Are We Still Restructuring??? My Foot !!! Are We Strategizing Properly?

Are We Strategizing Ourselves Properly?

We are definitely not doing a good job in terms of strategizing ourselves against our opponents. I have repeated in many of my earlier posts that we need to control Sehwag. AND YES WE CAN DO IT. No matter how dangerous he is, the fact remains that he is still a risky player offering many chances. We need to determine his weakness and attack it. We need to frustrate him. I understand that it is not easy because he is a quality player who can shake your confidence in a couple of balls. But it is doable. That is what a coach is for. Come on BOB…..If sehwag is weak against the rising balls coming into his ribs then bowl 200 balls in net to practice it. We have used such tactics against tendulkar in the past ( in 90s) and we need to do the same against sehwag.

However the million dollar point made by Faisal in another post is:

“we seem to have neutralized Tendulkar, Ganguly, Yuvraj and Kaif. My worry is, that if we get rid of Sehwag early in the next games, one of these remaining four will suddenly prove destructive”

I have absolutely no doubt that such a scenario will happen for real. The fact of the matter is that this Indian team is far better and much stronger than the Pakistani team. There is simply no comparison. Yes we have beaten them in the test match but the fact remains that their batting and bowling is far superior than ours. Therefoee we need to use our available resources as smartly as possible.

Are We Still Restructuring??? My Foot !!!

A lot of guppies keep saying that lets introduce some quality players instead of these young rookies. The question is where the hell are we going to produce quality players from? It has been 2 years since 2003 world cup and we are still satisfying ourselves by considering all of our defeats as a result of “re-structuring” and “re-building”. Yes, 2 years is not a long time but it is not a very small time period either. The fact of the matter is that regardless of the time involved, there is no doubt that we have totally failed to unearth/produce quality players. Lets just accept the reality. Yasir hameed, muhammed hafiz, imran farhat, imran nazir, tauqfeeq umar and shoaib malik are our future prospects and all of them are a total failure outside Pakistan. After 2 years of continuous experience with all of them, we know that they are not of international standard. what else do we have lined up? Nothing….I am just scared who will ever replace inzi?…and inzi has hardly a year left in him. And what do we mean when we say that lets give a chance to our young players. I mean come on guys. Salman Butt has played 15 one days matches in a row. Imran farhat was given a chance in more than 30 matches in a row. Same is true about hafeez and taufeeq umar. Lets accept that Pakistan has failed to poduce quality players and one of the reason is that cricket is not as popular in Pakistan as it is in India. Remember those absolutely deserted stands in Pakistan and a house-full show in India in all three test matches. The difference is obvious.

And bowling huh…….it has been a nightmare….A country who produced imran , wasim and waqar has to rely on Khalil and razaq…….it is really sad….Surprisingly, not a long time ago, our replacement bowlers such as aqib javed, amir nazeer, mohsin kamal and ata ur rehman were pretty decent. So there is something really terribly wrong……Not to mention that it is the same system which produced an artist like zaher abass, a fighter like javed miandad, a master like imran khan, a magician like saqi musthaq, and destroyers like Wasim and Waqar?

Re: Are We Still Restructuring??? My Foot !!! Are We Strategizing Properly?

here is an article in which rameez rajza outlined how Pak never allowed a breathing space for Tendulkar but then we had wasim and waqar who were able to act upon a plan…I hop tendu does not frustrate us in the next match…

http://www.hindustantimes.com/htcricket/7679_1306361,001600980007.htm

Pak not to allow breathing space for Tendulkar: Rameez Raja
Asian News International
Islamabad, April 4, 2005

Always “fearful” of Sachin Tendulkar’s ability to take a match away from them, Pakistan has and continues to centralise its strategy around how not to give him breathing space and to get him out early in his innings.

Former Pakistan cricket captain and now television commentator Rameez Raja expressed this view during an interview to The Nation.

“We were fearful of him. The idea at the team meetings, discussed very popularly, was to get him out very early in the innings. Otherwise, if you gave him breathing space, he would tease you very badly. The idea was to put pressure on him early on when he had arrived at the crease, and then to limit and try to frustrate him if he had got settled,” Raja said.

“The aim was to basically apply pressure by bowling on the off-stump line, taking a chance once or twice in two-three overs, but not to overdo it because he could smash you if you were trying too many things too soon,” he revealed.

“One hoped for the best and always felt the pressure of an India-Pakistan game would get him a little nervous and we would get his scalp. But I believe that’s how Pakistan teams have operated, they tried to attack early on and tried to conserve when he had got settled,” said the former opener, who played 57 Tests and 198 one-day internationals between 1984 and 1997.

I didn’t like what PCB did by force-retiring our great players esp Saeed Anwar, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis (though he was responsible in part too).

The effort of “re-building” was going in good direction in early phase but then after a few failures we saw PCB in panic, too many players brought in and kicked out without getting proper chances.

We did find some good bowlers, but unfortunately they got injured and we were left with Sami, Khalil etc. I don’t have slightest clue why Khalil was sent for Test matches against India when we saw Rao was better than him in Australia, my only guess is that he is a left hander :rolleyes: I have no idea about Sami either, he seems to have more parchi than he has “talent”. I guess everybody knows about Hafeez (except Kaleem) so no need to talk about him.

What bothers me is that there is no extra effort in grooming a good player in domestic cricket other than playing in international cricket. We are waiting for groomed talent to arrive by luck, just like Inzi waits for opponent batsmen to commit a mistake and get out.

I see what you mean by that but there can't be any restructuring if there is constant shuffling going on, In Imran Farhat - Taufeeq Umer we saw a Long term solution for the test but it was discarded, later when the coach was changed and chaacha woolmer took control of Pakistani cricket team, you can see constant shuffling in the batting order / match how can anyone perform prime examples are the tour of Australia and now current tour of India.

