ARY - worth it ?

This is a serious question. I am thinking of getting dish network hooked up so that I can watch ARY. Now the question is, from all of you that already have ARY, is it worth getting ? I mean I saw clips of it in Canada at a friends house and I was not completely impressed. But then again it had JUST been introduced in Canada.

So, is it worth it ? With all its programming and shows…

In the long run, is it a good channel to get ? Should I install a dish just for it ? I get all the american channels already on cable right now.

I like it. They show some good dramas .... definitely better than PTV. If you get Dishnetwork, you'll get all the desi channels.

If you have 2 to 3 hours to spend in the front of TV then its a good deal. They have quiet a good sitcoms. Some of the comedy programs are really good, others are just time pass. Azaan, Religous programs, Cricket, News and current affairs are plus.

For busy ppl who hardly get 30 minutes in their daily routine, its a waste of money.

it is a pretty good channel. By the way, what is wrong with GEO programming. Their timing is all screwed up. Does anyone know what is going on.

I have no other Pakistani channel available except for ARY.

Overall, it's good. However, what I hate most about it is the length of the dramas. Each episode is roughly about 15-18 (max 20) minutes long.

I would say its worth it.

Its relative. It depends on what you think is quality programming. I mean, ARY and GEO are both top of the line. (So is INDUS, but they're just not expanding for some reason).

Relative to PTV or Prime TV - its better.

Relative to normal American programming - I think its better.

Relative to HBO, Showtime, Cinemax, etc... - here, I would draw the line. Although, ARY is certainly more "clean".

Is it worth it?

A definite YES from me!

It depends on what you like to watch, and how much time you have on hand :)

Currently they have a few good plays on. the only one I can keep up with is Kya Yehi Pyaar hai. If you think you'll have 2 hours to spare at night then it might be worth your money. The dramas are only 20 mins long and sometimes they stop showing the drama toward the end so you miss out on the ending (stupid idiots!) For example, I was watching Cocktail on Fridays but now they are not showing it anymore. So it is a bummer because they'll start and stop showing dramas whenever they feel like it.

They have decent fashion related shows like Colors and Line of Style. They recently started ARY 7 where they countdown top 7 something or another related to entertainment and it is a fun show to watch.
Sometimes they'll put on good musical shows or long plays at night if you're an insomniac :)

*Originally posted by Atlanta: *
it is a pretty good channel. By the way, what is wrong with GEO programming. Their timing is all screwed up. Does anyone know what is going on.

Yes I'm so sick and tired of Geo at the moment. 2 hours of back to back news! It feels like I'm watching desi CNN. Even when they switch over to the new 'US' schedule which is up on their website but not currently working, it looks quite blah. The plays they are running right now are quite yawn worthy.