Art, Music Provoke Islamists on Pakistan Campuses

By Amir Zia

KARACHI, Pakistan (Reuters) - Murtaza Khaliq, a film student at Pakistan’s biggest university in Karachi, produced a music video for his final-year project.

But right-wing Islamic students opposed to holding art shows on campus attacked the graduating student’s year-end exhibition and smashed the computer he had planned to use to screen it.

“My video had no objectionable material. There weren’t even any women in it,” said the frail-looking Khaliq. “They found it offensive because it was a musical video.”

The battle on Pakistan’s campuses between liberal and conservative students mirrors a wider struggle for the soul of Pakistan since it won independence from Britain in 1947.

Many Pakistanis are relatively liberal but the influence of conservative Islamists has grown since an Islamization campaign by military ruler General Zia-ul Haq in the 1980s.

Pursuing arts at the University of Karachi, the country’s largest cosmopolitan city, is a risky business.

For years, the powerful Islamist lobby blocked the opening of a fine arts department and it was only in 1999 that courses for select fine arts disciplines, including textile design, film production and architecture, were allowed.

But these courses are constantly scrutinized by Islamists, who abhor music, painting and sculpture and want them off campus.

“Our first challenge is to pursue arts over here,” said Durriya Kazi, chairwoman of the Department of Visual Studies. “Our presence here means that eventually the two sides will have to compromise and start tolerating each other.”

Not just in Karachi, but at other major campuses there have been repeated incidents in which baton-wielding conservatives have imposed their moral values on the majority.

Musical concerts and mixed gatherings remain banned at most state-run institutions and a male student can be beaten just for sitting next to a female.

In the late 1980s, campus violence – including a series of killings and acid attacks on liberal female students – became so bad that authorities deployed paramilitary rangers to ensure academic peace.

The rangers’ presence put an end to the gunfights, but the tension remains.

SELF-CENSORSHIP

Despite considerable self-censorship, students and teachers of the Visual Studies Department say they remain under threat.

The Islamic students who attacked the final-year exhibition in November said it was sacrilege to hold the show during the fasting month of Ramadan.

“Ten to 15 boys stormed in and started throwing computers around,” said textile design student Azeem Rana.

Rana’s computer displayed his textile patterns with soft music in the background; the attackers threw it to the floor and slapped and kicked him.

Tooba Fatima said she and some other students locked themselves in a room to escape the assault. “It was very scary.”

The exhibition reopened the following day, but only after teachers barred all videos and music.

“How can I show my work?” asked Zoheb Anwar, pointing to a couple of sketches he made for a cartoon film which is no longer part of the exhibition. “I am unable to define my ideas.”

The student wing of leading religious party Jamaat-e-Islami was blamed for the attack. Its chairman Noman Ahmed denied they were involved, but implicitly backed the actions of “religiously minded” students who carried out the attack.

“We know that many things on display there were opposed to the country’s Islamic ideology. They should have no place here,” said Ahmed, himself a final-year student in the Mass Communications Department."

“We should promote Islamic arts such as calligraphy. Music, sculpture, or videos, such as one on eunuchs made by a student, should have no place here. We brought the issue to the notice of the registrar, but he took no action.”

Naheed Raza, a leading painter, said only a small minority opposes arts being studied at the universities.

“They use strong-arm tactics to dictate their views,” said Raza, herself under fire by rightwing students for drawing nudes. "They find nudity in everything.

“These are forces of the dark ages who want to destroy arts and science. But they are failing, as privately people are promoting arts despite the opposition.”

link

I wouldn't call them Islamists.. just bullies..

They come in all shape forms and sizes and are on all campuses..where they find enough idiots to join them and get funding from the religious political parties they become the menace they are..

In Punjab University a girl and a guy couldn't sit at the canteen to have a cup of tea together.. cuz the 'bhai jaans' would come preaching and they didn't use words.

Thank God some legs were broken in UET to keep these fundos out of power and funfairs and concerts were organized and all students were able to enjoy themselves.

Times like these i wish the General would show these parties the door..... to AFghanistan.

^^ How about you call them brainwashed, illiterate,, misguided fundamentalists. They are no Islamists, they use Islam for their own personal advancement and nothing else.

