Asif and Shoaib to appeal / Decision tomorrow, 5 December 2006

Re: Asif and Shoaib to appeal

Well not sure who's fault it is? It can easily become a blame game but lets not go over there since thats a separate issue.

Here we are discussing the harshness of the decision. Appaarentlt it is PCB's fault that Asif will be away for 1 year and Shoaib for 2 years when it could have been 6 months for Asif and 12 for Shoaib. When we don't have a 2 year ban ever in the history of the game , than why did PCB want to become the poineer?

So since a 1 year ban was good enough to end his career, they thought lets make it 2? Is that a justification
What you are not realizing is that a one year punishment for Shoaib could have resulted in 6 months punishment for Asif.

Ehsan bhai,

No, there is no message to players to cheat the first time and be careful next time. This has been tested, you can see a player in New York Yankees named Jason Giambi who took banned substances and than apologized to the public. After that he had a breakthrough season, where he helped his team go to playoffs. He has not been accused once and since been halied very widely. There is no message of cheat in this. If you break a law, any law from traffic light to other non-criminal offence; justice is to give the person time and opportunity to redeem themselves. This is the only way to make society and sports better, do not think for once that after these bans, Cricket can say good bye to sex, drugs and banned things. It will be there forever, the best thing is to regulate it to best and this certainly is not the way.

Professional players do recover and gain fitness and form after months out of games. Remember Gul? He was injured and was thought that the back-injury would be his career-ending one, but guess what he recovered, played domestic and made it back to the international team.

hahaha, man stop dreaming, a series ban is for much smaller crimes... Players get banned just for dissent or misbehavior etc, this is PED we are talking about. Even if it were 1 year ban, shoaib 's career was devastated. He has been irresponsible, he participated in PED awareness seminar(?) and still endup testing positive.... what does that mean?

oh bhai I am not suggesting that PCB made 2 year just for the sake of ending Shoaib's career. I am suggesting that PCB tribunal thought that 2 year was enough reprimand for Shoaib's irresponsible attitude, now whether that 2 year ban exceeds his lifetime or his career is not their concern. 6 month punishment for Asif would've been just fine for me too. They could've gone like 18 months for Shoaib and 1 year for Asif too.

Captain1 bhai,

Injuries are different, there is time to recover. Moreover, they have the sport and positive mindset to recover. Asif can only practice and this means he will make a comeback? Very weak argument, you have to be competitive throughout playing in competitive games in order to be back at your best. I tell you one year ban will only weaken him. His career just started and the best should have been to fine him salary, hefty fine and ban him for a series. A solid message not only in regards to money but career also at the same time he wil be give a chance, a chance to redeem his mistakes.

Just think, how is it fair when we have an example of Hair the umpire who has been discriminatory through out his career. How can we say that those officials are balanced and objective.

If Indian justice system doesn't punish a criminal then we don't have to follow their footsteps. Warne was found doping and was punished for 1 year, but as indicated in other thread(s) that there have been cases of 18month bans too, so whats the big deal? He would've missed the WC and his career would've been over in 18 months too.

Bhaijan I am only asking a simple question. I am not defending Shoaib or Asif, they are equally responsible for whatever happened along with other culprits.
All I am asking is why 2 years? Is there any other case in the past where some one else was given a 2 year punishment in international cricket?

No court of law will give a life sentence to a criminal when other criminals guilty of the same crime got 7 years of prison.

Ok, than who’s footsteps are we following now?

what would've be appropriate punishment for someone who knows he is doing wrong and is found guilty of doing wrong? Would you be lenient with him?

You don't need to follow anyone's steps, set your own directions/vision/milestones.

PCB will set an example/ vision and milestones lol. If they can just maintain a balanced pay roll of the the Bosses, I will give them some credit. This is too much for them.

or is it ICC? who let Hari officiate for so many years despite so many discriminatory decisions?

I don't know why we (sub-continental teams) didn't file a lawsuit against him.

Can we plz ban ehsan, man with a plan, fkhan2 and Captan sahib? Thank you :)

Doping bans for fast bowlers a ‘disaster’ for Pakistan cricket, ex-players say

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The doping bans handed down to top fast bowlers Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammed Asif are a disaster for Pakistan cricket, already reeling from controversies that have hurt its chances in next year’s World Cup, ex-players said Thursday.
A Pakistan Cricket Board tribunal on Wednesday handed a two-year ban to paceman Akhtar — the first player in cricket to bowl over 100 mph (160 kph) — and a one-year ban to rising star Asif, after they both tested positive for the banned steroid Nandrolone.
The punishments — the harshest yet for doping in world cricket — could threaten the international prospects of the 31-year old Akhtar, who in an eventful career has also battled injury problems and faced questions over the legitimacy of his whirlwind bowling action.
Akhtar’s physician Tauseef Razzaq told Pakistan’s private Geo television that Akhtar would file an appeal against the ban and insisted he had tested positive because of having a high protein diet and using herbal medicines, which are not banned.

