Re: Asif and Shoaib to appeal
I hope it is because of the supplements that the bans is lifted/reduced. If it is for poor testing procedures, then the question will remain as to how their samples showed high levels of Nand in the first place..?
^i hope this doctor they have on the panel is an expert on these matters because with Pakistani Doctors you never know... they might be thinking like a Hakim.Intikhab Alam proved himself to be a moron already by linking shoaibs guilt to something unrelated to the matter.
Shoaib’s Lifestyle Not Relevant, Appeal Says
The lawyer defending Shoaib Akhtar in his doping appeal has requested that the first hearing be null and void because it was prejudiced.
The original three-man panel that included former Pakistan captain Intikhab Alam commented in their final report, after banning Shoaib for two years, about his so-called womanising and drinking lifestyle and his lawyer is arguing that was irrelevant.
A new three-man panel comprising former Test off-spinner Haseeb Ahsan agreed, encouragingly for Shoaib, but they have requested more details on the dietary supplements he is said to have taken.
“What Shoaib has been doing in the past and whether he has been drinking or womanising is not what we are concerned with,” Haseeb said.
“We just want more details on the products both players were supposed to have taken and the lawyers have promised to come back to us with those details.
“We have a very well respected judge sitting on our committee, he is a fair man who will help us come to a fair decision. When the lawyers come back to us on Monday with the details we will hopefully make a decision by Friday.”
Mohammad Asif, who was banned for one year, is also contesting his sanction.
SOURCE: http://www.bigstarcricket.com/bs/news/article_1447.shtml
^ Intikhab should not have said what he did but the moron in this case was Shoaib, not Intikhab. Shoaib himself linked those "unrelated" matters to high levels of the banned substance.
Indus news is saying that it will be announced tuesday which is tomorrow and that they have been cleared of all charges.hope thats the case.
I think they should've done a lab test on the supplements these guys have been taking for example,t-bomb 2 which is supposed to raise your testosterone level naturally may be contaminated with anabolic steroids,most of these supplemets come from america where companies cheat a lot.
^ I hope that is true. It would be awesome to have Shoaib and Asif acompany on the tour of SA. Can't wait for tomorrow.
abay oye that show on indus channel is a comedy. they were doing funny news section.
Yes, shoaib should not have said that, but then again you can't really blame him completely for coming up with stupid arguments to save his behind. He was trying to come up with anything to prove his innocence.
Intikhab on the other hand, should have kept his mouth shut. Considering that he was holding a very important and sensitive job, he should have performed it gracefully.
I don't know how much we can blame Shoaib on weakening his case during the initial part of doping crisis, but PCB definitely can blame Intikhab, if Shoaib gets reprieve.
Intikhab should not have tried linking shoaib off the field behavior with high drug levels. Shoaib's life style has been like that since the beginning, but has he ever been tested positive before?? No, infact he was tested negative twice during the last 2 years. This is contrary to Alam's theory of doping, chilling & partying.
It is very unfortunate that PAK cricket greatly lack professional (in term of education, like Imran, Saeed, Latif) cricketers, and thus it is so hard to bring in retired cricketers on important positions in PCB.
Alam is one of those example. Learning english by living in UK (for county cricket) doesn't help develop their aptitude and mental thought process. Therefore, no matter how good their english may get, they can't become good administrator, judge, managers or commentary experts.
It is being proved time and again by looking at examples of some great players on field, and A... holes in the comentary box, or as managers or coach (now a days which is more than teaching cricketing skills).
PAK should encourage and develop cricketers from Universities and Colleges, and allow them to finish their graduation and professional degrees.
I know, many western countries can bring less educated cricketers, but in west people learn and shoulder their responsibilities at very young age, at 14 they start working on fast food places and groceries stores, and know what are the codes of disciplines, but in sub continent conditions, we should encourage educated players for the sake of Pak name and nation pride on cricketing fields.
Any result on this soon?
Intikhab should not have tried linking shoaib off the field behavior with high drug levels. Shoaib's life style has been like that since the beginning, but has he ever been tested positive before?? No, infact he was tested negative twice during the last 2 years. This is contrary to Alam's theory of doping, chilling & partying.
Why blame Inti when the brat himself was boasting about it to the panel.
I find it incredible that we are preapred to forego a wrong doing by professionals just so that we can win a few matches. Shame on us. What sort of standards are we setting for players to follow. If they are inncocent they should be cleared however if they are guilty they should serve the time. Simple.
Ehsan bhai, no one wants a cheat in the side. If Shoaib or Asif are guilty after the appeal process, they should serve the ban. But here we are not discussing that.
You are asking why we should blame Inti? We are blaming him because the fool made mockery of himself and the tribunal decision and made it controversial. Can't he realize that if shoaib was taking banned drug or was in the habit of taking them to fullfil his "needs", why was he not positive in the last 2 test during the last 2 years?
When is the curtain call ?
please telloo, zara jaldi jaldi haath munh challaoo na bhaiya ! ![]()
^maybe friday
Here we go…
no nuws is good nuws by Garry Gnu…
**Commission fails to decide on Akhtar, Asif **
PTI
Wednesday, November 29, 2006 22:04 IST
KARACHI: The Appeals Commission hearing Pakistani fast bowlers Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Asif’s plea to overturn their ban for positive dope tests has deferred its verdict after failing to reach a consensus on Wednesday.