I've seen them up close and there is nothing remotely Islamic about them.. unless one guages Islam by the length of hair or ankle high shalwaars. They are thugs and i have also witnessed a few of them changing 'parties' just because they got better funding elsewhere. I know some who are now perfectly 'normal' human beings and are even able to laugh at their stupidities and zeal.

The hardcore ones, yes maybe they are misguided by some misplaced sense of righteousness.. there are many plagued by this disease, but as I said they are exploited by those with bigger agendas.. there are idiots everywhere and they need to be thrown out, cuz just cuz it's "Islamic" gunda gardee doesn't mean it's not '"gunda gardi"

Oh MeraasiyouN ko kitna ghussa aa raha hai. :rotfl:

Times like these i wish the General would show these parties the door..... to AFghanistan.

KiyouN janaab, Pakistan aap ke abba jee ka hai ya General sahib ke abba jee ka???

You have your views about how a perfect society should be and they have theirs and what makes you think your views are any better or more ‘civilised’ than theirs?

^ I agree. If you truly understand Islam, than you would know that we are not supposed to draw sculptures of living things. Islam does promote arts and craft, but there are some restrictions to be followed. Sick minds just want to copy each and every thing the West does.

I agree that there should not be such things promoted, but the way of handling these is wrong. There should be no violence but there should be persuation.

It is true that men and women who are ghair mehrams should not sit together alone. Those who are stopping this are doing the right thing (it is called nahi anil munkar). I might sound like a taliban, but in reality it is true. I would do all this in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan in a very different way (without breaking computers) but I would do it.

Wallah-o-Alam…Although I consider myself a fundo , this action where a student was showing off his talents to what he learnt being beaten, computers broken, people being hit and ridiculed and insulted, a little too strongarm for me…

Jamiat has always been too exertive in its approach to things…

I believe in enforcing modesty in society to prevent corruption, but what a person decides to do in his private is entirely between Allah :swt: and the person…I believe in enforcing Shariah, but never where an innocent, unknowledgable or uninformed is made an example of public ridicule…

I have never really liked Jamiat’s approach to enforcing faith, but then, I have met some very enlightened Jamaatis as well…Who truly want reform in a gentle way…

Jamiat has always had a bad track record of destructiveness…A country where a computer in an institution is a blessing and you go and smash it, is not indicative of a revolutionary mindset…

Now that’s just wrong…In a country which follows a faith in which drawing living objects is not allowed, you proceed by teaching your students nudity? Is that all art is? Nudity? Art can never be complete unless there is pubic region showing the private parts of a human being? How uncreative…

That’s the problem with these ‘neo-modernists’…You give them an arm and they grab your leg…

Except for the other cases, I think this teacher had it coming and deserved not just strong-arm tactics but a hearty chithraul…:bailan:

naheen Dhulfi, Pakistan inn maulviyon kaay abba jee kee jaageer hay.. her kissee koa zabardastee musalamaan banana chahtay hain aur voh bee apnee tarah kaa..

I couldn't care less if they're shoved out to Afghanistan or thrown in the Arabian Sea.. they may even like it there considering their fascination with everything Arab..

Sad. Why do these religious fanatics find wrong in everything that is good. They shun art and sciences.

What is wrong with a student displaying his textile designs on a comp? And about nude portraits.. it is essential if u wanna learn figure drawing. And sculpture does not mean only human figures... sculpture is art which is 3 dimensional. Like.. Picasso's Guitar.. or Maya Lin's Vietnam memorial

bla bla bla…

Religious ‘fanatics’ have nothing against science and education and arts and crafts is allowed too but like someone said there are some restrictions, which have to be followed.

Besides why’s it so necessary to learn figure drawing?

Well.. it is not. If you are planning to get into graphic designing or stuff.. you don;t need to. But if u plan on being a fashion designer or just wanna persuade portrait making etc.. you ought to know it.

And what restrictions are you talking about? You are justifying what these people did?

And yeah.. you know nothing about art.. thus all u see is blah blah

a country can never progress in anything if it doesnt appreciate art and culture. u can only produce so many doctors n so many engineers. lekin kya faida when there wont be many patients left? we need to get into arts, performing arts etc and promote it, encourage it. when will these jahil maulvis learn! stupid ppl use religion to justify their stupid actions.

i call them hooligans, or let's say the Pakistani equivalent of what hooligans are in Europe