Heard it on NPR this morning.
Arranged Marriage: Trapped Between Two Cultures : NPR
The animated film is awesome!
Heard it on NPR this morning.
Arranged Marriage: Trapped Between Two Cultures : NPR
The animated film is awesome!
two words: Biased and Lame!!
She is gaining weight so no one would like her for marriage purposes.. what a shallow thinking!!! Not everyone shares the same mentality as her or her parents so why generalize?
I am offended as a female and of course as a kashmiri too!!! ![]()
Re: Arranged Marriage: Trapped Between Two Cultures
Darn, i didnt know my volume was so high. I turned on the video at work and it blasted...totally embarassed. I think I may know her.....weird.
GTG, you are just jealous because you can't even draw a happy face, let alone the whole animation.
let me get this straight... I was supposed to comment on her digital art skills or the article???
Animation was good.. she drew desi men as scary as they can get.. but come on the point behind her animation is just lame! Culture bashing looks good when the other person knows about it too.. you just dun go around spreading the wrong message knowing this would come back and bite us in the name of religion!!
ps: I am surprised the radio in your Volvo still works :p (assuming you heard it on your drive to work)
Hey hey hey!!! Everything in Volvos is sturdy and dependable and will work for many many years. (Many, many, many, many, many, many years in the case of Ahdmajee’s fossil :p)
At any rate, don’t make this personal so leave Volvos out of this discussion please ![]()
GTG, thank you for the compliment. Yes, desi men are very handsome, so unlike the animation!
We see the world from our experiences, when something isn’t working for us, we think it isn’t working for the whole world and so I empathize with the girl, even if I don’t totally agree. (That’s the father in me talking)
Mad_S, thank you for the support, my fellow Volvo lovin desi. ![]()
Now heres a marriage one wouldnt expect to see in our culture.
Chi! Get a room boys!
its pretty cool the animation and her perspective is true for a lot of people in the states, but its not everyone's story ofcourse.
I cannot recall seeing an animation like that b4, i was impressed! But i took it with a pinch of salt bcos it was SO funny the way she drew the groom as a VERY dark (and probably ugly) man sitting next to a much whiter and pretty looking bride.
It was strange she said her mum is always looking for someone 11 years older. Alot of it was definitely stereotypical and exaggerated.
was it a Pakistani groom or African American
sorry no offense to African fellows but that groom was so not from Pakistan…i can tell that :halo: …its totally over exaggerated
as for the idea behind the animation…
i think this gal needs to pay a visit to Pakistan…i am sure most of her misunderstandings will b gone after she visits Pakistan
things have changed…brides dont look down anymore
and its not cuz they r sad…k mayb that’s one of the ideas behind it…but its basicly cuz the brides is being modest
which I think makes bride cute
poor pakitani guys and specially kashmiri guys are NOT that fat….oh unless you are finding a proposal in “pahlwaan” family
oh come on Pakistani guys are more conscious about how they look and about their weight these days than the guy that was described in this animation….
Gaining weight to avoid any proposal ….lolssss
Sorry to say but gal…kabotar ankain tu band kar sakti hai mager es sey bili gayab nahi ho jati
Trust me there r guys over there who don’t mind getting married to a fat lady as long as she can provide them with a visa/green card/citizenship card ![]()
the girl sounded like she was doing the interview for 'fun'....:--/ retard!
Oh i totally agree w/ her, our culture is so backwards and annoying and yadda yadda yadda...
fast forward 7 years. I find it hard to believe she is a 22 year old college educated woman, she sounds more like a 16 year old who hasn't seen past her four walls. This video is so pathetic and full of it that i cant even finish it. Shame on her for making it and marketing it to the public.
Oh i totally agree w/ her, our culture is so backwards and annoying and yadda yadda yadda...
fast forward 7 years. I find it hard to believe she is a 22 year old college educated woman, she sounds more like a 16 year old who hasn't seen past her four walls. This video is so pathetic and full of it that i cant even finish it. Shame on her for making it and marketing it to the public.
Shock and awe sells on media. She is smart enough to know that. She is enjoying her 15 minute of fame.
too much stereotyping. If some 19 yr old girl come and say such things then I wont blame her b/c i know she will have lots to learn in her life BUT this 22 [in an animation] or 25 [as in article .. go figure] saying all this .. like GTG said, totally biased!
I was thinking the exact same thing...the script (and depth of thought behind it) sounds like it came from a middle schooler.