They are professionals and they should know how to act during crucial stages of the game.
Inzi needs to come back and strengthen our batting line up. True he didn't perform in the world cup but class is permanent and form is temporary. He just had a bad patch in the world cup which is history now.
*Originally posted by KAKA-ATOM-BUM: *
gosh u ppl are so harsh,,,, pakistani angel,, relax man... i think they did pretty good. look at ur team,, its young n still in that developing stage. Give em some time n u,ll see... and sir,, rashid did pretty well behind the stumps. true he dropped a very easy one. but overall,, he was pretty impressive behind the stumps. hes an okay captain n has that attacking mentality which is good... unlike that stupid waqar,, who was too busy stopping fours when wat we needed was wickets. i still wanna kill him for his pathetic show at the worldcup.
now wen ppl say bring saeed back,, i wont agree with it. lets all just admit that although he was a class act wen at his prime,, the guy is gone. Although inzamam i reckon is a great player,,, true he had a really bad patch during the world cup,, but we all know wat hes capable of, we need him back.
and those who r trying to compare shoaib malik with afridi,, please,, wake up. ur comparing a juicy chicken tikka with 3 days old daal.
wasim i reckon was still very impressive n by far the bset player during the worldcup... i wudv loved him to be in the team, but hes history now.
Afridi should only be brought back if hes willing to learn. which i doubt... he might be good against the sub continent teams,,, but bring mcgrath n he can send him back to the pavillion with his eyes closed.
Afridi has no place at number 6 7. we have enough batsmen down the order... if hes willing to learn,,, he cud be given another chance as the opener.
wat pakistan badly needs is a reliable top order... specially openers.
bring back inzi,,, yoyo n younis r good. n then we have a pretty good middle n lower order and bowlers are doing pretty good,,, if only shoaib cud just shut up n get on with the job, i reckon we have a bowler whos a class act.
Very well said, only decent arguement in this thread.
The team performed very well during the recent series in England. Come on people don't be too harsh with them. Thsi team needs to play as a unit together for sometime and gain experience.
We need to bring back Inzi but Afridi, never. He is a tulley baaz and every single guy we got in the squad is better then him. I just hope Pakistan cricket does not have to stoop so low that we recall Afridi to the squad. Afridi was a mistake, a misnoma, an embarassement. Lets not repeat it.
*Originally posted by KAKA-ATOM-BUM: *
gosh u ppl are so harsh, pakistani angel, relax man… i think they did pretty good. look at ur team, its young n still in that developing stage. Give em some time n u,ll see… and sir, rashid did pretty well behind the stumps. true he dropped a very easy one. but overall, he was pretty impressive behind the stumps. hes an okay captain n has that attacking mentality which is good… unlike that stupid waqar, who was too busy stopping fours when wat we needed was wickets. i still wanna kill him for his pathetic show at the worldcup.
:k: I agree with you
now wen ppl say bring saeed back, i wont agree with it. lets all just admit that although he was a class act wen at his prime, the guy is gone. Although inzamam i reckon is a great player, true he had a really bad patch during the world cup, but we all know wat hes capable of, we need him back.
Saeed is genuine opener and he can teach few things to youngter, He can make opening pair strong.
and those who r trying to compare shoaib malik with afridi, please, wake up. ur comparing a juicy chicken tikka with 3 days old daal.
Who is camparing Afridi to Shoaib Malik? Shoib Malik hasn’t played as opener but Afridi was tried as opener and we all know that he has choked as a opener. You can’t compare these 2 players because they don’t play @ same # and the bowling style is different, Hafeez & Shoaib Malik are off break but Afridi is leg breaker just like Danish Keneria. I think Afridi can play better if they guide him, I hoping that if he is given a chance he will use this opertunity to prove that he can play. I think and few years team look will be different when Imran Farhat & Umer Gul and others will be fighting to get a permenant spot on the team. I still think bring Imran Nazir back was a mistake guy hasn’t realy done well in the domestic cricket; he still has some flaws in his batting Styles. Nazir will never become and solid batsman until/unless he learn to pick/choose the right ball for the right shot.
wasim i reckon was still very impressive n by far the bset player during the worldcup… i wudv loved him to be in the team, but hes history now.
