Arrest Over Cricket 'Match-Fixing' At Lords

Re: Arrest Over Cricket ‘Match-Fixing’ At Lords

**Pakistan captain and manager deny spot-fixing allegations **

The Video

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/sportvideo/cricketvideo/7970455/Pakistan-captain-and-manager-deny-spot-fixing-allegations.html

Pakistan match fixing claim: no betting evidence against me, says Salman Butt

Pakistan captain Salman Butt has seen no evidence that he is implicated in any of the ‘spot-fixing’ allegations against members of his team.

England’s victory in the fourth Test at Lord’s was entirely overshadowed by newspaper revelations - and the subsequent arrest of a 35-year-old man, from outside the Pakistan squad - alleging attempts to defraud bookmakers.

Pakistan team manager Yawar Saeed has confirmed Butt and pace bowlers Mohammad Aamer and Mohammad Asif had their mobile phones taken away by Scotland Yard officers investigating the case at the tourists’ hotel on Saturday night.

Butt, however, said: "These are just allegations. Anybody can stand up and say things about you - it doesn’t make them true.

"They include quite a few people. They are still ongoing, and we will see what happens.

“There is nothing I have seen, or been shown, that involves me.”

Asked whether there is cause already for him to resign from the captaincy - a position 25-year-old Butt took over only last month after the retirement of Shahid Afridi - he said: “Pakistan have won a Test match from Australia after 15 years and from England after nine years - so does that mean I should resign from this current situation?”

Butt declined the opportunity to publicly deny allegations made against him in a newspaper investigation which also named 18-year-old Aamer and Asif.

Instead, during a joint press conference with Saeed, it was the team manager who responded to the majority of questions posed specifically about the ‘spot-fixing’ reports.

“Allegations are only one thing. They are all serious, whether they are small or big,” said Saeed.

“No allegations are true until they are proved either way, so at this point of time they are just allegations.”

Saeed, who committed Pakistan to honouring a schedule of two Twenty20s and a five-match ODIs against England next month, admitted the team have been shaken by the controversy.

They suffered the heaviest defeat in their history - by an innings and 225 runs - after being hustled out for only 147 in their second innings.

Saeed acknowledged the team, who did not have time to practise before batting because of their late arrival at the ground, were hardly in the best frame of mind to give their best in a Test match.

“Obviously we are not delighted about it; we are sad. It was very sober feelings in the dressing room,” he said.

"We didn’t have a cup of coffee either this morning.

"We didn’t want one, because I was talking to the team. A lot had happened overnight, and it was my duty to talk to them - and get their focus back on to the match.

"As far as the Scotland Yard investigations are concerned, I wouldn’t like to say anything more yet - because it is not right for us to do that.

"Scotland Yard officers came, interviewed, came to my room, went to his [Butt’s] room and two more. They were there for about two or three hours.

“After that, I asked them if there was anything we could do. They said ‘no’.”

The next task for Saeed is an urgent meeting with Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Ijaz Butt.

A post-series debrief is mandatory, but Saeed confirmed he will be speaking to Butt at the team hotel.

“As a manager, whether they (PCB) ask for it or not, I will give my report,” he said.

"I have not spoken to them today, because we came to the ground. Now the series is over, I will certainly talk to them.

“The chairman of the PCB is in town, and I will be seeing him and giving him my report. I will be meeting him this afternoon.”

There is no suggestion from Pakistan at this stage that the limited-overs leg of their tour is in jeopardy.

They are due to travel to Taunton for a warm-up match against Somerset on Thursday, and Saeed said: "As far as I am concerned, the one-day series is on.

“We are moving to the west country tomorrow and we will play all the one-day matches and the T20s.”

It was left to Butt, meanwhile, to reflect on the ignominious end to a Test campaign in which Pakistan were occasionally competitive but always vulnerable and went out on a dispiriting low for themselves and their sport.

