are you afraid of travelling alone?

CM - I could never do that spontaneous stuff for travelling abroad. I'd be too worried abt getting lost, and customs and passport and language and money and credit cards and health and sleep and malayria and pneumonia and dress sense and louts and culture clashes and left hand driving and food and halal food and places to pray and wudhu facilities and .............well....u get my point yeah?

I could do it in the UK though, provided parents werent on my case 24/7 which i guess is the added advantage with travelling abroad cos theres no curfews then :) . Last year we went to suddenly decided to go to London Mosque 7pm at night, and we returned at 12pm the next day. we stayed in the mosque all night for lail-ut-al qadr. My parents didnt know i went with my mates (shhhh!!)

mehnazq i love driving on my own. i hate it when i have passengers, cos they get worried about my driving etc, or they dont like the music i listen to etc. but not trains and airplanes etc. journey just too long to enjoy on ur own. if it was a 1 or 2 hr flight, then i wouldnt mind it so much.might even enjoy it.

gupshupkiaunty how old is your daughter, if you dont mind my asking? uss ki koi aunty nahi hai to go with her? lol

femme fatale hmm. not sure if im afraid of meeting someone boring. i dont like talking to ppl i dnt know anyway. even if they are interesting. i like to keep myself to myself. I think ppl see that in me and leave me alone, and others probably think im some geek or something.

sweetpie why would u have to put up pretenses with ppl u know? i wouldnt do it even with ppl i didnt know. i guess if they arent close associates then u have to be all 'proper' all the way through the journey, and that can get difficult especially if its a real long journey. so if u mean it in that sense, then i agree.

shinoo done that. ha! and i dnt even like travelling alone.eek

suroor My parents arent so overprotective for the actual travel, its the reason for travel. Like if i wanna go to London, theyre always askin why why why. I never have a legitamate excuse. If i had a legitamate excuse then theres no problem for them. Pakistan was a business trip/family trip/holiday combined in one, so i got away with it.

eemo yeah i get chances to travel alone all the time too, and yes you are an anomaly<<<<< oops...yeah tho meh hii hoon.....oh how queer.

nadia_h yes i can imagine some ppl who i wouldnt like to travel with. My father for one...allah bless him. hes way too cautious. My little sister would be fun i think.My mamoo is not punctual, so that would freak me out. got some nice friends but they cant travel when i can or i cant travel when they can etc :(.

but how do you balance it out?

mr fraudia travelling on trains i find relaxing, but all the customs mullarkey stresses me out on airplanes. once im on the plane im usualy quite relaxed but at the same time anxious to get to the destination where im going. ive always been one of these anxious freak dudes

I honestly would not like to travel alone, it gets boring all alone. I have lived alone, traveled alone and did many things alone. I do not like it. Sometimes its good but only SOMETIMES. I've been on my own for too long to enjoy it anymore :)

me too :(

eemo

i just get tired of it sometimes especially on long flights, u just want to go on and get with yer life rather than being stuck on the plane. I dont have an issue with customs etc..people watching is fun.

its a diff experience. my sistyer lived 9 hours from me when i was in college and i would go see her, long drive but totally relaxing..just me, my car, my tunes, and the road..almost a spiritual experience driving through the mountains..stopping wherever i wanted to take pictures, grab a bite to eat..or just the sights instrigued me so I would take an exit and explore the area.

as i have stated before solitude is a great place to visit, not a great place to live. Often in these long solo trips, i find myself and rescue myself from the weight of the pressures, demands, expectations and duties of the world.

Originally posted by eemo: *
**sweetpie
* why would u have to put up pretenses with ppl u know? i wouldnt do it even with ppl i didnt know. i guess if they arent close associates then u have to be all 'proper' all the way through the journey, and that can get difficult especially if its a real long journey. so if u mean it in that sense, then i agree.

As I was writing the post, I was actually thinking about "putting up pretenses" with business associates should such an issue occur but otherwise, I think traveling alone can be alot of fun.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
eemo

as i have stated before solitude is a great place to visit, not a great place to live. Often in these long solo trips, i find myself and rescue myself from the weight of the pressures, demands, expectations and duties of the world.

Yes i agree. I admit, the time alone helped me get away from all the stresses etc. and the "find myself" thing is a phenomenon but it does work

not at all

i have taken long international flights by myself and i love it

however i dont like travelling alone on buses etc

hate travelling on my own...not just coz of the company but also of bieng literally on my own......

i love travelling, rather than being alone ide go with my brother bcos hes so funny and were always competeing

i think travellling alone might not be so bad (ide love togo somewhere quiet alone with a thousand page book just for abt 2/3 days though nothing more)

hi, this is my first gupshup
but to travel alone has many positive sides;like you get quicker contact to people you never would have spoken to,you learn new languages and customs.which is mostly difficult when you have a compagnon with you.i travelled all by my own from belgium to australia.this is from belgium the other side of the world.

congrats on ur first gupshup, hope ur stay is as nice as ur flight was :)

But to ask you a question, why would u want to establish contact with ppl u hadnt spoke to before? thats not to sound introverted or introspective, but am jst not that type of guy. If i wanna meet someone new for a particular purpose i'll actively go looking for them and establish contact.

But when on a plane journey i dont wanna meet new ppl, im never gna see them again and i really dont care for them, as people to talk to that is. (unless they can show me how to make a million over night)

MY BEST TIME WAS WHEN I TRAVELLED FROM ENGLAND ALLTHE WAY TO PAKISTAN....BY ROAD!

ONE TRIP I AM NEVER GONNA FORGET COZ IT WAS ONLY 6OOO MILES AWAY .

^Excuse me, but how did you manage to cross the ocean in between as there is no ROAD?

:confused: (scratching my head…)

ferry ka nahi kabhi sunnah?

its only 35miles from Dover to Calais. Takes about 40mins on a Ferry.
Simple

My dad went when he was 21 to fetch mama