The tribunal, however, reported that Akhtar had failed to specify the vitamin supplements he had been taking, and when asked who had prescribed the herbal medicines he had been taking, said “he had been getting them from his friends.”

The verdicts cap a torrid few months for the Pakistan team, which was forced to forfeit a test match against England at The Oval this summer when the side refused to take the field after it was accused of ball tampering — charges it was later cleared of.
Regular captain Inzamam-ul-Haq was subsequently banned for four limited-overs internationals on charges of bringing the game into disrepute.
The team has also weathered squabbles over the captaincy and the resignation of cricket board chairman Shaharyar Khan.
Sarfraz Nawaz, who spearheaded the country’s pace attack in the 1970s, said the Pakistan board had no choice but to impose the ban following the verdict of the three-man independent tribunal, but said it was a body blow to the struggling national side.
“It’s a disaster for Pakistan cricket. As we have seen in the ICC Champions Trophy, without these two bowlers Pakistan are scrambled, they finished nowhere,” Nawaz said. “Their hopes of contention in the World Cup, of reaching the semis or final are very remote now.”
Former skipper Rashid Latif criticized the bans as harsh, and called for them to be halved on appeal.
“A two-year ban is too much. Shane Warne got one year before the last World Cup,” he said, referring to the Australian leg-spinner who was banned in 2003 for taking a banned diuretic. “Pakistan traditionally has a good fast bowling attack. Now we don’t have any in the side.”
The International Cricket Council on Thursday praised the tough action of the Pakistan board.
“The PCB has done extremely well in handling this matter in such an efficient manner and its strong stand against doping is a fine precedent,” ICC president Percy Sonn said in a statement.
But the board itself was chided by the doping tribunal.
“We are not entirely satisfied with the manner in which PCB has advised and cautioned its players with regard to prohibited substances,” the tribunal said in its 19-page written verdict.
“We have found much ‘passing of the buck’ between the various PCB officials who have appeared before us. We are firmly of the view that PCB needs to have a qualified and experienced sports doctor whenever the team is on tour abroad,” it said.
Nawaz and Latif both lambasted the Pakistan board, saying it was managed by bureaucrats with little knowledge of the game. But another former Pakistan skipper and coach, Javed Miandad, said that while he “felt sorry” for Akhtar and Asif, he backed the board’s decision.
“Players are heroes and ambassadors, and they should act like that and play like gentlemen cricketers,” said the former star batsman.

Jo hukm sarkar, chalo ehsan noo maaf kar doh, baqiyan noo ban kar dena waan. Kee khayal way.

That person should be punished apporpriately and not overpunished.

God bless you..I have the same concerns from the day one...

Ehsan, bhai, no one is questioning why asif and shoaib are being punished....yes shoaib and asif are responsible for whatever happened but why do we want to punish them so harsh? It is about justice....I mean, even here in USA where players are considered to be role models and where people follow sports with great passion paying close attention to the ethical values of players, pros are not punished like this.....so the ban is justified but its duration is not....

and let me tell you guys who is responsible for the duration of this stupid ban....no on else but his excellence, visionary leader, our new chairman, janab Doctor Sahib Naseem Ashraf...yes, he did not propose the ban as the duration of the ban was suggested by the trail board but it was just a suggestion.....our chairman, however, agreed to it without any problem.....i am scared that naseem will do anything by virtue of which he can show to “desi pakis” that he has been imported from America and that he will run every thing "fair" on “merit”....but what he does not remember that he himself was selected by sucking up to his big boss....shame on him...

if doctor naseem sahib had some brains , he would have banned shoaib for one year and asif for 6 months or even less....No one would have questioned this duration whatsoever but now if we reduce the ban, the whole world will laugh on us....what a pitty..Any tom dick and harry can become chief of Pakistan cricket as long as he is good at sucking up to the big boss….Naseem should go back and treat his patients.……

Bottom line is that we demand justice for shoaib and asif…..yes, they did some thing stupid and they deserve to be punished but in a reasonable way…..we feel that they have been punished unfairly by someone who is trying to use them as an example to stamp his authority. It is not fair. Especially aisf…Even the trial report mentioned that he immediately stopped taking the medicine when his doctor told him to do so…he allowed his sample to be taken right away….he was not the part of any drugs awareness course and our board never guided him…..i mean come on…..be reasonable…..poor kid is being framed by someone who is trying to execute his plans…..