“We didn’t play good cricket. England played a lot of good cricket in this game,” he said, before insisting this morning’s loss of six wickets for 106 runs - despite Umar Akmal’s 79 not out - was not merely the result of the ‘spot-fixing’ stress.

“It is not something you can connect with the morning’s display, because yesterday evening the team collapsed to 74 all out.”

Re: Arrest Over Cricket 'Match-Fixing' At Lords

ok then leave him but chop asif charsis fingers

Pakistan under pressure to suspend Salman Butt, Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Amir**

The Pakistan Cricket Board is under pressure to suspend three senior players allegedly involved in a match-fixing scam to ensure the one-day series against England can go ahead as planned.

Officials from the International Cricket Council will hold talks with the PCB in London on Monday morning with the immediate futures of Salman Butt, the Pakistan captain, and fast bowlers Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Amir to be decided.

Sources close to the England squad have indicated they will not be happy to play against players who are the subject of match-fixing allegations and it appears highly unlikely that Butt, Amir and Asif will feature in the five-match one-day series or two Twenty20 internationals.

The prospect of the one-day leg of the tour being canceled quickly receded on Sunday as the gravity of the consequences of such a decision took hold.

It is a move that would cost English cricket millions of pounds in broadcast, sponsorship and ticketing revenue. But unless action is taken against those Pakistan players at the centre of Sunday’s dramatic allegations, the series would lose all credibility. Andrew Strauss, the England captain, was visibly shaken by the allegations and adamant that any players found guilty must face life bans.

“With a lot of these match-fixing allegations it is so hard to prove one way or another, which is one of the real difficulties with it, but if someone is found categorically guilty the only way is for you not to be able to play international cricket again,” he said.

“Clearly there are going to be some very strong reasons for the [one-day] series to go ahead. The ICC, the ECB and the Pakistan Cricket Board have got to put their heads together and decide what the best way forward is. As a team we have got to take stock as well.”
Extra officers from the ICC’s Anti Corruption Unit, led by the former chief constable of the RUC Sir Ronnie Flanagan, flew in to London on Sunday from their base in Dubai to liaise with detectives from Scotland Yard.**

Butt faced the media flanked by Yawar Saeed, the team manager, and was repeatedly offered the opportunity to deny any involvement in fixing. He dismissed any notion of resigning and labelled the story as only “allegations”. “Anybody can stand out and say things about you, doesn’t make them true,” he said.

Saeed confirmed police had searched players’ hotel rooms on Sunday night and seized mobile phones belonging to Butt, Asif and Amir. He also stated the team would travel to Taunton on Monday for a Twenty20 warm-up match against Somerset on Thursday.

The Pakistan board had warned the team against having any involvement with Mazhar Majeed, the alleged fixer at the centre of allegation who is being questioned by police.

The Pakistan president, Asif Ali Zardari, has asked for a full report from Ijaz Butt, chairman of the PCB, and the sports minister, Ijaz Hussain Jakhrani, said: “We will take action once we get a report but I can assure you if any player is found guilty of such corruption he will be banned for life.”

Imran Khan, the former Pakistan captain, called for exemplary punishment to be given to any player found guilty of spot fixing. “There is a need to send out a message to youngsters that crime does not pay,” Imran said. “If any player is found guilty he should be made an example for future generations of Pakistani cricketers.”

On Sunday, the Pakistan team remained locked in their dressing room until play began at 11am. The two overnight batsmen, Azhar Ali and Umar Akmal, were given a polite round of applause when they walked through the Long Room.

The MCC had increased security around the team and concerns over the reaction of the crowd forced them to hold the post-match presentation behind closed doors in the Lord’s Long Room.

During that presentation Giles Clarke, the chairman of the ECB, handed a cheque for £5,000 to Amir as Pakistan’s player of the tournament. He did not shake hands with the young bowler and must be feeling a sense of betrayal by a team that the ECB has offered sanctuary.

Strauss did shake hands with the Pakistan team but felt an emptiness at the end of a series his team won 3-1. “We are sad, despondent, and not happy that our efforts in this Test have been overshadowed by this stuff,” he said.

