Art in daily life

Beauty before me, I walk with.
Beauty behind me, I walk with.
Beauty above me, I walk with.
Beauty below me, I walk with.
Beauty all around me, I walk with.
Navajo Night Chant

Is it possible to see Art when you pass by your bathroom door, the grocery market, or a busy train station. I believe yes. I believe that all these and other places can be just as adoring and impressive to look at as a beautifully painted still life.

How to train your eyes to become sensitive enough to see Art in a daily life scene.. I really don’t know. I guess an open mind, and an admiration for colors shapes and angles is required. In this thread I will take a random picture and try and evaluate them as Art.

I would like others to post a good composed picture they took and let other people/myself critique it. I love how an image of a brick wall can be so many emotions and so many things like, Solid, Strong, Real, Straight forward, Truthful, Together; and at the same time… Waiting for Change, Unhappy, Shy or Weak.

This image of the Roman architecture from 450 BC screams ‘hope’ and ‘continuation’ to me.. This path i believe can’t lead to despair or failure. I happen to have a great fascination for brick floors, a memory of childhood from pakiland, when the trend was to get paved cemented yards over the beautiful earthy red brick with some green mold .. cold to the touch of bare feet.. the sensation that runs straight to the brain.. kind of floors.. I was a child then but i didnt like the gray flat cement that had no character .. this picture takes to that place too where i loved walking over those brick floors..

This kind of a critique is a fun way to realize what your most hidden inner thoughts are.. the ones you are afraid to bring out. It lets these thoughts out without having that fear of you being judged ..
The topic of seeing beauty or Art in everything makes me feel very spritual in a way also, Never do i miss admiring the redish sky at sunset time while driving home from work, with a new color combination of hues and composition of clouds … I look at it as if someone especially painted it just for me… and it is a divine experience..

2 Likes

Re: Surrounded by beauty

I think that some imagination needs to be at work along with some creative sense to see art around you.

Do you really train your eyes for that or you train your mind to look through the norms around you and find a perspective, an angle that has art hidden in it.

And then its up to the artist, how he/she puts it together. I am a big fan of Realistic Art. How some artists present a simple object through colors and angles, sometime blows my mind off.

Here is one example

Re: Art in daily life

^ That is amazing man, no kiddin!

I think personality plays a role too. As you go outside, you will observe things which interest you and your personality more than those which don't. Like for one person, a lake might have more meaning to that person. Hence, he/she will observe lake and take out 100 different meanings. Whereas, another person might be more interested in Trees and similarly, might find tons of meanings hidden in a Tree. That is why our personalities/nature also counts and this is what makes Art unique because everyone sees it through different glasses and discovers a whole new meaning.

Sometimes, driving down a familiar road, you find something new that sparks your imagination. Maybe because the eye of your mind was open, or maybe your thoughts were racing, or maybe you were looking for something. A common mountain peak can give a different message today than it may tomorrow.

It's all in the moment. Finding art in your surrounding is an art in itself.

hin33, tlk and Nemo, thanks for sharing your perspective on art in life. Niksik is right. having ther perception to see art is art itself -the finnesse in a person to apprecaite art with out mis judging it.
art on the walls, in windows, on doors, at door steps, on the serving plates, on carpets, on curtains, on bed sheets, on the furniture, on clothes, jewels arts, and a concept which i call 'thinking aesthetics' are art forms in life. creative arts and performing arts are different. their is more movement in them.

but the pictures follow a rule of 3: how an image cannot be central, but in a fame in the middle, and neither on the side. it enables the on looker to stop being fast in seeing and believing and noting things from a bird's eye view at the same time, with great depth.
art can also be in the way someone acts, picks up a book, drives, asks something and so on and so forth.

best,
Dushwari

Re: Surrounded by beauty

yep very good example .

This bulb to me is a sign of the change into modernity..no more there is the need of oil lamps and candles to take over the darkness.. the electric switch will do it for u . i am not a big fan of the industrial revolution and modern scientific inventions which brought so many of the drawbacks along with them. so this image of the bulb makes me a lil sad ..

:frowning:

acha lekhti ho aap :k:

promise that you will be a regular poster of Rangon Kay Shajar and i will keep writing :slight_smile:

ba khuda humara maqsad naik tha, aap ne ban karwana :( hay to kar dain jee. hum to ihtejaj bhi nahi kar pain ge.

^ Picasso nay quite a century ago hum ko conventional art say azad kia by creating Les Demoiselles d Avignon..

worry not :)

hummm 5 sitaray pyare pyare :)

p.s. aap se dar lagnay laga hay.

Der can be expressed other than mere words..like Vincent Van gogh in stary night..