artists lifting music- sampling- stealing

TYhis topic started in the Vital signs thread but i thought to create a separate thread to discuss, and even inventory desi and non desi songs that have copied music.

Vital signs have lifted

from air wolf extended theme for dil dil pakistan,
from red red wine by UB40 for their song “samjhana”
from “feels like heaven” by fiction factory for the song “naraz tum”

This is not a practice limited to desi artists, but it does not mean it is not wrong…artists who have used other people’s work have been sued, have paid rotalties or made soem arrangements.

Case in point, Vanilla Ice basically lifting music from “under pressure” by Queen and Bowie, for his sone “ice ice baby” It is a different thing if someone has secured artist permission to either sample their music, or re-make their song or whatever. going back to bands like PM Dawm who used music from Spandau Ballet’s song “true”

P diddy, has copied lyrics in his “ben around the world” from Lisa stansfield, and the music in the background is “lets Dance” from david Bowie…recently there was some song “it’s gonna be allright” which had Clash’s “rock the casbah” music.

But they either get artists permission or get sued. Here are some right and wrong ways to do it..sadly VS took the wrong way, they were kids then..fine, but they should have the artist integrity to admit that they lifted music back then.

Any sample is a copy so permission must be sought in order to use it- some people might say that ‘if you can recognise a separate work within another then an infringement has been committed’ or ‘its not quantity but quality’. The fact that any sample must be paid for is thought to be so crucial that at Polygram there is a whole department whose job is to listen to records to check for unlicensed James Brown samples.

P.M. Dawn obtained permission from Spandau Ballet to use samples from ‘True’, which helped them make their song ‘Set Adrift On A Memory Bliss’. Spandau Ballet even helped promote it. The music for the P.M. Dawn song was very similar to the original and instantly recognisable, as the main samples were a couple of bars repeated and arranged into a new sequence, so if a licence had not been obtained an infringement would certainly have been committed. The details of the licence meant that P.M. Dawn had to split the royalties/ earnings with Spandau Ballet 50%/50% . In the process the original ‘True’ was re-released and was a hit a second time around. Everybody was happy but things aren’t always this simple or easy.

De La Soul’s first single ‘Plug Tuning’ sampled Liberacé which did not cause much of a problem, probably as it made very little money, but when they sampled Hall and Oates on ‘Say No Go’ and the song became a hit they encountered a law suit, and worse, at the end of 1989 the Turtles sued for $1.1 million for the use of an unlicensed sample from their 1969 single ‘You Showed Me.’. However the case was settled out of court for a figure ‘rumoured to be in the low five figures’.

Biz Markie and his record label Warner Bros. Inc./ Cold Chillin’ were cited for violation of US copyright laws and he was condemned for his use of an eight bar sample from Gilbert O’Sullivans 1972 song ‘Alone Again (Naturally)’ as well as the titled refrain, (published by Grand Royal Music).

Again in 1990 both MC Hammer and Vanilla Ice released records. MC Hammer sampled’ Superfreak’ after obtaining a licence and although he had to pay out a large but undisclosed amount of expenses to the original artist, the record was a hit and he encountered no problems.

Vanilla Ice however sampled the most identifiable riffs from David Bowie and Queen’s song ‘Under Pressure’ for his only hit from his LP entitled ‘In The Extreme’. The samples however were not licensed or even credited. As it is generally accepted that readily identifiable riffs or hooks in a song are what generates the sales, the similarity of Vanilla’s track to the original would lead it to compete directly. The case never went to trial, although it is believed that after a threatened law suit from ‘Under Pressure’s’ copyright owners Vanilla Ice settled out of court for an undisclosed sum.

In early eighties Kraftwerk sued Afrika Bambataa for sampling a drum beat.

In November 1992 Redman was taken to court by Bridgeport Music for sampling from the Clinton/ Parliament/ Funkadelic back catalogue without permission.

Big artists such as Marly Marl and L.L. Cool J. have been challenged for sampling ‘Rappers Beware’ an old drum track

Michael Jackson has been in trouble for sampling 67 seconds of the Cleveland Orchestra’s rendition of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony.

A Tribe Called Quest supposedly had to give over 100% of their copyright in a deal negotiated with Lou Reed after the release of their single ‘Can I Kick It?’ when they sampled the bass line from his single ’ Walk On The Wild Side’.

