Asthma/Constriction of throat.

Just recently and by recently i mean in the last few months ive begun to notice that my air passage constricts a bit when someone smokes around me, or even if im in an area with a strong smell of smoke (like a smokers house). Other such smells also constrict it, including stuff like shower cleaners which i never had problems with. Currently its not that bad, i feel as if the throat has constricted but it doesnt really affect my breathing too much. Right now for the past 1 hour my throat is a bit tight because i managed to sniff some toilet bowl cleaner :smiley:

Now all this is very recent, as far as i can remember i didnt have this problem before. I’ve heard that asthma can come at any point in life.

Can any guppies shed some light onto this ? has anyone experienced similar symptons ?

Yeah im gonna go see a doctor once the school reopens mid jan but until then any precautions or remedies ?

Sounds like bronchitis to me.
Avoid fatty foods, environments filled with pollutants (smoke, dust etc) and a humidifier would help.

was ur age?

did u have these complaints when u were a child?

sounds like bronchial hyperreactivity to me

this is not asthma, but if it continues it cud become asthma, it's a preliminary stadium. Try to avoid the things which cause it

it could be an allergy...

keep urself warm at all times, try to drink hot soups, and hot lemon and honey tea

^why? whats wrong with that? :konfused:if those things aren’t causing him trouble he might as well keep on using them

aynak saf ker k parhein aik vari fer zara mari post :p

^oops, then the question begs: why DO drink them? i think it doesn't have any good or bad effect (that was where i was originally heading to, so it doesn't matter if u do or don't)

^adding to that....there might even be something bad in drinking hot things....cuz as he said it's the damp/air which can cause the symptoms ;-)

^^

:mudhosh:

mujay nai pata i aint some doc :snooty: u r :stuck_out_tongue:

i have jus heard honey n lemon tea is good for respiratory ailments :smiley:

^well, -i have to dig deep here :konfused: - the effect hasn’t been proven yet, but if there is any effect it’s for the upper airways: nose, mouth, throat

asthma and other related things are located a bit lower…

o acha i c :-)

note to Maniac: listen to Nescio, he's the doc, i was just gicing some home remedies i had heard of...desi totkay :D

reminds me of my home situation: My mom keeps on telling us to do all these things too when we have a cold or so…and we try to persuade her of the opposite…always is a funny site…however, in the end she wins…so i have drunk/eaten bottles of honey so far :-/ :hehe:

Originally posted by irem: *
**keep urself warm at all times

Don't get too much heat because it creates a place for viruses to enter in your body which will cause bronchitis, cold, etc. Heaters and air-conditioners aren't so good for health. I always keep one of my windows open so I don't breathe too much heat during winters.

hain??? :confused: how does heat CREATE a place?
as a matter of fact i’ve slept 15 yrs now next to the heater in my room :slight_smile:

breathing ice-cold air during the nights isn’t that good either :~)

I’m not a doctor but I read tons of articles on health and this is what I’ve read in one of those health sites (ie. WebMD) :stuck_out_tongue:

By the way, there's some truth to what I said because don't you think a human body needs fresh air most of the times? If you keep your windows closed all winter then that means you're breathing air that's unhealthy. Plus I guess those heaters run by gas are hazardous for health, what you think ?

Taken from WebMD site:

Taming Winter Allergies

WebMD’s Barry Wolcott, MD

Your daily dose of health information selected by WebMD physician editors.

The air outside might be crisp and pollen-free, but indoor air needs special attention during winter months to fight allergy triggers.

1)  Store firewood outside. Keep mold and pollen where it belongs.

2)  ***Clean heating ducts and filters. Dust and dust mites thrive in heating systems.*** Change heat system filters at least once a month.

3)  Wash Fido and Fluffy. Pets need to come inside in cold weather, but give them a bath every week and keep them in a confined living area if pet dander is a problem.

4)  Beware of extremes. ***Going from very cold air to very warm indoor air can trigger an asthma attack.***

source

Jazakallah Khair for all the responses. Will keep it all in mind :)

CA: the piece of info u posted does not say anywhere what you were stating about heat in the first post:
-it creates places for viruses to enter your body
- that is will cause bronchitis/cold
- keep a window open a night (i assume that during the day one gets outside often enough to get his daily dosage of fresh air)