~! Ary and Geo, thieves?

Re: ~! Ary and Geo, thieves?

Or we just call it as it is. And maybe that pisses people off. :halo:

yeh i like geo too:D

its all about getting even, cres probly has stepped on toes.

^ Truth is bitter, what can you do? :D You can't justify whats wrong. Simple. Like Hum Hain has mentioned.

lol youre lucky youre not following up some of the new stuff in the pakistani scene, if you thought the past was bad, you should see some of the new kachra coming out these days!

I heard that in some tv show they have regressed to nudity. Is that true? Sexual themes?

yaar but I dont give religuous bhashans :)

I did not cancel ary and geo for ppl wearing revealing clothes, but because they cant stick to a schedule and the programming sucks.

like that jackass in "chup chupa kay" now really,..thats a pathetic show, but last I checked it was still running, or the dramas with overacting to the max.

Fraudia bhai, we all know you still subscribe to GEO for one Nida Fatima (or Nida Sameer, she is married now, samjhay aap :o ? ).

haan baat toh yeh bhi duras hai

PS: who is this khatoon anyways...maybe i need to get geo again. but you ahve to convince me its worth the monthy fees :D

15 bucks, a hot but married newswoman, and wife ke jootay on your rear end. Potentially a heroic tale, but please decide on your own, Fraudia bhai :o .

well..yes i agree with the person who said something about the umricans not watching ary or geo...so it's okay to use it..granted it's illegal but hello we're forgetting those are Pakistan based broadcasting Corp....and those really annoying dramas..like the bachelor one..whatever that was...the music for that..seemed stolen..dont think they got the copyright..umricans dont watch it...so alls good...anyway i remember they used music from some pop song for a promo on one of those shows like 50 mins or something...will write the name when i remember..it's on often

oh ho newswomen, i thought dancer popstar etc.
no in that case hot or not hot its not worth it.
That money is better spent on spice

it will b a case of copyright infringment ONLY in us (if they watch dat program> and saw some how it damaged blade)...in pak lol...i doubt ...sub chalta hai :D

not true.

and thats why pakistan is in the state it is..because..."sab chalta hai"

is there actually any reason to believe that they do rip off music without paying for it or is it just a bias against Pakistani companies. Geo and ARY both seem pretty professional, and even mid-level software companies in pak only use non-pirated software for development work. No reason to suppose that an elite media group would be less professional just cause theyre in Pakistan.

ARY operates out of Dubai, GEO has broadcast offices in London, and they'd get their asses kicked very quickly if they did stuff blatantly out of the norm of the media industry. IP enforcers go after college students and grandmas, so its not exactly the case that GEO is small fish.

ravage, first someone has to catch it. They have to be aware of it.

as I have said for years, anyone from alamgir, to tehsin javed to vital signs has tolen music, it can be proven very easily, same goes for bollywood movies and their songs. I know for a fact that Vital signs did not have permission to use red red wine or feels like heaven or airwolf music or samples in their songs, and I doubt highly the alamgir permission from ABBA to use their music in is song "mein nay toh dekha tha"

yet the pakistani and bollywood artists go to UK and US and perform, those movies are shown in cinemas in these countries. no one does anything..

If i was a lawyer I would approach all these groups nd tell em u need to do nothing and just sit back, and allow m to sue these folks on your behalf and see where it goes :)

if they are using music etc then i believe even if they have permission they have t note the artist and all in the credits.

Next time take a look at ARY and Geo programs and see if yoy see it.

and as far as ARY and GEO seeming professional, anyone recall the announcement from ARY that was full of typos? taping was 'tapping' the announcer mispronounced half the words ... and they had it run for months.

theres a difference between musicians ripping off music and ary/geo using music without permission. I dont think VS singing a song that sounded like red red wine is copyright infringement. Its unethical, but I dont believe its illegal.

Movies are ripped off story-wise in US too, that isnt illegal.

Rahi baat production values ki, I didnt mean those when I said seem to be professional, even though those arent that bad either. As a whole, as companies in terms of organization and heirarchy theyre probably amongst the biggest and most professionally run in Pak. And given that even mid-level companies in Pakistan esp with a market abroad now adhere to IP laws based on my experience I dont believe they would do anything blatantly illegal like that.

I see lots of shows on American TV where artists arent credited in the end. I know this because I frequently have to end up googling to find out who sung bits and pieces of the soundtrack, so that isnt really an automatic indication of stealing.

They may cut corners and get away with whatever they can get away with. If you were a lawyer I dont think you'd be able to convict them of copyright infringement. But if you were a lawyer you would atleast agree that one cant judge on the basis of conjecture.

ya i know....but since as i said pk may sub chalta hai (ironically) so prolly they wont do after they find out that might get into trouble in US (especially when they do promotion in us)

of course it is illegal, artists have been sued left right and center for using other artists work without permission. royalty is due to original arists if their work is used for any commercial purpose.

I did not mean movies, but music used for songs in those movies, to illustrate that just because something that is ripped off is not pursued for legal action does not mean it is allowed.

legally then they are supposed to list the source when teh credits roll up, why do you think US shows do it?

examples?

you can convict them of unautjorized use and failure to provide credits etc.

I am not too familiar with copyright rules regarding music and movies etc.

For commercial copyright protection (patents on engineering products etc), the copyright has to be registered in a country before it can be enforced there. Similarly Trademarks have to be registered before enforcement can take place. I am guessing that no one from Universal Studios, or Sony or Paramount etc bother to register their copyrights in Pakistan. If that were the case, at best its immoral, but I wouldn't go so far as to call it illegal. Then again, as I said before I am not an expert in the copyright field, and it could be tht entertainment related copyrights do not need to be registered at all and can just be enforced through a lawsuit.