Asif and Shoaib to appeal / Decision tomorrow, 5 December 2006

Re: Asif and Shoaib to appeal

saaray mods/admin ko ban kar ke party karnay ka irada hai? :-|

Just a side note, Shane Warne is spin bowler, which are knowing for thier lack of athletic ability from Kaneria, Mushtaq to Warne. I do not think it hurt Warne during the ban, I mean all he has to do is work on his wrist, whereas for a bowler like Asif is a different story. He has to be at his best athletic and mentaly competitive form to be what he is/was. I doubt he will be able to maintain it after the ban.

Yeah so we can bash India :hehe:

They can appeal all they want, but I don’t think any body in ICC will give a hoot to their appeal…PCBs current regime has done the damage by instructing this tribunal to act as it has done. What a disaster …but I fear the current administration will definitely do more damage…
:frowning: :mad:** sad and angry at the same time…**

Just heard on GEO that Shoaib would be appealing against the decision on Monday.

I think Miandad praised PCB but he might have blamed this on Woolmer, because Woolmer should have checked each and every players diet and should have tried to cook for them.

A 3 month ban on Asif and one year ban on Shoaib will be more appropriate,
and as far as PCB,s image is concerned,
Let me laugh,
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.......................

New three-member panel to hear doping appeal

Justice Fakhruddin Ibrahim to head panel

Justice Fakhruddin Ibrahim will head the new panel appointed by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to hear the appeals against the doping bans imposed on fast bowlers Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Asif.

The panel also consists of Hasib Ahsan, a former Test cricketer. Nasim Ashraf, the PCB chairman, told Pakistan’s Geo TV that the third member, a doctor, will be named later. The panel is expected to deliver the verdict within seven days of the hearing of the appeals.

Both Shoaib and Asif were banned for two years and one year respectively after they were found guilty of using the banned anabolic steroid nandrolone, by a three-man drugs tribunal formed by the PCB. They tested positive following dope tests conducted by the board during the Champions Trophy and were withdrawn from the Pakistan squad. Both players pleaded their innocence, claiming that they had not wilfully taken any performance-enhancing drugs and decided to appeal. The tribunal, headed by barrister Shahid Hamid, also faulted the board for not ensuring that its players are suitably cautioned and advised about such issues.

SOURCE: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/266940.html

Don't you let me down Fakhruddin.

:omg: the circus continues…
now these clowns are going to reduce the earlier verdicts…
is this a weird nightmare that finds new twists like the one on elm street?
:clown: :mad:

i hope they extend the ban…:k:

When we have a-hole Pakistani fans like these, who needs the world cup!

He's not a Pakistan fan, he is anti-pakistan all the way.

AWWW…:clown:

as if shoaib n asif can get u WIN the WC…:d:halo:
i remember WC99 & WC2003…i’m pretty sure shoaib/his look-alike was taken to the cleaners for a good washing by india in WC2003…rite?:clown:

take this Saieen!! :hayaa:

Banned fast bowler Asif files appeal, Shoaib yet to do so

PCB spokesman said Asif had filed an appeal to challenge the ban while Akhtar had yet to do so. “Asif has filed an appeal against the decision of anti-doping tribunal through his lawyer Aftab Gul. His appeal has some weight that is why it has been accepted for hearing,” added the spokesman. “The committee will take two to three days to coordinate. We hope the committee will start a review hearing as soon as possible.” He said the appellate committee had been constituted in line with the International Cricket Council (ICC) and PCB’s anti-doping regulations that stated that in case of an appeal a fresh committee be appointed.

Meanwhile, Asif told reporters yesterday that he had filed an appeal against a one-year ban imposed on him. “And I hope my ban will be reviewed by the appeal committee,” Asif said. Asif’s lawyer, Gul, is a former Test opener who played six Tests for Pakistan between 1969 and 1971. “This is a case of mitigation and we have questioned the quantum of sentence to our client,” Gul told AFP. “Under exceptional circumstances (in doping cases) you cannot punish, and the circumstances with Asif were exceptional, as he had no knowledge of doping and was not given any lectures on the consequences,” said Gul.

SOURCE: http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2006\11\07\story_7-11-2006_pg2_3

Oh God, tum logon ke paas apna forum nahi hai kya? Kyoon apni beizatti karanay aatay ho idhar? I’m too tired. I’ll flame you later :o .

chooti chooti khushian:)

by the way which side you usually support? last time I checked you were fluctuating like electricity:D

Taken to cleaners in the last world cup, true. By who ? The guy who cant even play a simple bouncer anymore. I mean I know Shoaib is a difficult proposition to face but using your head probably isnt the best option :wink: Wasnt it another one of the legendry Indian batsman who claimed Pakistani attack was too easy to face till Asif made him realize otherwise. Or for the matter ask Laxman how did he like the in-dippers Asif bowled to him. BTW did the legendry Ganguly made it back to the team after failing agaisnt Pakistan ? Maybe not but I’m sure the fast and furious Balaji, Zaheer and Nehra must be making big news these days … in domestic cricket :smiley:

Thank you fkhan2 and Lahori Munda bhaiyon. You did my work for me.