ARY showing Pak vs. Eng and Pak vs. India in US

Yahoooooo… they showing both series in US.. i saw the ads yesterday on ARY…

Re: ARY showing Pak vs. Eng and Pak vs. India in US

ARY is showing the matches but the areas covered by their broadcast is still unknown. I highly doubt Dish will let them air the matches in US.

i dont think they're showing the matches in the u.s since dish has the rights to all pak matches in pak until 2008 or something

For some reason, ARY people are showing the ad in USA but as we have discussed already that Dish Network has already acquired the rights to show Pakistani home matches till 2008. That means that ARY will be showing those matches in other parts of the world but not in USA. I have been purchasing all cricket PPV events in USA from Dish for the past 3 years and during this period alot of matches were shown on ARY in different parts of the world but not in USA. The reason is that ARY channel is a part of International programming of dish network therefore if Dish PPV is showing an event, no other channel which can be seen on Dish network like ARY, GEO, ZEE or SONY can show the matches since they are part of Dish network in USA. Now it is possible that some other satellite network like Direct TV can show the matches as well but that also depends on Dish network. If Dish has got exclusive rights than no other satellite network can show it. The bottoom line is that ARY will not be showing matches in USA.

^ for 3 years.. .i think i saw two paki series within last yr...

one in aby dhabi and the other i can't remember..

where does it say that dish has exclusive rights to the games?

Man if they are showing that would be awsome. But it sounds too good to be true.
-Salman

The reason Dish says it has acquired rights of all matches being played in Pakistan because ARY normally gets those and since ARY in USA is being shown through Dish so dish will not let ARY show these matches instead Dish itself show it through PPV. ARY will be showing all the matches but they will switch their transmission to normal programming when the time come to show these matches. The only time ARY was able to show a proper cricket series when they first started their programming in USA and that was the only time Dish allowed ARY to show a proper series of cricket.

ARY may show small series of Pakistan such as when Australia A coming to play in Pakistan since those matches does not attract a lot of audiance so Dish let these kinda matches broadcast by the normal channels, like the recently played Afro-Asian series which was shown by Zee in USA.

I hope I am wrong if ARY could show the up coming matches. I think they are advertising so people could go ahead and subscribe to their channel. Specially I doubt they will show Indian tour of Pakistan cuz thats where the big bucks are and Dish will be able to cover their whole budget for the year of 2006 by showing just that series.

2003: World cup, Pakistan versus England ODI series, Pakistan versus South Africa in Pakistan, Pakistan vs NZ in Pakistan, India vs Australia in Australia

2004: Pakistan versus NZ in newzealand, Pakistan versus India in Pakistan, VideoCon cup in Holland, ICC champions trophy, Pakistan versus Srilanka in Pakistan including the trinangular series,

2005: Pakistan versus India in India

These are the series I watched on Dish PPV. More than 50% of the matches were shown on ARY in different parts of the world. But not in USA since dishnetwork had the rights.
Before ordering the 2004 Indo Pak series I asked Dish network customer service rep that why ARY is not showing the cricket and instead showing its regular programming when it has got the official rights to show it every where. His response was that I have no idea who got the exclusive rights in other countries but as far as USA is concerned we have got the exclusive rights.
So my friend this is coming from someone who has experienced the dishnetwork monopoly in USA. Have you ever seen Dish PPV telecasting a cricket match and at the same time its partner international channels also showing it. I repeat any channel whether it is ARY, ZEE, SONY , GEO cannot show cricket if the same match will be shown by Dish PPV, because they all are part of Dish International channel package. There were two instances when SONY and ARY showed a big cricket event. ARY showed Asia cup because Dish PPV was not showing it. Zee showed Srilanka versus South Africa series last year and again DIsh PPV was not showing it.
It doesn’t matter if they have exclusive rights or not. As long as Dish PPV is showing something there partner channels WILL NOT be showing it. But yes in such a case Direct TV can show the matches as well if Dish hasn’t got the exclusive rights. And if Dish has got the exclusive rights, than forget ARY, even direct TV cannot show the matches. And i personally think that Dish has got the exclusive rights for Pakistan cricket till 2008.

Actually Iam hoping ARY does not show commercial loaded transmissio of cricket. I rather pay a few bucks to Dish and get uncut feed of the matches. It's so much fun viewing coverage when the commentators think they are not on yet.

Yaar in that case can I move my reciever to your account and you can pay few more bucks and I will get to watch it too :wink: or I can pay you the half.

Dream on and dont wake me up :frowning:

Good idea, but won’t work. Dish PPV transmissions are primary receiver only.

fkhan2 ... i get it now... but ARY ads sounded really convincing... anyway,, i will go dream on
decent bhai.. sorry for the gustakhi...

funguy... few bucks ? how much do u think pak v england tour would go for.. r the rates out yet.

teaser.. i agree... ARY is using ppl like me :( to get them customers ...

do din se mein jis ko bhi bata rah hoon, woh mujh par hans rah hai

Genius bro, reason for explaining all that was to make you understand the monopoly of Dish in USA. I understand your excitement since I also use to feel the same in the begining, hoping that ARY will be covering cricket events in usa. Specially when they showed Asia cup but that was just to attract subscribers.
I think Pakistan England series will be for $199 (atleast)

I know but I was just commenting on funguy’s “few bucks” :wink: