Are there any mystic schools in the world?

Assalam-o-Alaikum
I was thinking for sometime about the great sufis and hermits of Islam. And how they preached Islam all over the world not only through their words but more through their actions. If we conclude about their lives, we will see that most of them were taught in schools or madrassa and then they joined some group or created one or came under influence of renowned personality of that time.
If a Muslim thinks of going on those lines today, can he get ‘that’ type of education? Are there any ‘institutions’ or ‘people’ in the world from whom he can benefit from in this category.
I know that mystics do not like publicity and they are not likely to be very popular these days but if some body can put light on this subject, I will be delighted to hear from him.
Thank you.

Re: Are there any mystic schools in the world?

Name the people you are reffering to otherwise it become difficult to understand, at lesat for a stupid.

My, brother why dont you try to learn the word of Allah [swt] Quran and the doings/saying of Muhammad [s]. That is all the Islam is. If you are looking to become a Muslim Scholar that is all you need to know.

Was the Mystics you are talking about, were they tought by Allah [swt] or Muhammad [s]

There's a school called 'Friendship School' in Norway, not sure how it is..
But if your looking for a teacher/sheikh, then i guess just make dua, and you'll find someone to guide you through.
There heaps of sufi schools out there, some arent even islamic, so you have to be careful.

Aslamualikum

SUFIS have done nothing other than damage islam.........to the extent they allow drinking wine..in order to go into so called trance!!!!! they also believe tht their "sheikhs" can reach a state where they dont even need to perform any islamic duties (this practice has no basis in ISlam) furthermore they r heretic....they have done a lot of damage....by mixing greek mythology and hinduism with islam and claimin tht Allah ta'ala and man can be one Astaghfirullah......indeed one sufi heretic was executed ror saying "iam Haqq" when the fact is tht only Allah ta'ala is HAQQ and another interesting thing to note some of the followers of these sufi tariqats revere and give more importance the shrines...than Holy mosques at Makkah and Medinah.......HOW MUCH MORE HERETICAL CAN YOU GET??????????????

Assalam o Alaikum

There is no such proper school in the world who can teach u what u want...only place where u can get such type of education is a proper madressah....

The life those sufi's ( much different from pir's or sufi religion mentioned in post above) was the life of a sunnah ......( if u can understand the terms -there was no difference b/w shariat and tareeqat- spiritual education ) now with so many false ppl showing off as a mystic it is ur duty to find some one who follows sunnah in every thing he do .....as given in quran --koono maaus sadiqeen ----

if u tell me where do u live..i may be able to tell u some the names of good ulema there......who also have got ijazah in some mystic school of thought.....

wasalam

Assalam Alikum
I am very grateful of all the posters for their replies.
Hilal K, I think you did not understand the importance of Muslim sufis and Mystics. What do you think about Hassan Basri, Rabia Basri, Imam Ghazzali(he later became a hermit). Were they or are they of no importance.
And for 'bao bihari' Iam living in Sargodha. I am sure you are a South Asian and will know about Sargodha. I will be waiting for your reply.

Wassalam

*Originally posted by Adil378: *
Assalam Alikum
I am very grateful of all the posters for their replies.
Hilal K, I think you did not understand the importance of Muslim sufis and Mystics. What do you think about Hassan Basri, Rabia Basri, Imam Ghazzali(he later became a hermit). Were they or are they of no importance.
And for 'bao bihari' Iam living in Sargodha. I am sure you are a South Asian and will know about Sargodha. I will be waiting for your reply.

Wassalam

ummm..yes heard about sargodha.......where is it ?....in bangladesh ....:D

bhai main karachi main hon ..and was in sargodha last month to attend my brothers passing out at paf base sakesar ...khair...

i'll tell u inshallah about some good ulema in sargodha or near places....

keep in touch ...

ADIL as for al-hasan al-basri…he wasnt a sufi but rather a great SCHOLAR…as for Imam Ghazzali hv a look at this link

who was al-ghazzali???http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=13473&dgn=4

hope it will help

Assalam Alaikum
Imam Ghazzali was a controversial figure, I accept that. But you can not deny the efforts of our Sufis and Mystics. They do deserve some appriciation from us.

Wassalam

it depends on wat sufis u r tlking about early sufis,t is said, were on straight path who concentrated on worship.....but then they started to deviate....we can not deny ppls contribution to islam...but those who distort islam deserve no credit.........

Sufi are commendable for thier work as far as they do not oppose shariah ...which most of true ulema ( i dont differentiate between the two ) do ....otherwise any one justifying his wrong actions on the basis of " kay hum sufi hain ..shariat aur tareeqat alag alag hay " to wo muslam kay nam per dhooka hay ....

as far as i know, hasan al basri (rh) was a sufi and scholar both.
allah knows.

Can you enlighten me about the services of Sufis? Besides dancing to the tunes and making the ummah sleep , i don not see anything that they contributed. They themselves distorted Islam and themselves commited such evils that even today many Muslims have not been able to see the true light of Islam.

Maybe this will help:

http://www.alarqam.com/alarqam/en/articles/sufism/sufism_in_the_west/sufism_in_the_west_1.php

Can you enlighten me about the services of Sufis? Besides dancing to the tunes and making the ummah sleep , i don not see anything that they contributed

LOL LAEEQ FUNNY BUT TRUE..........

SUFIS EVEN ALLOW DRINKING OF WINE IN ORDER TO GO INTO "TRANCE"......SOME OF THEM CLAIM TO HV REACHED A "STATE" WHERE THEY DONT NEED TO PERFORM ISLAMIC DUTIES.....THEY REVER THE SHRINES MORE THAN MASJID al-HARAAM and MASJID NABAWI........

NOW WAT IS THIS "ISLAM" OR "SUFISM"???

I really doubt if there is any concept of sufism in islam.

If it were not for the sufis, the only muslims in the sub continent would have been the pashtoons and some others who were forced to convert.

*Originally posted by fakir-e-azam: *
If it were not for the sufis, the only muslims in the sub continent would have been the pashtoons and some others who were forced to convert.

Which history books have you been readin. I mean who was forced to convert and was it only sufis. Tell me which sufi went to china and other places near subcontinent.