Army gets the lion’s share out of US assistance

Army is also responsible for lion share killings of our own people. Those it can’t kill…makes them magically disappear. Hamari jadoogaar fujj…

http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\09\26\story_26-9-2007_pg7_2

Army gets the lion’s share out of US assistance

• Aid should focus on people: Chamberlain
  • Musharraf opened Pandora’s box: Oakley

By Khalid Hasan

WASHINGTON: Ninety percent of the current US assistance of $2 billion a year to Pakistan goes to the military, a meeting on Pakistan held to release a report on the country was told on Monday.

The report titled ‘Pakistan: a perilous course’, was unveiled at the Centre for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS). The panel of speakers was made up of Teresita Schaffer of the CSIS, Robert Oakley, former US ambassador to Pakistan, and Wendy Chamberlain, also a former US ambassador to Pakistan, and now president of the Middle East Institute. The meeting was conducted by Rick Barton, a former senior official of the Geneva-based UN High Commission for Refugees.

Barton, introducing the report said that Washington had an “over-dependence” on President General Pervez Musharraf who was viewed as a “key partner”.

‘Aid should focus on the people’: Chamberlain said US aid should be focused on the people of Pakistan, rather than go to the military. This leads some to conclude that US aid is working against the people, not for them. “The stability of Pakistan is too important for the US and the region in which Pakistan is located,” she said and noted that in the wake of the October 2005 earthquake, US approval rating in Pakistan shot up from 23 percent to 45 percent, but by January 2006, it had fallen to 15 percent because of a US attack in the tribal area. The former ambassador said the US should support the democratic process in Pakistan, and not an individual.

‘Musharraf opened Pandora’s box’: Former ambassador Oakley while commenting on the current situation in Pakistan said Musharraf threw open a Pandora’s box, which he couldn’t now close the lid on. He said Musharraf had put the army in deadly confrontation with the extremists in FATA and it had lost many lives. He expressed satisfaction over the “quiet cooperation” between the two countries in the nuclear area in Pakistan, which remains military-controlled, and “we should see that it continues”. He also suggested that Washington should reconsider its opposition to the proposed Iran-Pakistan-India pipeline. Teresita Schaffer said the US should work “visibly” with “competing” leaders and it must work for democracy, instead of latching on to one person.

Turning to the possibility of an alliance between Musharraf and Bhutto, she said, “We are watching the last act of this drama”.

Re: Army gets the lion’s share out of US assistance

Why should the money not go to military? After all it is the ruling company i.e. Military Inc. Does anyone still wonder why army doesn't want to go back to barracks?

any why should not the big share go to army? its Army who is carrying out physical operations against the terrorists. Its army who is spending from their budget ....its only logical that lion share goes to army.

Really not, army is carrying out all the actions ... true, but is army spending from its own budget? where is that budget coming from?

from amreeka :)

^ interesting, so US is now making budgets for Pakistan, cool, lets outsource our foreign policy, neighbor policy etc as well :k:

We have Nuclear Weapons. We have said we will use the first strike option. I say we cut defense sending by 50% and let the Milibus take care of itself.

u know what I am talking about kaptan bhai but its amazing how easy you are making it to “not understand” :slight_smile:

God Bless America. God Bless Pakistan. God Bless President Musharaf. :jhanda:

Excellent idea. :k:

bhai sahib, I understand that since army is 'physically' carrying out the operations thus needing all the money to fuel, ammunition, secret service operations and what not. But then why do you think they are complaining about if that was the only purpose of the 'aid'? :
"‘Aid should focus on the people’: Chamberlain said US aid should be focused on the people of Pakistan, rather than go to the military."

Do you think they want army to carry out opeartion without money? The aid is provided for several 'programs', not just gun toting at 'militants'.

but then isn't MQM considered a terrorist outfit itself?

Let the MQM fight in Waziristan, i am all for it.

I hope this money goes to poor soldiers that loose their lives in fghting.

No, average solder is not getting the money. Most of the money is going to corrupt top brass including Mushrraf.

No the money (if any that is) should go straight into BBs swiss account... there you see this is what I call helping janta.

LOL.... pitching rats against a cat