Artists will Burn in Hell?

Apparently some hadith says this? Weak, sahih, fabricated - how do we classify this one O Muftis of GS?

Re: Artists will Burn in Hell?

Volume 3, Book 34, Number 318:

Narrated Aisha:

(mother of the faithful believers) I bought a cushion with pictures on it. When Allah's Apostle saw it, he kept standing at the door and did not enter the house. I noticed the sign of disgust on his face, so I said, "O Allah's Apostle! I repent to Allah and H is Apostle . (Please let me know) what sin I have done." Allah's Apostle said, "What about this cushion?" I replied, "I bought it for you to sit and recline on." Allah's Apostle said,** "The painters (i.e. owners) of these pictures will be punished on the Day of Resurrection. It will be said to them, 'Put life in what you have created (i.e. painted).' " The Prophet added, "The angels do not enter a house where there are pictures." **

**Volume 8, Book 73, Number 130: **

Narrated 'Aisha:

The Prophet entered upon me while there was a curtain having pictures (of animals) in the house. His face got red with anger, and then he got hold of the curtain and tore it into pieces. The Prophet said, "Such people as paint these pictures will receive the severest punishment on the Day of Resurrection ."

**Volume 7, Book 72, Number 834: **

Narrated Muslim:

We were with Masruq at the house of Yasar bin Numair. Masruq saw pictures on his terrace and said, "I heard 'Abdullah saying that he heard the Prophet saying, "The people who will receive the severest punishment from Allah will be the picture makers.'"

There you go, all of these ahadeeth are Sahih (Authentic) and from Bukhari.

3 fatwas on this topic that generally argue that these hadiths have a specific context to be taken in :

http://www.islamonline.net/fatwa/english/FatwaDisplay.asp?hFatwaID=118845

http://www.islamonline.net/fatwa/english/FatwaDisplay.asp?hFatwaID=83223

http://www.islamonline.net/fatwa/english/FatwaDisplay.asp?hFatwaID=90175

One thing that I’ve always wandered about is that with regard to the prohibition on statues, most scholars agree that despite the prohibition on statues, since there are hadiths that Bibi Ayesha (ra) used to play with dolls, all statues are forbidden except children’s toys.

But what about adult toys? No , I don’t mean anything dirty, but I play board games where you move military units around maps and fight. An example of this is the game Risk. In such games, tiny models of soldiers are used to represent military units.

Even though these are toys, are they still haraam given that generally the people who play with them are no longer children?

Here’s an example from the internet of what I mean

[thumb=H]risk%20j1%20s6283_4964945.JPG[/thumb]

Thanks for those links Maddie - they really show you the whole picture.

If its BS, why do you even have to bring it up?

I gave other options to categorize it, like sahih. :) I see you are picky and choosy in what you read.

omg .. m gona burn in helll ???????????

p/s: like i didnt know that lol

My brother its best not to joke of such things…

acha sry bhai saaab .

p/s: waisey mien ne moo mien ASTEGFIRULLAH keh dya tha lol :stuck_out_tongue:

I am such a good natural artist but I do not intend to draw or paint anything wrong ever.

Right but if you draw a piccy of the mullah in power, then you’re somehow in the clear :k:

:rolleyes:

cute witch what do u intend to draw, kindly share.

^ Hm, that better be a sincere request...

are we 100% sure that these hadiths have not been changed over time, . We know the quran is authentic but are the hadith's still the same?? I'm not so sure.

amazed how musims tend to look upon the Sahih ahadeeth, with suspicion....solely becuase of their whims and desires.

So..technically..taking pictures of anything is haraam right?

No, it's not haraam. Check the fatwas I linked to.

Creating pictures and taking pictures, many scholars classify as two different things. Creating pictures, many hold the view is forbidden unless it happens to be for educational purposes, whereas taking pictures for memory and not for the purpose of venerating people is permissible.

Again different people and scholars have different views.

‘Artist’ is a very broad term, the posters are concentrating on ‘Painters’ :konfused:

Muslims take great honor in quoting many ‘Artists’ like Rumi, Allama Iqbal, Bulhey Shah

similarly they respect painters like ‘Saadiqain’

In addition, many are of the opinion that drawing living beings with souls are forbidden (such as humans). Everything else such as inanimate objects, and other living beings such as plants and the like are acceptable.