Afridi should only be brought back if hes willing to learn. which i doubt… he might be good against the sub continent teams, but bring mcgrath n he can send him back to the pavillion with his eyes closed.
Afridi has no place at number 6 7. we have enough batsmen down the order… if hes willing to learn, he cud be given another chance as the opener.
**In next 2 years team will be different, there will be some new faces and some old. We all know that Imran Nazir will not be there since he is suppose to be a special Batsman but so far he has disappointed everyone. We need Solid #1 and #2, Imran Farhat and Fasial Athar (Hafeez or Hasir Hameed) or who ever PCB think is the best option. #3 should be Younis Khan #4 should be Youhana, #5 Shoib Malik, #6 Abdul Razzaq, #7 Shahid Afridi, #8 Rashid Latif, #9 Shoib Akhtar, 10 Mohd Sami, #11 Umer Gul.
Inzi can replace Shahid Afridi, Faisal Athar & Bilal Assad should also be given a chance.**
wat pakistan badly needs is a reliable top order… specially openers.
bring back inzi, yoyo n younis r good. n then we have a pretty good middle n lower order and bowlers are doing pretty good, if only shoaib cud just shut up n get on with the job, i reckon we have a bowler whos a class act.
Those who are saying that Saeed should be brought back so he can teach the youngsters, well Afridi has been opening with Anwar for so many years, what kind of lesson did he learn.
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
The team performed very well during the recent series in England. Come on people don't be too harsh with them. Thsi team needs to play as a unit together for sometime and gain experience.
We need to bring back Inzi but Afridi, never. He is a tulley baaz and every single guy we got in the squad is better then him. I just hope Pakistan cricket does not have to stoop so low that we recall Afridi to the squad. Afridi was a mistake, a misnoma, an embarassement. Lets not repeat it.
Ehsan bhai, with all due credit to your knowledge of Cricket, I think you're being too harsh on the poor guy. No one without talent scored 22 half centuries and 3 centuries in Cricket. Yes, it took him about 170 games to do this, but that doesn't mean he doesn't have talent, this tells u that he needs proper training and needs to have a better shot selection. Im not saying he should be brought back in the team, but the words you used to describe him are a bit to harsh.
Easy go fellas. To be harsh on someone wouldn’t make ya’ll The One to be heard.
Though, I agree with LahoriMunda on Imran Farhat but the problem is the guy hasn’t played that much Cricket. I’ve never watched him play, frankly, can’t say much about him.
As for bringing back Saqlain Mushtaq, chances are unlikely 'cause Shoaib Malik has been proving himself much better off-spinner. Also, he’s an all-rounder. Danish Kaneria, Shoaib Malik and Umer Gul will always be selected as 12th, 13th and 14th player of the squad. As much as people want, I don’t think PCB will recall back Saeed Anwar. Inzamam-ul-Haq maynot be the fast runner but he’s a good fielder in slip, on boundary and a great batsman. He’s heading to England to prove himself fit for Bangladesh Series. Inzamam looks to England
Inzamam said: **"Since there is no domestic cricket being played in Pakistan, the only way I can satisfy the selectors about my fitness is to play some league cricket.
“I have contacted some league clubs in England through my Pakistan team-mates who are in England. Hopefully, I should be active in league cricket by early July.”**
Shahid Afridi, goddamit, he’s gonna make his comeback and when he does, I bet ya’ll be cursing yourselves. Under the coaching of Miandad, Afridi has always been a good player. His highest scores both in Test Match and ODI happened when Miandad was a Coach. Shahid’s avg dropped when Miandad wasn’t around.
