Ashamed to be Canadian

Saw a bunch of Canada flags in a store this week, all in preparation for 1 July. Flags, badges, pins, face stickers, washable tattoos, etc. i got all excited, and was fully into the spirit of it and started thinking which flag-sizes we should buy for the home and for the car, and where i could buy some red and white facepaint so i can get a maple leaf painted on me for July 1. (That’s Canada Day by the way - 1 July).

There’s a ‘but’ coming up. We’ll be hearing a lot of the Canadian anthem closer we get to 1 July…hear it on tv at the beginning of every hockey match, in junior high school they play the anthem and you have to stand up out of respect. So, for a little refresher, here’s part of the lyrics of the Canadian anthem:

…] Our home and native land!
…] God keep our land glorious and free!

Why do we have the words “Our …] native land” in there? Yes this is going somewhere i’m sure some of you can guess… but oh well. It’s not really “our” “native” land, is it? Ask an Aboriginal person, they’ll give you a very opinionated reply. How did it become “our” land - it definitely is, from a legal perspective, “our” land now and today. It definitely is NOT our “native” land…and never was to begin with. Unless the person singing the anthem is Aboriginal, it was never anyone’s “native” land. That part of the anthem is a lie.

Whenever you mention multiculturalism and diversity with other Canadians (desi Canadians, Caucasian Canadians, whatever the hyphenated case may be), they always say (and i include myself in this) - hey we’ve got multiculturalism as part of our official Constitution, we don’t encourage a melting-pot type of mentality as some other countries do, we encourage diversity etc etc. That’s true, but only if you’re not Aboriginal. If you’re Aboriginal, you might as well forget about multiculturalism. No one wants to hear about totem poles and dream catchers or the traditional ways of life or seal hunting or moccasins unless it’s as a token representation of ethnicity; or you want to include some Aboriginal dance for the coolness aspect - like on 21 March (anti-racism day), they’ll always invite Aboriginal groups to perform some ceremonial dances. Everyone takes a bunch of pictures, pat ourselves on the back for being oh so open-minded, then go home. That’s well and good. Rest of the year, for 364 days, we pretty much ignore the Aboriginals around us. It’s like they’re good only as trophy showcases for displaying our supposed diversity; rest of the year, we prefer they stay out of sight and out of mind.

i dunno what’s the purpose of my post. Just feels like - “Canada Day” will exclude a certain group…a group that was here way before any of us immigrants, whether we immigrated from Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, UK, or the US. Except for the original inhabitants, we’re ALL immigrants here. Within Canada, most so-called visible minorities (South Asians, Orientals, even Arabs) get all the attention and the diversity bit caters to them…but what about Aboriginals ? How come they are the invisible and neglected group of this country? What, except for ingrained and structural racism, can comprehensively explain this aspect?

Re: Ashamed to be Canadian

*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *
Saw a bunch of Canada flags in a store this week, all in preparation for 1 July. Flags, badges, pins, face stickers, washable tattoos, etc. i got all excited, and was fully into the spirit of it and started thinking which flag-sizes we should buy for the home and for the car, and where i could buy some red and white facepaint so i can get a maple leaf painted on me for July 1. (That's Canada Day by the way - 1 July).

There's a 'but' coming up. We'll be hearing a lot of the Canadian anthem closer we get to 1 July...hear it on tv at the beginning of every hockey match, in junior high school they play the anthem and you have to stand up out of respect. So, for a little refresher, here's part of the lyrics of the Canadian anthem:

...] Our home and native land!
...] God keep our land glorious and free!

Why do we have the words "Our ...] native land" in there? Yes this is going somewhere i'm sure some of you can guess... but oh well. It's not really "our" "native" land, is it? Ask an Aboriginal person, they'll give you a very opinionated reply. How did it become "our" land - it definitely is, from a legal perspective, "our" land now and today. It definitely is NOT our "native" land...and never was to begin with. Unless the person singing the anthem is Aboriginal, it was never anyone's "native" land. That part of the anthem is a lie.