“There is definitely a divided opinion among the three members of the tribunal on what to do with the appeals of the two players. That is why the delay in announcing the decision on their pending appeals,” a Pakistan Cricket Board source said.
Justice (retd) Fakhruddin G Ebrahim heads the appellate tribunal that includes former Test player Hasib Ahsan and Danish Zaheer, who heads the Pakistan Sports Medicine Association.
The players went with their appeals to the tribunal after a drugs inquiry tribunal found them guilty of taking banned substance and banned Shoaib for two years and Asif for one year.
The verdict came after the two bowlers were called back from the Champions Trophy in India last month after testing positive in tests conducted by the Pakistan Cricket Board independently.
“There is a feeling that the bans are too harsh and should be removed because in the first place the PCB was not bound to have the tests by the International Cricket Council under the anti-doping regulations,” the source said.
"The feeling is that Pakistan still needs these two players and the drugs inquiry tribunal acted harshly without taking relevant facts into consideration like the circumstances in which the Tests were held by the PCB and that the fact that the traces of the banned substance nandrolone can even be found in athletes who overtrain.
“The main argument in favour of removing the bans is that Pakistan is not a direct signatory to the World Anti-Doping Agency regulations and the bans only apply on players who test positive in competitions of the ICC.”
But the source said the other argument was that there was no doubt the players had tested positive and it would paint a very poor image of Pakistan if their bans were lifted.
"The suggestion after hearing the arguments of the player’s lawyers is that the bans be reduced and some heavy fines be imposed on them to ensure everyone is happy.
“But the problem is that Ebrahim is a no nonsense man and goes by the law and book. The other problem is the board itself is not interested in Shoaib’s future but wants Asif to be available as soon as possible for selection.”
Whoa…doh …conflicting news galore!!!
Mohd. Asif likely to be acquitted of dope charges
Wednesday November 29, 2006 (0101 PST)
**ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has decided to acquit fast bowler Muhammad Asif of dope charges by giving him benefit of the doubt while on the other hand the chances of Rawalpindi Express Shoaib Akhtar coming out clear has diminished. **
According to PCB sources, the Tribunal set up for hearing the appeals of Mohammad Asif and Shoaib Akhtar would announce its verdict in a day or two. However it is likely that Mohammad Asif would be absolved of all charges by giving him benefit of the doubt. While the sentence on Shoaib Akhtar of two years ban would be upheld.
It is pertinent to mention that Pakistan most premier fast bowlers Shoaib and Asif are facing bans following their positive dope tests ahead of Champion Trophy.
These two players were called back from India before Champion Trophy tournament.
According to sources, the tribunal consisting of Justice Fakhruddin, Dr Danish Zaheer and Hasib Ahsan reviewed the lawyers arguments during the appeal hearings.
Defense lawyer had argued that since Shoaib Akhtar had not signed any central contract therefore dope laws are not applicable on him. However PCB provided an old copy of Shoaib’s agreement, consisting of dope condition, which he had signed.
Moreover he had participated in a Dope Awareness program last year in Lahore, in which the Pakistani players were informed of matters related to dope and at the end signatures of each attending players were obtained including that of Shoaib Akhtar’s, sources told
Sources told that in comparison Mohammad Asif had neither signed any central contract or participated in any Dope Test Awareness program. Therefore it is possible that he may be acquitted on the basis of benefit of doubt and has good chance to be a member of Pakistan team for the tour of South Africa while on the other hand the matter of Shoaib looks in doldrums.
I don’t understand why PCB rushed the declaration of tests results? PCB could have called Asif and Shoaib back on some desciplinary grounds, and then first they should have made their mind, and since Shaoib got higher level the banned substances than Asif, so they could have banned Shoaib and warned Asif in loud words but iinside back doors. This way, they don’t have to make it as a chicken and an egg situation.
Also it would have been fair too, since Asif is new and didn’t attended any proceedings regarding such instructions, and they could have given good lesson to Shoaib.
^ yes and I have hesisted to say this before but have said it ....it is almost a case of a premeditated act from PCB where they had had enough of Shoaib and his flounderings comma philanderings as suggested by the PCB tribunal report. So they found an escape goat Mr. Asif who was at the wrong place with the wrong kind of people and bam!!! in comes Mr. Intikhab.....law and order at its best.
This is my chicken and egg bit!
Ok so Asif will be given benefit of the doubt because he is not educated enough to know enough about steroids.Ok fair enough.But again they should be doing tests on these supplements that these guys have been taking to make sure they were not contaminated.This is what was done when the famous tennis player Rudzeski was cleared.But they are not going to bother to do that because first of all may be they don't have anybody qualified enough on that panel to do those tests.Secondly,they just want to punish these guys no matter what to improve Pakistan's image in the world.Oh look we may be one of the most corrupt countries in the world,our police is the most corrupt in the world,our judicial system is flawed,we have politicians who are criminals,but look look we do punish our cricket players.
Desi: Don't go out ballistic, all we are saying that PCB is making hasty decisions. If they just wanted to punish Shaoib, I think there are enough desciplinary grounds that they could keep him off the cricket for years. All his career is full of contorversies. PAK produced many great players, but no one will have even half of the controversies as this guy have. So it is not the question if they did right or wrong about S. Akhtar, which personally I think it will be great if they keep him off the team for few more months. If I was Captain, Coach and Chair of PCB, I would have selected SAkhtar in a squad and then will keep him in dressing room and out of playing elevens, to show him his place.