray and a brown one.
bronw one is for daily use. and the blue one for an attack, either when breath taking gets heavy...

nes:
yeah.... doing it for now..

Qbaji:
I try to keep my room as cleen as possible. (from dust and so on)
I never needed a alllergy pillow.
am now thinking of getting one..... pehle kabhi zaroorat nahie parri thi....
everday my window is open for fresh air. otherwhise I cant breath ..

never thought about homeopathetic dawaayi...
am gonna look for info about that...

akif:
raw eggs?
man I dont think I can swallow that...

ahmadbhai:
thank you so much for the link...
I am definatly going to read there.... ( already did a bit of it)

outlaw:
thank you so much for your reply...
I had an allergy test last year... it was round this time of the year. I am allergic for some kinda Jarri booti that grows at this time. I forgot the name. I can have another test though. and see if there are more things that are disturbing ya nahie....
Honey with water?
my mom used to give me only honey when I was little. that helped. I fogto till you mentioned. :) . and also a sweet. Jab Jab attack hoota tha, dawaa de kar ammi sweet de deti thi so I could suck on that...
abhi phir se try karti hoon.....

Queer:
yep ab ke baar me phir se test karwaati hoon....
and see what it sayes....

abbu Jee smoke outside?
na he wont..
he is smoking on the first floor. and I am mostly on the second or third one...
and when I come from college home. I mostly feel that abbu has been smoking again.
par most of the times mom and dad dont understand that I can smell, ya feel it... and takleef hooti haye..
par now they are getting it that it really bugs me.
so abbu tries to avoid as much as possible not to smoke when I am arround...

thank you all for replying. :)

Salaam, i think your recent onset of Asthma is just down to the seasons changing, mine usually gets quite bad at this time of the year as well, but its usually only for a couple of weeks and then it goes mild again. The only thing i can recommend which might help is your method of taking the inhaler. The best way i have found is to stand up right with your head slightly raised, this clears the air ways, then to exhale out as much as u can so that u can take in the blue spray with one big breath. Finally to take the spray in with a large brath and to hold it for about 10-20 seconds. I hope that helped, coz it usually does the trick with me, and if it doesnt work with one inhalation of the blue medicine i take two( u might have to consult your doc about that one though coz everyones prescribed dosage is usually different).

Same here Hania ....i use Bricanyl too ...same brown n blue ...
where u at by da way ?