Pakistan match fixing claims: police confiscate players’ mobile phones

Pakistan team manager Yawar Saeed has revealed three players, including team captain Salman Butt, had their mobile telephones confiscated by police.

Scotland Yard officers are investigating claims in the News of the World that a number of Pakistan players were involved in spot-fixing during the fourth Test against England at Lord’s.

Police visited the Pakistan team hotel on Saturday evening, and Saeed confirmed three players were interviewed.

Saeed, who said the tour would continue with one-day internationals and Twenty20 matches against England, revealed the players gave up their telephones to officers.

“Telephones yes, only these three gentlemen. The police have taken their mobile phones away,” Saeed said.

Saeed named the players as “the skipper (Butt), and Asif and the third one was Mohammed Aamer”.

Pakistan today slumped to an innings defeat on day four of the fourth Test against England, losing the series 3-1.
Saeed explained the events of last night.**

He said: "We got to the hotel at about 7.30pm last night and I was just settling into my room when I got a message that Scotland Yard officers are here and would like to see me.

"They said, ‘On a tip-off we want to investigate some of your players’.

"I said, ‘Please go ahead, we’ll assist you whatever way we can’.

“They were there about two hours. They spoke to three gentlemen, went into their rooms, came back and at about 10pm they said, ‘We’re through, we’re going away’.”

Saeed confirmed Pakistan held a team meeting but had not discussed the allegations in detail.

He also insisted there was never any chance of the team pulling out of the fourth Test.

“Not while I’m manager, they will not run away from any match,” he said.

Saeed explained he had briefed the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board about last night’s police visit. They were due to meet again this afternoon, Saeed said.

Pakistan are determined to finish their tour, he added, saying: “As far as I’m concerned there is no danger. We are moving to the west country the day after to start our practice match, The Twenty20s and ODIs.”

Saeed was also asked about potential punishments, should any player be found to have committed an offence.

“If anybody is guilty he is guilty and should be punished,” Saeed said.

He added, though, that any punishment should be commensurate with the level of offence.

“If I stole one shilling from you, you’d punish me for a shilling not for a million pounds,” he said.

A 35-year-old man - not a player - was last night arrested in connection with police inquiries into the alleged wrongdoings.

Lord MacLaurin, the former chairman of the England and Wales Cricket Board, has called for any players guilty of spot-fixing to receive life bans.

Lord MacLaurin believes no leniency should be shown if the claims are proven.

He said: "If they are found guilty, I would think people would think I’m very draconian about this but I think people that are involved with that should be suspended for life. They should never play cricket again.

"However young they are, they’re not naive. They’ve been around. I have no doubt at all their respective boards have warned them about all this sort of thing and the consequences.

"People know they are doing things that are wrong and completely out of order so you have to receive the punishment - whatever that might be.

“Like I say, I might be draconian but I just don’t think there’s room for anything like that in sport.”

Arrests await Pakistani cricketers

The Sports Encounter has learnt that Scotland Yard has seized passports of at least seven Pakistani cricketers after finding them guilty of fixing Lord’s Test here on late Saturday.

Sources told TSE here that after the intervention of the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), the Scotland Yard has allowed Pakistani cricketers to complete the match, but told them to appear before them after completing the Lord’s Test.

Sources further stated that there are clear chances that these seven Pakistani cricketers would be arrested by the Scotland Yard.

Pakistan are facing an innings defeat against England at Lord’s after they were bundled out for just 74 runs in their first innings while they were four down for just 41 runs in their second innings as they still have a mountain to climb before make England bat again.

Pakistan captain Salman Butt has been found guilty after the call record on the mobile phones that were seized by the Scotland Yard showed evidence of Butt talking with Mazhar Majeed.

It is important to mention here that the Scotland Yard had arrested Mazhar from Surrey after a reporter of an English newspaper ripped through his match-fixing network earlier on Saturday.

