Asians changing their real names

I was watching a Russell Peters video in which he asked two Chinese people in the audience what their names were. The guy replied “David” and the girl replied “Vicky”. Later he asked them if they had any Chinese names and they did tell their real names which to be honest weren’t hard to pronounce at all (then again, I don’t think Huma is complicated either but you’d be surprised!). Even if they were, why should anyone be changing their real name because people can’t be bothered getting the pronunciation right? I mean does anyone change their name to a Chinese name when travelling to China?

Turns out some Republicans have also asked Asian-Americans to adopt names that are “easier for Americans to deal with”.

Your views?

Re: Asians changing their real names

Better than using acronyms for your real name, like this man I know whose real name is Allah ditta but everyone around him including his wife calls him A.D sahab. Might as well change his name to Andy. :/

Desi, middle eastern, and European languages were all influenced by the Aryan invasions, which is why we have words that sound similar in different languages (ex: mother, ma). From what I know, Chinese languages are very different, and inflection is very important. Changing the inflection on a word can change its meaning entirely so I think Chinese immigrants just find it easier to adopt a Western name.

It makes sense if you yourself are not happy with your name. The name Butt for example. If someone wants to change that, his choice. But I'm talking about changing your name for other people's convenience only. Like someone asking you to change the name Hadeel to Monica or something just because they can't pronounce your Pakistani name.

What do you mean by then they told their "real" names ? Their real names were David and Vicki. The chinese names where their real names also. You can have both you know...

But how complicated are names like Li, Zhang, Chen, Lin, Wu etc?

I mean their original names at birth.

They are Asian-American and David and Vickie are their real names, their original names at birth. Their parents also gave them a chinese name. It's a cultural thing, it's just that you might not or don't want to understand it.

I have a Chinese friend, she has not changed her name...the way you spell her name is TOTALLY different from how you pronounce it. Everyone gets it wrong the first time, even I did!

But I also remember when I went to college all the Chinese students who were there had changed their names...some of the names they chose were a bit funny...

But I think it is stupid for the republicans to ask ppl to change their names so it is convenient for them!!!

How do you know they're Asian-Americans by birth and their parents gave them American and Chinese names? You don't see me complaining about Russell Peters because I understand his family is Anglo-Indian/Canadian. I'm talking about immigrants only. Forget the Asians, should the Irish be changing their Gaelic names too? Try pronouncing Aoife Breathnach.

Yeah this is the bit I have a problem with. Did a bit of googling and turns out some Asians are also changing names to help job prospects. Umm if the name really affects the job prospects, isn't that discrimination?

^ I have a few ideas what can be your new name :chai:

Only if you change Shak to Shaniqua. snapsnap

Aur koi comeback nahi milti :rolleyes:

At least I posted a comeback, khud eyes roll karne k ilawa kuch ata nahin. :snooty:

My dad went by a shorter version of his name for years when he came here. People just didn't talk to you the same way they would if say your name was Andy. There were very few brownies here and the ones that were here did the same thing.

I also remember really disliking my name because NO ONE could say it right as a kid. I even tried to change it...lol.

Now, I could care less. I tell people...if you can say Blagojevich...you can say anything! So you will either say my name right or I shall not respond. :)

Its also personal. Some people would rather not be the person with the crazy name no one can say. They don't want to stand out or are tired of standing out.

I don't agree with this name changing business...but I understand why people do it.

Why you hatin :frowning:

I went to a business college where half of the population was Chinese foreign exchanged students. Boy, I was really glad they changed their names to American ones. When teachers take attendance on the first day, it takes forever because they are trying to pronounce the names of the Asian kids, and it always comes out wrong. And than the Asian kids corrected the teacher, and told them they go by the name Katherine, Vicky, etc.
My Paki name is hard to pronounce, but never thought about changing it until I was like mid-way though college. =D

Yup, it is discrimination, I have seen on news here as well where Asian say that sometimes it is difficult for them to get a job because of this.

When I applied for my job, my mom did not want me to put down all my names as well, only the one that sounds English!

Easier to deal with? LMAO! Maybe I'm wrong for thinking this...but I feel that since I usually pronounce goray people's names correctly and don't request that they change it to make my life easier......I expect the same courtesy. I can understand struggling with pronunciation...but at least make the effort. I've seen that with time, people will get the hang of it. As Reha said...there are harder words with several syllables in a language....that are not names....which are said. It's something I'm picky about it....I know some desis will pronounce their own names differently..whereas I prefer to say it like it is even when dealing with those not of my culture.