In the UK a band called ‘Shut Up and Dance’ (comprised of two members- PJ and Smiley), and their small independent record label of the same name were put out of business by excessive fines after having been found guilty of using a sample from Mark Owens’ 1974 hit single ‘Walking in Memphis’ in their 1994 single ‘Raving, I’m Raving’ without first gaining clearance.

Some of the artists sampled included Suzanne Vega and Prince, and Shut Up and Dance were made to pay for every one. As is often the situation in these cases the final settlement was made out of court and the sum involved remains undisclosed.

In 1964, Roy Orbison and William Dees wrote the rock ballad ‘Oh, Pretty Woman’, which in 1989 The 2 Live Crew sampled as a basis to construct their own song.

here is an interesting link, talkign about what killed verve’s bitter sweet symphony proceeds along with some other xamples.

sean combes..puff daddy- p -diddy is noted as well.

http://www.phoenixnewtimes.com/issues/1998-04-16/music3.html

Sample clearance houses, such as Diamond Time and Sample Clearance Ltd. are in the business of obtaining legally binding copyright clearances for their clients. When a label or sampling artist submits a tape of sampled works, these companies spend two to three weeks investigating and confirming writers, publishers and owners of the original work and master recordings. Once contacts are established, the company will then began negotiating terms for fees to be paid–one for publishing and another for use of the master. Of course, there is a substantial fee for these services on top of all that.

Geoff Barrow, the mastermind behind the trip-hop duo Portishead, is also considerate of the source. The group’s hit “Sour Times” borrows nearly as much from Lalo Shifrin’s “Danube Incident” as Will Smith’s “Gettin’ Jiggy Wit It” takes from Sister Sledge’s “He’s the Greatest Dancer.” The difference here is knowing musical history rather than just being doomed to repeat it. The artistic difference between these two examples is like comparing the popularity of Nagels to Basquiat.

Mike Simpson, one half of the production duo known as the Dust Brothers (Beastie Boys, Beck), understands this well. He explains, “We really feel like we’re creating new works, and a lot of people out there sampling, especially in the rap world, aren’t creating new works. They’re basically putting new lyrics to another person’s song.”

Simpson is undoubtedly speaking about Combes, the king of blatant sampling. The businessman turned rapper enjoys quadruple-platinum sales but gets much criticism for his lack of originality. If music sampling is a Garden of Eden–filled with temptations–then Combes has embodied sin by swallowing the apple whole. Combes helps himself to entire song loops and choruses like a customer obtaining self-service copies at Kinko’s. Combes’ takes of previous hits are so carbon-copy that if you listen hard enough to the original, you can still hear his voice. Prophets of pop predict that eventually Combes will pay a different sort of price for his sampling. Of course, financially, he can actually afford to surrender 75 percent or more of his publishing to the original artists. Mo’ money–no problems with clearances.

At least he admits it. The Verve copped a sample and then an attitude when the whole thing blew up in its face last year. The group’s hit song “Bitter Sweet Symphony” contains a four-bar loop of an orchestral version of the Rolling Stones’ song “The Last Time.” ABCKO Music owns 100 percent of the publishing rights and denied clearance, stopping the single’s release dead in its tracks. Only after 50 percent shares were negotiated for both Keith Richards and Mick Jagger was the single released.

Verve front man Richard Ashcroft admitted that he rushed home to sample it, but arrogantly proclaims, “We sampled four bars and we put that on one track and laid down 47 tracks of music beyond that little piece. We’re talking a four-bar sample turning into ‘Bitter Sweet Symphony’–and they’re still claiming it’s the same song.” Apparently, the pissed and percentageless Ashcroft bought into one of sampling’s biggest myths: “It’s okay if you only take a few bars.”

same goes for quentin tarrantino, that big fake..lifts entire scenes, camera angles and all from John Woo's city of fire. reservoir dogs completely copied it..

Someone here pointed out that last years famous channo song was also lifted...

Fraudia bhai, are you keeping a log book or do you remember all of that from your memory?

spock..I am a music buff, so much of it i remember.
Once this memory helped me win a major bet when i said that modern rap owes more to Kraftwerk than africa bambata, soemone challenged me and i proved that africa bambata had lifted kraftwerk's music.

I already mentioned that tehsin javed's "dilber jan e munn" is a total copy of an old turkish song..and then lamagir copied Abba in " mein to dekha tha"

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
same goes for quentin tarrantino, that big fake..lifts entire scenes, camera angles and all from John Woo's city of fire. reservoir dogs completely copied it..

Tarantino's Kill Bill also had Thurmann dressed in a yellow tracksuit which was a replica of Bruce Lee's scene in Game of Death. He's well known to rip off Honk Kong's martial arts films and doesn't make any secret of it.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *

Tarantino's Kill Bill also had Thurmann dressed in a yellow tracksuit which was a replica of Bruce Lee's scene in Game of Death. He's well known to rip off Honk Kong's martial arts films and doesn't make any secret of it.

Yeha, I wont say its a rip off, he said he did that to pay tribute to Bruce Lee. There is alot of other stuff that can be related to other movies. Thats simply Tarentino.

Well he ‘pays tribute’ in a lot of his films then :hehe:

I’m not knocking the guys work, he has his own talent, I’m just pointing out that he does a lot of stuff directly from other films.

I dont think the intention is lifting though. The theme of Kill Bill was taken from Star Trek 6 (revenge is a dish best served cold), and I know hes a big trekkie too. The Hatari Hanzo thing was another one. I just remembered, there was an exact bollywood replica of reservoir dogs too! Cant remember the name.

kill bill may be a diff thing, but reservoiur dogs.. he has used the same camera angles, if u play both movies, his and woo's side by side for these scenes, you will see what I mean.

as far as boillywood copying stuff..there was a movie i saw in the 90's.. aatish with sunjay dutt, where him and some other guy start a fire in a warehouse and then try to outrun it, this was lifted from a sean penn movie..but i dont remember the sean penn movie title right now.

Re: artists lifting music- sampling- stealing

TYhis topic started in the Vital signs thread but i thought to create a separate thread to discuss, and even inventory desi and non desi songs that have copied music.

Vital signs have lifted

from air wolf extended theme for dil dil pakistan,
from red red wine by UB40 for their song “samjhana”
from “feels like heaven” by fiction factory for the song “naraz tum”

This is not a practice limited to desi artists, but it does not mean it is not wrong…artists who have used other people’s work have been sued, have paid rotalties or made soem arrangements.

:smooth: Good job Fraudia,lifting should be Haram b’cuz some’s 1 hard work is being ruined for cheap stuffs and day R even being rewarded for it 2, :lahol:

lifting is one thing.. (think Anu Malik) and inspiration is another... Most of the 'originals' being copied today were themself 'inspiratoinal liftings' of 50's songs .. mostly done by black bands or solos... so i guess every few years one can get 'inspired'.

BabaG

but if one lifts, they should give the credit where its due. I mean as i noted earlier the proper way is to get the artists permission. we have people who have just lifted it.

There was a bollywood movie last year where the entire lobby shootout scene was carbon-copied from the Matrix. And this was supposedly a comedy. I had to see it to believe it!

permission/acknowledgement ka zamana kab ka guzar gaya hai bhai. It's all about who can 're-create' the magic the best.

I agree about Kill Bill though, the yellow jumpsuit was more of a 'tribute' to Bruce Lee than a chaapa.

..there was a movie i saw in the 90's.. aatish with sunjay dutt, where him and some other guy start a fire in a warehouse and then try to outrun it, this was lifted from a sean penn movie..but i dont remember the sean penn movie title right now.

Colors?

Recently,a guy called DJ Danger Mouse released a ‘grey album’ by combining & remixing Beatles’ White Album and rapper Jay-Z’s Black Album. He and others who host his songs are now getting letters from music labels.

Read More

DK

hadiqa kiani also copied matrix in one of her videos :)

anyways, the only reason desi artists dont get in trouble is because they are under the radar and the sorry state of copy right laws and enforcement in pak to begin with, or the entire region really.

Here people get caught, and when they do, they have to pay up. whether they settle out of court or get sued for proceeds from the label..vanilla ice and verve respectively.

Payouts are justified and a-ok. But somewhere, the appreciation of 'intellectual property' or 'artistic expression' lost a bit of meaning. "If you get famous or start swimming in the green by stealing my tune, I gonna sure ur azz". Which is probably fine.

On the flip side, if an upcoming artiste from Cali samples or gets inspired by tunes from Karachi, Kinshasha or Kuala Lampur, what are the chances he's gonna be consulting his lawyers anytime soon? Are the policies and laws even in place?

Big names like Madonna, Peter Gabriel et al will experience a rekindled spirit after a journey down mysterious Asia. But they'll prolly acknowledge their influences.

What of DJ Joe McWannabe though? Would it really matter if he did a quick copy-remix-paste off some big dawg's track from a wastebasket country somehwhere.