are we allowed to brush our teeth while fasting?

I am most surprised that a simple question like this has gone to 19 replies and you guys are still debating whether it is permitted to brush your teeth while fasting.

You guys have outdone yourselves. :k:

Sheraz ji, brush your teeth, ik baar kya hazaar baar baar karein, its the NIYYAT that counts :k:

i was fasting today and i brushed my teeth twice, whats the biggie…

as for the taste issue, dont u think miswaak has a taste? it does…

ISLAM hamari ASANI ke liyay hay not for making our lives difficult and for all those who try to make it difficult for us :nook:

insaan inhi bareekion mein hi uljha rahay aur jo asal baatein hoti hayn un ko chor dey :rolleyes:

so grab that toothpaste and toothprush and bismillah AHO :k:

well said! :k: unfortunately very often this gets diluted because ppl put more attention to form…

*Originally posted by PakistaniAbroad: *
well Sheraz the point was that if i've been given detailed and easy to understand study materials i shouldn't go seek 'opinions' of other students (however better than me) but rather use my own head to study and pass the exam.

PA this is what we believe and we also believe our 12th Imam is Alive:

It is narrated in Sahih Muslim as well as many other sources that:

Someday (after his last pilgrimage) the Messenger of Allah (PBUH&HF) stood to give us a speech beside a pond which is known as Khum (Ghadir Khum) which is located between Mecca and Medina. Then he praised Allah and reminded Him, and then said: "O' people! Behold! It seems the time approached when I shall be called away (by Allah) and I shall answer that call. Behold! I am leaving for you two precious things. First of them is the book of Allah in which there is light and guidance... The other one is my Ahlul-Bayt. I remind you in the name of Allah about my Ahlul-Bayt. I remind you in the name of Allah about my Ahlul-Bayt. I remind you in the name of Allah about my Ahlul-Bayt. (three times)."
Sunni Reference:

Sahih Muslim, Chapter of the virtues of the companions, section of the virtues of Ali, 1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, Arabic version, v4, p1873, Tradition #36.
And many others such as Sahih al-Tirmidhi, Musnad Ahmad (see below).
For the English version of Sahih Muslim, see Chapter CMXCVI, v4, p1286, Tradition #5920

and we have some assistants of Imam Mehdi..if we have a religious query we consult them...many times we come across a problem or we have a question..we might not find the answer in Quran..so that doesnt mean we just do whatever we feel is right

http://www.al-islam.org/encyclopedia/index.html

you might wanna read this…it will give u detailed information about every topic

Sheraz, must you bring your shia-sunni-sectarian-preachings into everything? Apparently, it was just a simple question about brushing teeth while fasting.

bilkul theek! irem.
and I object is there any difference between muswaak and brush, I think its just time that changed the version of muswaak both are used to clean the teeth!

using brush should also be considered sunnah! but molvis just keep using the same thing, islam is not rigid but our ignorance made it backward! why not muslims can adopt change in technology, atar is same thing as a perfume! just the difference of name!

i can go on and on. bottom line is we should adopt ourselves with modern ways of life while beleiving in basic islam and its pillers! Allah knows better and will decide mercifully!

IT's ppl like you sheraz CT...

It's ppl like you who make Islam a joke.
Can we brush teeth when we are fasting????? Is that a serious question?
Islam is the most practical religion. If we dont intend to break our fast then it wont break. If we intend to stay clean by brushing our teeth I am pretty sure God knows what we are thinking and therefore He knows our intentions.
Now concentrate on the main purpose of fasting. Not whether you should brush your teeth or not!!

Re: IT's ppl like you sheraz CT...

*Originally posted by SensibleOne: *
It's ppl like you who make Islam a joke.
Can we brush teeth when we are fasting????? Is that a serious question?
Islam is the most practical religion. If we dont intend to break our fast then it wont break. If we intend to stay clean by brushing our teeth I am pretty sure God knows what we are thinking and therefore He knows our intentions.
Now concentrate on the main purpose of fasting. Not whether you should brush your teeth or not!!

i think half of these people do agree that we should try to avoid toothpaste so i dont know how i am the only one making Islam a joke..anyways here is some information i found

in Taudhi'ul'Masail by Ayatullah Seestani, it states:
ruling 1615: As an obligatory precautuion, a perosn who is observing fasts, should not allow the smoke of cigarettes, tobacco, and other similar things reach his throat.

later on in the same book it states things which are makrooh for a person observing fast:
ruling 1666: (ix) cleaning the teeth with a wet toothbrush.

it also stated that as a precaution, we should avoid anything that MIGHT accidentally go down our throat and over which we might have no control. Knowing that and then performing an act taking the risk voids the fast.
Miswak used by the prophet (pbuh) is the same as using a clean toothbrush; but not a wet one. using a wet toothbrush without clearing your mouth completely of the water makes ur roza makrooh unless you try every means of getting the water out and it has mixed with the saliva in such a way that it can not be removed!

If i am going to do Ibadat I will do it the right way..main purpose of fasting doesnt tell me to fast the way i please...there are some rules i must obey..like i cant open fast few minutes early because oh i couldnt take it..god will understand..sure

Okay! lets do one thing.
clean your teeth when you wake up for sheri and then just after eating sahri but before time is over and use some mouth wash as well. This way all germ will be killed and your mouth will smell just fine when you wake up after 2hrs or so.
Blessings.
Farhina.

Suggestion!

As the taste of toothpaste seems to be one of the concerns here, why not use plain old baking soda? It's as tasteless as anything gets - it is an excellant dentifrice, sweetens the breath, and is an ingredient of many toothpastes.

Peace To All Who Read This...

Better use Miswak for brushing your teeth after sehri.

Islam is a simple religion. Dont make it complicated.
If you want to keep yourself clean by brushing your teeth and you dont intend to break your fast. I dont see how God wont be happy with you.
NOW lets concentrate on more important things about this month....

fatwa about brushing your teeth

Question
Is it wrong to brush my teeth while I am fasting?

Mufti's name
Dr. Yusuf Abdullah Al-Qaradâwi

Using a brush while one is fasting is not blameworthy, provided that no toothpaste or similar substances reach the stomach. If anything reaches the stomach, it breaks one's fast according to the majority of Muslim jurists. Thus, in order to be cautious, it is better to clean one's teeth at night after breaking the fast.
If one is cautious and brushes his teeth and out of forgetfulness some traces reach his stomach, he is not sinful, as Allah forgives the mistakes of Muslims that are made unintentionally. Allah, Exalted be He, says: "And there is no sin for you in the mistakes that ye make unintentionally." (Al- Ahzaab: 5) And the Prophet, peace and blessings be upon him, is reported to have said: "My nations shall not be held accounatble for the mistakes they do unintentionally, out of forgetfulness, and under duress." Allah Almighty knows best.

*Originally posted by Axiom: *
Better use Miswak for brushing your teeth after sehri.

Exactly :)