Are Jinns Real?

The following is from my islamic class, its pretty cool, general knowledge about jinns, thought i’d share, so as muslims, we’re more aware…

All statements, hadith, etc. are taken from "The Exorcist Tradition in Islam " by Dr. Abu Ameenah Bilal Philips; Dar Al Fatah publishing 1997.

Jinn: means to “hide” or “conceal”, as in Sahih Bukhari “as-Sowmoo Jonnatoon” which means “fasting is a shield [from desire].”

The word “JINN” is actually plural, while GENIE (no not the one in the lamp :smack: ) is singular. In fact, the word “Jinn” also means a group of people as in the Noble Quran 37:158.

Jinns are made of FIRE (no, dragons are not jinns!). As is mentioned in the Noble Quran 15:26, 27; 55:15. However, it is important to mentiona that while humans (Adam-the father of human beings) are made from clay, we no longer have the properties of clay and while Jinn (Jaan - the father of Jinns [Mukhtaar as Sihaah] are made from fire, they no longer have the properties of fire. SO its safe to touch them :smiley: cept i wouldn’t recommend it…

Will jinn die? Those bloody scary things them! Absolutely… Noble Quran 28:88, 55:26, 46:18

Iblees/Satan/Shaytaan/The Devil/ ahem ahem SINNER :rolleyes:

Shaytaan’s name was “Azaazeel”, before he was condemned and kicked out of the heavens.

*note:

Some Scholars have used ayats 7:11 & 38:73, 74 to claim that iblees was an angel, because he was “among the angels” and he was commanded to prostate, just as the angels were. However, in the Noble Quran 7:12 & 18:50 it is stated that iblees was one of the jinns.

** Is Iblees the father of all jinns? like Grand McDaddy doo of All evilllll!?!** No, rather he is only “one of the jinn” as mentined in the noble Quran 18:50.

** Hey Jinns sound cool! where can i see one? what do they look like? **
No one can see the Jinn in their True form, except for a Prophet-this is the opinion of Imam ashShafi’ee and Ibn Hajar and al-Qurturbee. Futhermore, Allah confirms that we cannot see Jinn, as is stated in the Noble Quran 7:27.

however…(yes those of you all excited..) you CAN see them If they change their form.

Animals CAN see Jinns. The Prophet :saw: said, "If you hear the barking of a dog or braying of a donkey at night, seek refuge in Allah from satan, because they see what you do not. (ahmad and abu dawood)

** 3 types of jinns:**

1. Which flies in the air all the time.
  2. Those jinns that exist as snakes and dogs. (ahaann..watch out for htose stray dogs and those snakes in ur garden!)
  3. Earthbound type, which stays in one place or wanders about.

** Aerial jinn **

Brief overview: These Aerial Jinns are the ones that try to thieve the messages of Allah swt.

Allah swt issues an order, command. Angels obey it and pass it to the heaven below them, then those angels past it to the heavens below them, until it reaches this heaven of earth, and the jinns, try to snatch what they manage to overhear and carry it to their jinn friends. Thats when Angels , on spotting the jinn, throw meteors at them. (** yes thats what a SHOOOTING star is! **)

The reason jinns steal information or try to is because they would come and narrate it to people, however, mix it with lies. (bukhari and muslim)

^ this is how fortune tellers sumtimes come out to be right!
Hadith from Sahih Bukhari and Sahih Muslims states that Aisha (ra) said that she asked the Prophet (saw) about how it is that fortune tellers sometimes foretell something which is true, He replied. The Jinn that manages to catch the info, whispers it in the ear of the fortune teller and to one truth he adds one hundred lies.

Also this definition of shooting stars is furthered strengthened with 2 verses from the Noble Quran, 72:8-9 and 15:17-18

Animal jinn
The Prophet (saw) has said Whoever so sees any snakes [in their homes] should request it to leave 3 times. If any of the snakes appear after that…he should kill it because then that is a devil, not a muslim jinn. (sahih muslim)

Also jinns appear in the form of dogs. Remember, if you see a BLACK dog, then it is the devil. (sahih muslim and sahih bukhari)

** Now..the scary jinn…:mocking: EARTHBOUND **

The word “Qareen” means “companion” and this type of Jinn is specifially created for each and every Human being. all of us are assigned one qareen who whispers to us and instigates us to give into our lower desires…AND we are all assigned one angel who does the exact opposite. (ever see those cartoons? devil on one shoulder angel on another? ) This is according to the hadith in Sahih Muslim where the Prophet (saw) said, “Everyone of you has been assigned a companion from the jinn” The companions then asked, “Even you, O messenger of Allah?” And the prophet (saw) replied, “even me, except Allah has helped me against him and he has submitted! Now, he only tells me to do good!”

** every day avg joe jinn**

Sahih Muslim mentions that the prophet (saw) said to his companions, " DO not wipe yourselves clean with bones for they are provisions for your brothers." meaning leftover bones is what jinns eat. This statement was stated after he converted a tribe of jinns to islam.

** Do Jinn have families? Or are they all HOT and single? **

First of all we need to establish, that Jinns have gender like us. Male and female.
no no…no half giant octopus half man…simple male and female. This is evident from the dua that we are to make before going to the toilet. "O Allah, surely I seek refuge in you from the evil male and female jinn. :blush: (sahih Bukhari) Secondly as mentioned in the Quran 55:74 Jinns do have sexual intercourse. And that they do produce offsprings. Quran 18:50.

