are there too many..

how is it better?..there is no guarantee of any marraige working out..whether they know eachother from b4 or not..otherwise all love marriages would be successful and they are not..

Yes, indeed but I dont know what she went through as I dont know her.

I am saying 'it is better', that does not imply its foolproof or guaranteed to work out. Obviously, its better for two persons who know each other (habits, weaknesses, attitudes) and like each other to be hitched, rather than two total strangers.

Re: are there too many..

I think I should be happy to say that out of all the kids I grew up with or went to school only two are divorced that I know of, one in Usa and other in Pakistan. Infact the one is Pakistan has left her daughter with the husband in hope to get married again. This is my childhood friend and it was very painful to see her being depressed over not being with her daughter :(although it was her own decision. There is more to the story but that would be going off topic.

soni27 in modern times the whole human race has come to be affected by exposure to new and misguided ideas about the freedom of women and unnatural equality of the sexes. It is as a result of these artificial concepts that the marital state has come to be looked down upon in developed societies, and men and women have begun to opt increasingly for divorce, even on the most minor provocations. In the the wake of such divorces, a number of evils have followed, not the least of which is their baneful effect on the children, who in a state of shock join gangs and go into unlawful habits and activities.

I still have not personally met someone who got divorced.I have heard a lot of stories mostly online though. but sure is getting creepy.
I think more and more people are finding this as an easy way out rather then pulling their boots and going for a long haul, I thought that is what getting married means.

I do however do not mean when there is abuse or any sort of unhealthy out of the norm stuff happening in marraige, then ofcourse it is much better to quit at the moment rather then to weather it out.

May Allah ease her burdens and give her a happy marriage and life filled with an understanding and supportive household.

Good points.

No. Things were pretty bad fairly early; this was an arranged marriage and I think the initial things were dismissed because they didn't know the family that well. I guess she was in denial and so were the rest of us (I was pretty young, so I was only aware of it secondhand, except when we had the honor of getting admitted into the house, at which point I gave evil glares to the MIL, who I associated with various Disney evil stepmothers). It was bad like that for 15 years. And then suddenly, around the time of her younger brother's wedding events, they dropped by her parents house. Everyone was shocked, but sort of went with it happily, out of fear that it would go bad again. It's been 8 years since then, and things are better. Thank God.

In that situation, I wouldn't have lasted a day. But she's a different kind of woman than I am.

I agree with you. I rarely support marriage between strangers. Arranged marriages are great, but not between strangers, I feel.

Arranged or not, some young couples fail because:
1. they were too busy planning the wedding to understand what marriage was all about.
2. they don't quite understand that the initial flame of a relationship is different from the love that develops from shared experiences, trust, respect, understanding, shared commitment, shared household, etc.
3. they are still struggling to understand what it means to be a "life partner"
4. the relationship is lopsided -- one always giving, the other always taking
5. both are too focused on themselves
6. both are struggling to understand that their lifestyles will almost definitely change after marriage.

Yep!

I've seen a lot of couples with grown children or teenage kids getting divorced, and a lot of times the reason is that one parents approves of a more liberal lifestyle for their kids while the other doesn't (one openminded parent and the other traditional).. hence the clash and divorce. Like one family I know the girls had boyfriends and the mother didnt care but the father did and he thought that the mother was encouraging the wrong/bad behavior and after a lot of fighting he just decided that he couldnt live with them anymore because he felt they were sinners and he didnt want anything to do with them.

^ haaah!..hai allah jee!

My thoughts as well.

This doesn't even make sense? Statistics? How can you make such a general statement on the children, its absurd!

I haven't seen in my life to any relative, friends or family door door tuk Alhamdolillah and Masha Allah.

Kitni bhi buri larki hamaray ghar main bus jati hai divorce ki naubat naheen aati. Masha Allah.

i agree with u on this..

I agree with MKD too.

How are you jurwaan. where were you???

angraizi main divorce aur apni zaban main "break up" ;-)

It is increasing day by day and eventually since the internet has become popular

shadi shuda logoan , jab ghar main laptop use karo to dont forget to delete "temporary internet files" or "cache" :-) kabhi kabhar kuch bhi samnay asakta hai :p

almost have tha marriages in tha u.s end up in a divorce. sad, but true

abhee aa ker sawal ka jawab daita hoon .....zara eik Talaq dai aoon

PS: classic example of increase-my-post-sort-of-thread :)