Asif2000 & Ansoo - Introductions

Hey guys,

We have seen you around, you are very informative and experienced. I just wanted to learn more about you guys. Would you care to give us ur background and let us know what your expertise is in. Just so we’d know when to contact you if something specialized comes around.

As for me I’m a network injeeneer, server setup, connectivity etc.

Good to meet u.

Tofi

Re: Asif2000 & Ansoo - Introductions

Guys, don't bother listening to this chap. He's got ample time on his hands now-a-days and he just wants to find some way to kill it ....

*put Tofi on ignore mode :p

Did we ever complain when u were born? :p

I think we should have a sticky thread where all the techies (new and old) can post their intro's. :D

Gizzy I like ur avatar, its cute :D Garfield is shooo cutie :) Tofi, go wash dishes or do some home chores. Aaj kal ke loug bas net pe baithay rehte hain, ghar ke kaamon ko chor ke. chaloo bhaago ab :p

Ok, as per request from TofiBaba here is a little something about me...

Currenlty living in Canada, Ontario, I am a 4th Year Computer Science and Math student. I am on internship currently at Research In Motion as Project Coordinator. Came to canada in 98 and had no knowledge of computers (had only seen it in movies and in reallife once or twice but never touched it) so when i came here i started to get familiar with computer and that was the last time i saw TV.. :)

I have done a lot of programming projects on my own and with others.. some of them are Java based Instant Messenger supporting MSN, Monopoly game (school project), web applications (www.prayeralerts.com), 3D game engine (mostly mathematical problems being solved such as terrain generation and movement of mobile elements on terrain surfaces)

I have learned all this in just last 3 years so i won't consider myself an expert.. i am still a beginner and inshaAllah will keep learning.. I have my own web design/application development company (www.interactivecoders.com) which works on a project or two in every few months.. just something i would like to do after graduation ...

hmm that's all i can think of.. if you guys have any questions please do let me know.. i will try my best to answer them.

abey ghonchu… its Research In Motion :smiley:

thanx Umar bhai.. .fixed.. subha subha without nashta tou yehi hoga na :stuck_out_tongue:

Impressive aansoo, if I may, can I ask you which univ you at?

umar :nono: buree baat gali nahie dete hain tobah kero

nice nice, asif2k is a programmer as well, he once told us about his "dry cleaners" management software :D

Carleton University

oh okay, so u r on that side of ontario :smiley: I kind of went to sault ste.marie univ, nippising, if I am not wrong its close by I guess or could be lil further. Would have to look into it.

Carleton University, is in Ottawa.. but i am originally from Brampton (family lives in brampton) and right now i am working in waterloo.. how was Sault Ste. Marie University? I don't know much about it..

oh my bad :smiley: sorry I was think its around sudbury. that univ looked good i guess from outside, long story short, i didn’t go there. I went to a college which was close by to my home. You know how desi families are, so it was quiet a trouble for me to run away from home like that. Anyways, after that I went to ryerson, but didn’t complete my degree, but inshAllah will be compeleting that soon. Its good to know that you are working so hard and becoming something on your own. I wish I could do the samething :slight_smile: best of luck buddy

A thread with my name in the subject... wow!

Anyway, here it goes...

I went to Govt. College of Commerce and Economic, Karachi for four years (intermediate & B-COM). I finished my B-COM back in 1992 I believe. Those of you from Karachi would know that GCCE used to be very good back in those days and very hard to get into post matric. Besides me, a couple of my friends were considering U.S for further studies. One ended up in Chicago, the other in Houston and myself in Michigan. I came to U.S back in December 1993 after my B-COM. A lot of courses were exempted because of B-COM. I graduated with my BBA in CIS back in December 1996. I landed a CO-OP job (considered as a college course) in July 1996, prior to my graduation. The company that hired me was a start-up company which had been around only a couple of year. I was the second developer they hired. I was with them until July last year (2004), exactly eight years. In those eight years, the company grew from 14 employees to 100+. I was very respected and recognized there.

The company's niche was imaging, workflow and document management. This was nothing like a simple programming job. The experience that I enjoyed with them was tremendous. I got exposed to the world of Image Processing, barcode reading, OCR, ICR, MCR, COLD, Document Capture, Business Process/Content Management and rule-based automated workflow solutions. Document Capture process involved having to deal with integration with very expensive scanners, scanning a million+ papers a day. It also involved image enhancement processing, (de-skewing, etc), auto indexing based on barcodes, ICR, OCR and MCR, auto assembly of documents (number of pages each document has) based on barcodes and/or patch codes, blank page removal, etc, etc. I also got exposed to many legacy systems (Amisys, JDE World, etc) and real time integrating with many terminal emulation software products (attachment, reflections, etc). There were many projects during the course of 8 years that I completed with huge success. I was traveling with my previous company full time for almost 4 years, piling up frequent flyer miles with Northwest - 450,000+ at one point. This allowed me to visit Pakistan for free three times in addition to all the free domestic vacation travel that I did.

This industry is very small and people know each other. I wanted to move from Michigan last year because of extreme whether. The company I applied in Dallas last year did exactly the same work - in some of the projects they even competed with my previous company, I found out later. They hired me on the spot after the interview. I only came to find out later that they already knew me and had heard about me. When I resigned from my previous company, they counter offered me with an option to work from home in Dallas. I had already accepted the new job and wanted to stick with my words.

I have had completed some certifications during last 9 years, including MCSD, IBM EIP, FileNET Certified Professional, KOFAX. I also finished my masters (MSIS) in 2002 by taking evening classes for almost 2 years.

I had also established a successful side business with some POE software products that I had developed. This started with a dry cleaner business owner friend who wanted me to develop a software for him. This became very famous in Michigan and a couple of years later everyone wanted my software. If you guys have every visited any of Hudson Cleaners Chain stores or Dynamic Cleaners or Superior Cleaners in Michigan, they are all using my software. It was hard to work full time and still do this. I still get calls from Michigan every once in a while and make a sale. With proper marketing and advertise, this could have been big but oh well... there is only so much you can do.

I am here in Dallas now, enjoying the heat. I love it here though. I bought a house couple months ago in Carrollton. This was my first winter in Texas this year and I didn't even recognize it.

^^ wow.... very interesting... MashaAllah... proud of you

wow :O nice man, mashAllah. Now, this is something that you don't hear it on everyday basis and not a lot of ppl accomplish huge goals like this. Well best of luck :)

Wowie nice, another GCCE person. That place is my alma-mater as well. U have no idea how good it feels the first week you are there :)
I was there when the guys and gals actually used to be in the same room attending classes. And fights with Qureshi, fun days man. I even started a website on Geocities once, with the baba who was the chaprasi. You just brought back happy memories mang.

Asif and Ansoo, Thanks for your inputs dudes. We keep seeing your posts here and there and I always wondered what your backgrounds were. Nice to see all these progresses. And its always fun to find similar backgrounds. Good luck with the future.