Meanwhile, the Scotland Yard has arrested a person from the hotel where Pakistani cricket team is staying during the Lord’s Test. However, the identity of the arrested person couldn’t be ascertained as Scotland Yard officials hid his face with a sheet.

Agent Majeed bailed without charge

Cricket agent Mazhar Majeed has been bailed without charge amid claims of match-fixing involving the Pakistan cricket team.

Pakistan team manager Yawar Saeed told Sky Sports News three players - captain Salman Butt and bowlers Mohammad Aamer and Mohammad Asif - had their mobile telephones taken away by police last night after being spoken to about the newspaper allegations.

In a statement, Scotland Yard said that Mr Majeed had been bailed to appear before police at a future date.

The allegations centre on the timing of “no balls” delivered during the game.

Pakistan team manager Yawar Saeed said bowlers Mohammad Aamer, Mohammad Asif and wicket keeper Kamran Akmal were the other players questioned by police.

Butt, Asif and Aamer had their mobile phones confiscated by authorities as part of the investigation, he added.

The claims caused shockwaves across the sporting world today with pressure mounting on the Pakistan Cricket Board to act following the latest in a string of match-fixing allegations to dog the team since the 1990s.

Players and fans were united in their anger, with Lord MacLaurin, former chairman of the England and Wales Cricket Board, calling for any players guilty of “spot fixing” to be banned for life.

Undercover reporters from the News of the World allegedly paid a middleman £150,000 and in return were told exact details relating to play during the following day.

The paper said it was able to buy its way into a match-fixing ring by posing as Far Eastern businessmen.

The reporting team claims it was told exactly when three no balls would be bowled during the current Test.

The controversy ensured the final day of the Test was played out in a subdued atmosphere.

Struggling with the pressure, the Pakistan team unusually refused the chance to warm up on the Lord’s pitch prior to the start of play.

England made short work of their opponents when Pakistan finally emerged from the dressing room, winning the series 3-1 as the tourists slumped to an innings defeat.

Scotland Yard said yesterday a 35-year-old man was arrested on suspicion of conspiracy to defraud bookmakers and was being held at a London police station.

Mr Saeed said police questioned his players at the team hotel in north London last night.

He told Sky News: "We got to the hotel at about 7.30pm last night and I was just settling into my room when I got a message that Scotland Yard officers are here and would like to see me.

“They said ‘on a tip-off we want to investigate some of your players’.”

He added: “If anybody is guilty he is guilty and should be punished.”

Mazhar Majeed’s brother and business partner Azhar, insisted today that the allegations were “just rubbish”.

In video footage released by the News of the World, Mazhar Majeed is apparently seen with a pile of money in front of him.

Mr Saeed told the international cricket website Cricinfo that the Majeed brothers were agents representing a number of Pakistan players.

He said: "When we started this tour, I told the players they should not be entertaining these two in their hotel rooms.

“These boys are their agents and, anywhere we tour in the world, we tell our players that they are not allowed to have agents in their hotel rooms. It is the policy on the tour.”

The allegations provoked widespread condemnation.

Michael Vaughan, former England cricket captain, wrote on social networking site Twitter: "Anger is my thoughts at the moment.

“I don’t see how they can get out of this one… it’s just a great shame why this has to happen. Very sad.”

Former England fast bowler Angus Fraser told Sky News: “Everyone with a deep love or interest for the game will be absolutely appalled by these allegations.”

He added: “Cricket has got to get a grip - a sport cannot afford to be surrounded by such a controversy.”

Shadow foreign secretary David Miliband said: “There will be lots of conspiracy theories and there will be lots of blame games but it looks very bad and cricket should be about the best of sport, not the worst of it.”

There was widespread anger outside the ground. David Lawrence, 44, said his six-year-old son’s first day at a match had been “overshadowed” by the claims.

The operations manager, from Kingston, south London, said: "It’s pretty horrendous, the evidence is very convincing against the players.