In the process of rebuidling, if you look at Sharjah Tournament, Bank Alfalah Cup and NatWest Challenge, Pakistan team have found themselves in trouble from the start, which is what Asif Iqbal pointed out. Based on that, he said Afridi should be brought back in the team. Don’t assume I’m a supporter of Afridi or he’s my relative and things like that. **The problem we are facing that we don’t got an agressive opener and for that we need Afridi back. ** It’s not like he’ll be selected in the squad overnight. Of course, the Selectors and Coach will watch him whether he’s willing to learn or not. Why not give a chance to Shahid Afridi when we can give to Shoaib Akhtar who proved himself alot better than WC nightmare?
Now, tell me, which part of my argument ya’ll don’t understand?
Shahid Afridi, goddamit, he's gonna make his comeback and when he does, I bet ya'll be cursing yourselves. Under the coaching of Miandad, Afridi has always been a good player. His highest scores both in Test Match and ODI happened when Miandad was a Coach. Shahid's avg dropped when Miandad wasn't around.
In the process of rebuidling, if you look at Sharjah Tournament, Bank Alfalah Cup and NatWest Challenge, Pakistan team have found themselves in trouble from the start, which is what Asif Iqbal pointed out. Based on that, he said Afridi should be brought back in the team. Don't assume I'm a supporter of Afridi or he's my relative and things like that.The problem we are facing that we don't got an agressive opener and for that we need Afridi back.It's not like he'll be selected in the squad overnight. Of course, the Selectors and Coach will watch him whether he's willing to learn or not. Why not give a chance to Shahid Afridi when we can give to Shoaib Akhtar who proved himself alot better than WC nightmare?
But as much as i would love to see a matured player under Miandads coaching, i dont think its gonna happen. Coz Afridi was in a group of ppl who fell out with miandad before the start of WC 99. So miandad wont be that enthusiast to have him back in the team.
yaar Kaka jigar..tu nay teh bhai majmaa loot litta...Balay!..Balay!
I think Pak team need radical changes..
bring back Waqar as Captain(yeh Kameena kabhee retire nahee ho gay..jaab taak iss ku arthritas na ho jia)
bring back Afridi as opener( tollay baaz)
bring back Ijaaz w/ his smart upfront a$$ batting style
bring back Salim elahi (shifarishee)
Bring back Saqqi
its really immature to say that rashid n javed r 2 b blamed for the losses. we still hv a bunch a youngsters who are on a learning curve. the way they adopted to tough english conditions has 2b appreciated. the bowlers are still inexperienced [sami n malik] althou there is no xcuse for the way shoaib bowled. he’s been bowling like that all yr n we really need 2 give up on him [atleast 4 the time being] coz his words never really match up his performance.
rashid has been an amazing captain for us. he’s forged unity in the side n commands respect. he hasn’t done 2 gd with his bat this series but everyone gets out of form. javed is a main reason why this core of players have generally done well since the world cup. He is the one whose developed these players n its senseless 2 blame him. wats important that this team has worked hard n like asif iqbal said there’s no shame in this defeat. I still think we played better then england n if only our ground fielding was better we would have taken the series.
*Originally posted by Jerablade: *
yaar Kaka jigar..tu nay teh bhai majmaa loot litta...Balay!..Balay!
I think Pak team need radical changes..
bring back Waqar as Captain(yeh Kameena kabhee retire nahee ho gay..jaab taak iss ku arthritas na ho jia)
bring back Afridi as opener( tollay baaz)
bring back Ijaaz w/ his smart upfront a$$ batting style
bring back Salim elahi (shifarishee)
Bring back Saqqi
and plezz..dump this fnuke..Javed miandad..
What? Afridi fell out under Miandad? Saby bhai jaan, khair tou hai? Afridi was on tour when Pakistan team went to India before the World Cup 99.
P.S. Afridi was the member of WC 99 squad. Check This ; and also participated in a Sharjah Tournament followed by.
What I most like about Miandad that never criticizes any player if he’s having a bad patch. For instance, just look at how bad Pakistan performed in a Test Series against Australia last year, and the WC nightmare couple of months back. Here on GUPSHUP, everyone was criticizing/blaming Waqar Younis alone whereas the Great Miandad was backing him!