Whenever you mention multiculturalism and diversity with other Canadians (desi Canadians, Caucasian Canadians, whatever the hyphenated case may be), they always say (and i include myself in this) - hey we've got multiculturalism as part of our official Constitution, we don't encourage a melting-pot type of mentality as some other countries do, we encourage diversity etc etc. That's true, but only if you're not Aboriginal. If you're Aboriginal, you might as well forget about multiculturalism. No one wants to hear about totem poles and dream catchers or the traditional ways of life or seal hunting or moccasins unless it's as a token representation of ethnicity; or you want to include some Aboriginal dance for the coolness aspect - like on 21 March (anti-racism day), they'll always invite Aboriginal groups to perform some ceremonial dances. Everyone takes a bunch of pictures, pat ourselves on the back for being oh so open-minded, then go home. That's well and good. Rest of the year, for 364 days, we pretty much ignore the Aboriginals around us. It's like they're good only as trophy showcases for displaying our supposed diversity; rest of the year, we prefer they stay out of sight and out of mind.

i dunno what's the purpose of my post. Just feels like - "Canada Day" will exclude a certain group...a group that was here way before any of us immigrants, whether we immigrated from Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, UK, or the US. Except for the original inhabitants, we're ALL immigrants here. Within Canada, most so-called visible minorities (South Asians, Orientals, even Arabs) get all the attention and the diversity bit caters to them...but what about Aboriginals ? How come they are the invisible and neglected group of this country? What, except for ingrained and structural racism, can comprehensively explain this aspect?

They have to take care of their own rights. Nobody is going to give.
It to them.By the way nice speech for your mock debate.

we like us…we really really like us…don;t we? Yeah we do.:nuch:

Well Nadia... reading your posts often remind me of this urdu misrah
Saaray shehr ka ghamm - hamaray jigar mein hai

So what is my native land is it Pakistan , or India, or the ottoman empire , …God I am confused? Where am I from????

White man try to take India, they find resistance. They divide and conquer.

White man try to take China, they find resistance. They hook them up with opium and conquer.

White man try to take North America. They find no resistance. Instead they find friendly defenceless aborigines with lots of land. So they kill them by the millions and take their land.

Guess the word genocide wasnt concocted back then.

Faisal Bhai, Sorry yaar - naashta nahin khaya so am not thinking rationally. i understand what that means in Urdu/English, but - what are you trying to imply? honestly confused :frowning: Do you mean to imply that i worry too much? Thanks in advance for the clarification. :flower1:

:~( So true, cHEeGUm.

Well, the thing is that in every little thing you figure out a way that angers you, distresses you or makes you sad. And interestingly these emotions can be on behalf of anyone ranging from aboriginals to jews to blacks to muslims or whoever. So much pain, anger and sadness doesn’t bode too well for living a happy and peaceful life. It does, however, points to an amazing career as a writer of tragic stories. Cheer up, sometimes :slight_smile:

Originally posted by Faisal: *
Well, the thing is that in every little thing you figure out a way that angers you, distresses you or makes you sad. And interestingly these emotions can be on behalf of anyone ranging from aboriginals to jews to blacks to muslims or whoever. So much pain, anger and sadness doesn't bode too well for living a happy and peaceful life. **It does, however, points to an amazing career as a writer of tragic stories.
* Cheer up, sometimes : )

Atleast i've found my calling! :D

hmmmmmmmm. Unfortunately, you have a valid point.

An Indian will always be an Indian to a Canadian.

Well at least to the west. I'm not to sure how many Indians there are in the East, but in the West there is plenty of them.

Apparently all the Caucasian's have lost hope for them. I too know they have no future for them. They get free education and never utilize it, and the reason for Winnipeg being one of the biggest crime cities in Canada is because of the "natives". They live off of Welfare, where there are plenty of jobs available. Infact, the amount of hard work they put into boozing, and beating their wives and kids, if they put that much effort into work.. they'd become really successful!

Now I know this topic is not to be against them, but for them, yet I'm sorry.. the truth had to come out.

By the term "our land", it means everyone's land. It was their land, but now we all share it.

Canada takes good care of its aborigines. In fact aborigines in India (you didn't know they existed did you?) live far worse lives than Canadian aborigines. They pay no taxes and have gotten huge land claims settlements. But if they wanted to sniff glue and get hammered every day with truckloads of beer, what can we do?