“It undermines everything we are watching.”

http://www.espnstar.com/cricket/international-cricket/news/detail/item492814/Agent-Majeed-bailed-without-charge/

Laga dya India per Ilzam lol :smiley:

Mazhar Majeed released on bail

The match-fixing saga took a dramatic turn on Sunday night when the Scotland Yard released the arrested book-maker, Mazhar Majeed, on bail without any charge despite having concrete evidences against him.

The Scotland Yard said in a statement issued late in the evening that Mazhar Majeed had been bailed to appear before police at a future date.

The reasons behind his arrest and release are yet to be unearthed but as “News of the World”, the newspaper that broke the story of Pakistan players’ involvement in the match fixing scandal, doesn’t have a good reputation in England and has paid around 10 million pounds for levelling false charges against several players, one has to think twice about the credibility of such charges.

The release of Mazhar Majeed further fuels the doubts related to the match fixing scandal.

Earlier in the day, Azhar Majeed, Mazhar’s brother and business partner, had termed all the allegations as “rubbish”.

It is yet to be seen who are behind the whole conspiracy but now it seems that a group of English media actually tried to “frame” the vulnerable Pakistani players and caught them in the controversy by using unfair means.

http://i36.tinypic.com/33nyljb.jpg

http://i33.tinypic.com/2a4sh1i.jpg

Look at Butt’s face :omg:

^fatti pari hai bhai.. he looked like he was going to piss his pants in the press conference too..

^ Allah Pak sab ko zillat se bachaye ...

Not a funny moment dude, bura wakt kisi per bhi aa sakta hai ... !

dude plz mind ur lang

Police investigation will focus on currency notes

Investigators will focus on the currency notes handed over by the News Of The World (NOTW) to Mazhar Majeed as they look for evidence of spot fixing in the Lord's Test involving Pakistani cricketers. Majeed was arrested by Scotland Yard on Saturday night and the investigators will try and determine if the currency notes bear resemblance to those found in the hotel rooms of several Pakistani players.

The NOTW claimed Majeed was paid £150,000 to arrange a fix involving Pakistan's new-ball bowlers, Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Asif, whom he allegedly asked to bowl no-balls at specific moments of the match. It also alleged that Salman Butt and Kamran Akmal, the captain and vice-captain respectively, were the kingpins in the deal, which involved a total of seven players.

Butt sidestepped the issue at the post-match press conference on Sunday, saying investigations were on. However, a source familiar with such investigations said he would be hard pressed to explain the currency notes allegedly found in his hotel room if they matched those given to Majeed by NOTW.

"If the notes are the same it would be something serious. It would be direct evidence linking him to what has been claimed by [Majeed]," the source said.

The most serious aspect of the issue, the source said, was Butt's alleged involvement, and Majeed's claim that he knew Butt's bowling plan. "The fact that specific overs are to be bowled by specific bowlers and that they get to bowl those overs…then the specific ball as suggested is the kind of ball they offered are issues that raise considerable concern ," the source said.

What will follow now, the source said, is intensive interrogation by Scotland Yard. "I don't think they will make an arrest unless they have some very credible evidence linking the player(s) to this," he said.

The United Kingdom has a specific law under the Gambling Act that criminalises any offence involving cheating in sport and brings such cases immediately under police jurisdiction.

Butt was handed the Test captaincy in a crisis situation in July after Shahid Afridi's sudden retirement from the five-day game following the Lord's Test against Australia. Butt immediately led Pakistan to a thrilling victory over Australia at Headingley, their first in 15 years. A week ago at The Oval, he was once again victorious when Pakistan beat England in another close finish. The weekend's developments, however, have cast a cloud over those achievements.

:o this level of profanity usage seems pretty common here though?

haha u guys must be happy na .....dont worry laugh laugh like u never did

Its really strange to see that the main player of all this match fixing issue, Mazhar Majeed has been released on bail without any charges ....

yeah indeed

and its shocking too

still nothing is clear

Is that we can call Best Judiciary System of Britain ?