P_desi and captain I dont know how much you guys are aware of domestic cricket but there is immense talent which is capable of coping and producing good results at International arena; Yasir Hameed, Taufeeq Umer, Imran Farhat, Salman Butt, Rana Naveed, Rao and comeback kid Shahid Nazir and many more they all are capable of producing results with consistency, provided they know what is their role in Test/ ODI

P_desi you gave example of S. butt has already played 15 games and has not produced productive results such as making big scores well here is an example D. Martyn of australia and even R. Ponting they failed consistently for more than 22 matches and with sheer determination they are at the peak now, latest example is A. symonds, is not batting but knows he is part of the team and knows his place in the team

Taka a note from Pakistan A team how consistent they are and the players and are only replaced if they are injured or haven't performed for a long time.

They need to know where they are and what their role is in the team, whether it be Test or ODI's

I can say w/ confidence that you will bring this thread up come 2007 World Cup around the corner. ;)

acrobi, I agree that our domestic structure is capable of showing us the talented ones but is unable to groom them enough for international cricket. When we find good enough cricketers we rotate them so much that they don’t have clue if they will be in the next game after performing good in a game. For example look at Yasir Hameed, he played good in the Test match he played against Australia, scored 50s in both innings but was given only one match against India where he scored a 50 in 2nd inning and is now out of the team again.

talent talent talent talent…

Which talent are you guys talking about…oh bhaiyaa, if there is a genuine talent, no one could dare throwing him out of the team…no one would change his position. waqar younis was a talent, wasim akram was a talent, saeed anwar was talent, inzi was a talent hec even Aaib javed was a talent…show me one single player in the Pakistani team in last 3 years who is as talented as Jayawardene, kumara sangakkara, Michele Clark, sehwag, flintoff etc….You call yaseer hameed a talent? Probably he is better than all other young mediocre rookies in the paki team but he is no good in comparison to other prominent young international players.

Come on……Dont fool yourself by beating about the bush and saying that we have enormous talent and the only problem is that we are not using it properly. It may be a part of bigger problem but it is not the main problem. The fact remains that we are not producing international players. I don’t know what has gone wrong in last few years but there is some serious problem. The funny thing is that you drop one of these players and send them back to the domestic cricket and they will start making double centuries. Imran farhat just scored a double century. It is because imran, hafeez, butt, malik, taufeeq etc are the best available players in our domestic cricket.

Anyway, just ask yourself when was a Pakistan batsman selected as a Wisden Player of the year last time?

Yaar pd bhai, it is true that we have talent but it's not being utilized properly. You mentioned all time greats like Saeed Anwer, Waqar Younis and others, but one thing you want to remember is that these guys were also thrown out of the team somtime in their careers based on who the captain was at that time. Take Saeed Anwar for example, he started playing international cricket in 1988/89 and impressed most people, but he did not get a permanent slot in the team till 1994 when he smashed three consecutive hundreds at Sharjah. That's a waste of almost 6 years. Same case with Waqar Younis. He did not play much when Wasim Akram was the captain (no offense intented to Wasim Akram fans). So unfortunately in our team, it matters a lot how much the captain/selectors like one personally.

In recent times, Imran Nazir was a player who, according to most experts, was going to be the next batting sensation, but he failed on a few occassions and got kicked out like so many others.

The problem is that our selectors are not persistant enough. They just don't stick with a player long enough so that he has time to polish his talent. I like to give Sachin Tendulkar's example that the guy did not score a hundred till like his 80th game, but the Indians stuck with him because they knew the talent was there. Look at the kind of batsman he is now. Unfortunately, we just don't give enough time to our players to prove themselves.

I partially agreed with PD and errrrr with you guys too.

The guys we see these days are not groomed enough to play int’l cricket. It is true that unfortunately natural talent of 2Ws, Miandad, Inzi, Anwar has not unearthed for a long time in Pakistan. But its not the core problem here.

We also need to see that other teams also had times like this. How they overcame with the problem is what could be taken under consideration while discussing rebuilding phase. Did they wait for Brian Lara, Jaysuriya, Dravid, Sehwag, Pathan, Flintoff, Kallis to come up and record their presence and the natural talent. The answer is NO. They worked on the young guys, held cricket clinics and coaching on the grass root level, developed the under16 - under19 - A team infrastructure with investments in serious coaching contracts (local and foriegn). The result is that the players filtered from these stages and getting trained and corrected by the experts on earlier levels are technically sound and mentally ready for International arena.

On contrary, we see our players coming up with basic technical flaws in their batting, with no physchological and mental strength. PLUS, urge to HIT IT HARD or THROW IT HARD with AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE attitude to hit the stardorm overnight. This has costs us today’s miserable situation that we are living in. We have a huge (atleast 8 openers, 7 middle order, 6 all rounders and 7 speedsters) lineup that is playing musical chair, coming in and out of the team or in some cases just sitting on the bench as waterboy. Most of them need basic technical training which otherwise must have been given in under16, according to the current standard attained by our neighbours and Aussies.

On short term basis, we can take these available rookies (before WI tour) to the boot camp for some series technical assistance from the national team’s coach. The ones that can see ( with the help of video and computer aid)and learn from their mistakes with coach’s assistance will remain in the team, for others a warm good bye is the answer.

For long term, we should kill the favouritism or parchbaazi for good and refine our cricket infrastructure right from the grass root level as I mentioned above. The fair streamline path will ensure that no talented ones are left behind and will get the next level of coaching and development opperutnities.

:jhanda: