ART of 21st CENTURY BEGGING

I see some dumb ass holes keeps on thanking countries who helped in earthquake disaster. Is it necessary to show people that we only survive on begging and khairat from rich countries? These posts looks like “Jo dey us ka bhi bhalla jo na day us ka bhi bhalla”. Moderator keeps on encouraging these beggars’ posts showed how average paki’s self esteem has gone down the gutter. It also looks like as Pakis always look for khairaat even marketing the disasters like that. But these aids rarely reached to the needy people and it had always filled the fat asses and bellies of who so ever propagate and control such khairaat.

One upon a time when East Pakistan was part of Pakistan, when ever flood disaster even more severe than this earth quake came which resulted loss of many thousand lives and property, Bengalis always look for help from West Pakistanis as it controlled finances of East Pakistan. West Pakis always cursed these poor Bengalis and said that beggars had again an excuse for khairaat from so called rich West Pakis.

For this double standard “Sharam Tum ko Magar Nahi Aaati”

FARID

Re: ART of 21st CENTURY BEGGING

Farid ji, I think the whole purpose of starting a new thread whenever a country makes a donation to the victims of earthquake in Pakistan is show to the people that we appreciate their help in this time of need, and that their efforts have not gone unnoticed among Pakistanis. As far as the comment goes that its a khairat, quite frankly in these kinda situations it makes it almost impossible for any country to cope with the damage. To give you an example, here in the U.S. when hundreds and thousands of ppl lost their houses, and had nothing to eat, it was the donations from American public and from the foreign countries which helped eased the situation and took off burden from the American government. Every country goes through tough times and Pakistan is no exception. Pakistan has a history of helping other countries out at their time of need, and unfortunately today we are at the recieving end. As far as the corruption issue is concerned, the current administration is known to have the lowest rate of corruption in Pakistan.

I agree with you. But has any country acknowledged its help and thanked? Image of average pakis would not change in the eyes of Americans or Saudis by such un-necessary gestures. It only showed that Pakis hands are always out for help or Khairat. And later on how this khairat would be misused. Perhaps you were not born, milk or other food came through US Aid for poor children was sold in open market who controlled the Khairat. People are same except the faces have changed with more greed.

FARID

I am sure many Pakistanis are pleased that NS, BB, or Mr. 10% (or is it 20% due to inflation) are not in power.

I believe, somehow, with all the world’s eyes on Pakistan, the distribution of aid (donated money) will be transparent - well, at least that’s what the Pakistani leader has said.

I have a feeling that Pakistan will emerge as a better nation after this disaster. People (read Pakistani leaders) have now realised what the priorities are for the nation.

Let’s just hope the Pakistani leadership is indeed sincere and concentrates on redevelopment of Pakistan rather than on one-upmanship over its neighbours.

My best wishes and prayers are with all the Pakistanis that have suffered due to this unprecedented disaster.

Good Luck and god bless you all.

Aalsi thank u for your kind sentiments, I urge you to donate as much as you can to help save the lives of the ppl who need help due to this disaster, pick a charity of your choice. Thank You and God Bless.

In fact humans are the only living entity on the planet who help the ailing livings.

So this Farid must make it clear what is his make, if not human.

Ps, Farid, do me a favor! Go to Islamabad. Stand up in the central square and shout whatever you have written.

Frauds, donations are ongoing, and many people I know have set-up standing orders for various charitable organisations.

merci mon ami

Farid you can't be more wrong. Appreciation of incoming aid doesn't equal greediness for more 'khairat', this is not under normal circumstances but after a huge disaster which has displaced millions of people. If you can't donate or be thankful to those who are donating then atleast do humanity a favor and shutup. Your response is worse than Qazi Hussein Ahmad who wanted govt to reject the initial US aid of $100,000 as 'peanuts', now that is greediness. People like Qazi need their holes filled with peanuts.

^^ Just ignore Farid. He is just a little pipsqueak implanted in one of the UK aloo stores.

Farid, didnt expect this from you, I thought you had reason and logic in your criticism, but this one thread was enought o change my mind bro...

Showing gratitude is a sign of civilized society :slight_smile: Not that I claim that Pakistanis are completely civilized but something is better thant nothing :k:

But as according to you saying thanks = begging

Which is totally wrong. I agree there were thread about * they should help more * they (countries) should donate more money OR ‘Why america /Britain donated small amounts’ which IMO were in bad taste. Pakistan needed technical/logistical help from around the world, to supliment Army’s efforts in relief and rescue efforts…Just the way Pakistan provided this support during quake in Iran, Turkey and Tsunami

For money we have our PAkistani brothers and sisters with compasion and big heart. They have shown that whole nation is with the people of AJK and NWFP. Thousands of volunteers doctors, engineers paramedic Artists and students have flock to devastated areas to help their brothers and sisters. That is unprecedented :jhanda:

Farid Ji just give you an example, Pakistan don't have enough Tents to supply, if UK team would not have come, german team would not have been there, Japanese team wouldnt have been there, our Pakistan dont have technology or machinery to save those lives.

Your comments are illogical, even power like US asked for help when Katrina hit them, so its not begging. Please please please change your attitude. And thanking is not begging.

While the comments of Farid are in a bad taste, it is imperative that his comments are not taken for what they seem to convey.
It is a matter of fact that most of the donations do not reach the actual needy. If the collected amount is properly channelised a better pakistan can be built. If not the money will go down the drain.
There are hundreds of fake charity institutions which spring up whenever a disaster strikes.
When the earthquake struck Gujarat in India, there were a lot of donations which were collected which just went into the pockets of the babus..
Hence it is very essential that the money is properly channelised..

Nothing wrong in accepting help....it's one of the few good things about humanity these days.

In the past I have been affected by minor floods and I know how diffiult it is even for that minor thing - now imagine plight of people in major catastrophe when even neighbors communities are equally affected and ALL help has to come from outside!

when you look at these from the victims's view, all the ego and politics should be out aside I think.

I can see what you are trying to say about begging but mind you this is not the time to talk about such issues. Right now more than 40,000 people have died and hundered and tousands are badly injured. Right now they need immediate and urgent medical help. This is not the time to show what is self-esteem or not this is the time to give them the help they need badly. Does that make you proud to leave those bodies in the dirt and not ask the countries who are willing to help Pakistan in the time of need?

The East Pakistan example is the key in this issue. There was corruption and racism at that time. People hated Bengalis and most of the time aid wasn’t provided to them in the time of need that created anamosities. I believe there is a stark differnece in that and this administration (or that I hope). They have promised that the process will be transparent and will help the people in need. Hopefully it does because they badly need it. There have been millions of dollars of aid given to Pakistan from governments all across the world and private institutions are doing their part. If the money goes where it ishould then it will definatly make things better for the people affected by the Earthquake.

My message is very simple:

Do not use disasters to get aid and then channeled to some other hidden programs or corruption. This aid should be used 100% for rehabilitation of displaced and grieved families. There must be strict accountability for spending each penny in restoring normalcy in the affected areas.

Who would ensure this in Pakistan? Perhaps none

FARID

This is an intelligent post.
India is famous for corruption and very rare the aid relief reaches the sufferers.
But why does the same happen in an Islamic society?

You are one pessimist dude. On government level, I understand your frustration and sorta agree that some pockets will definitely get overloaded for their next generations and their own luxuries… but sadly there is no avoidance. On private level however, the situation is better and many NGOs have much less overheads compared to government.

cuz the society is not “Islamic” society, rather a society with Muslim majority, muslims are not greatly practising their religion too… now stop criticising.