** Free will? anyone? **

Jinn have been given free will like humans. And are responsible for the choices they make and will bejudges according to their intentions, similar to humans. Mentioned in Noble Quran Surah Jinn verses 14 to 15.

And as for other jinns, who deviate from islam, they are known as the devils or shayateen.

Lastly there are the jinn who are called “ghouls” or “gheelan” (plural of ghouls). and these types of jinn appear before humans and rapidly change their shape. The Prophet (saw) said, “If the gheelan appear before you and transform themselves before you, call the adhan.” (Ahmad)

** Dreams and thoughts **

The jinn have the ability to affect us while we are dreaming. The Prophet (saw) discussed this issue when he (Saw) said : If one one of you sees a dream which pleases him, it is from Allah so let him praise Allah and speak about it. But if he sees other things which he dislikes, it is from satan, so let him seek refuge in Allah and not mention it to anyone and it will not harm him." (Sahih bukhari)

jabhi kehte hain, drawney khuaab dusron ko nahi batana chahiye!

Furthermore, When a person becomes strong in iman, the shayateen like to play with his/her mind by getting into their thoughts. The Prophet (saw) said, jinn will come into your thoughts and make you ponder things, and make you say bad things, such as “Who created this and that?” until satan will make u asks, "Who created your lord? Is your lord real ? Why did he create you for no reason or a reason? " When a person is faced with these thoughts ( AHEM AHEM half the people in religion forum!) one should seek refuge in Allah and stop such idle thoughts. (Sahih muslim)

** Jinns in your home! Muahahahahhaaha! (Excluding yourself =P! ) **

The prophet (saw) said, "if a man enters his house and remembers Allah swt while entering and while eating, satan says to his companions “There is no place to spend the night and no dinner tonight.” But if a person enters his house and eats without mentioning the name of Allah, then satan says, “You have found a place to spend the night and dinner to eat [to his shayateen friends].” (Sahih Muslim)

Further, the Jinns who spend the night in our homes can cause us different types of harms, including causing our houses to catch on fire, as the prophet (saw) said, “When you go to sleep, put out your lamps, because satan may guide something like a rat to knowck over the lamp and cause you to be burned.” (abu dawood, sahih)

** How else can satan play with our minds? **

Zaynab, the wife of Abdullah ibn Masood reported that once when he saw a cord necklace around her neck and asked what it was, she replied, “it is a cord in which a spell has been place to HELP me.” He (abdullah her husband) snatched it away from her neck and broke it and said, “Surely, the family of Abdullah has no need for SHIRK! I heard Allah’s Messeneger (saw) say “Verily, spells, talismans (tabeez) and charms are shirk. So Zaynab replied, why are you saying this, my eyes use to discharge (have allergy problems) and when i went to so and so the jew, he put a spell on it and it stopped discharging!” ibn Masood replied, " Verily it was only the DEVIL prodding it with his hand, so when you had it bewitched, he stopped. Making it seem that the talisman did it, and making you commit shirk.” (Abu Dawood, Ahmad).

** Cohabitation with JInn (Sexual Relations) **

THE FOLLOWING IS FRIGGIN SCARY !!

According to two companions (mujhaahid and al-Hasan) it is POSSIBLE for the jinn to interfere in the sexual intercourse between two human beings, only if the humans FORGET TO MENTION THE NAME OF ALLAH before beginning their actions!

Apparently, then it is possible for human and jinn to beget an offspring and to get married and continue with sexual relations. Is this haraam? Actually, in the Hanafi, and Shaafi madhab, both scholars have said it is Haraam, Imam Malik considers it to be Makrooh.

********And that is all..ouch my hands hurt from the typing! SO you better read it !!! ***********************

Re: Are Jinns Real?

Very information. About the last part, I am not trying to be funny, but it’ll be really hard for me to say Allah’s name before having intercourse with my wife :bummer: I mean come on, uss waqt apna hosh nahi rahey gaa, and besides, doesn’t saying religious stuff turn you off :-s

Crecent very informative :slight_smile:
But my dear Kuch Allah ka kof karo… :smack:
look at the time 11 baj rahay hay .. and iam going to sleep :frowning:
do you think after reading this thread i will be able to sleep :rolleyes:
I am the girl who cried on Holloween after looking at those scary ppl :crying:

WoW!! very informatic

"Thats when Angels , on spotting the jinn, throw meteors at them. ( yes thats what a SHOOOTING star is! )"

but shooting star rarely occur so does this mean that angelz catch the jinnz very rarely or do the jinnz very rarely get the info from the angelz???

:jazak: Cres :slight_smile:
I did not have a detail on this issue in any chronoligical order, but random pieces. Thanks for joing them up from types of Jins to the task of jins and how they are mentioned in QUran. May Allah:swt: reward u for that…
About the last part, the beauty of Islam is that it’s complete and makes every second and every action of our lives as Ibadah. Everything we do, if done in the light of Islam turns into good deed, hence the source of Sawaab in Aakhira.

Truely said in Quran:

:bism:

51:56 I have only created Jinns and men, that they may serve Me. (Az-Zariyat)

Ibn `Abbas:razi: reported: The Prophet:saw: said, "If anyone intends to have (sexual intercourse) with his wife, he should say: "Bismillah! Allahumma janibnash-Shaitana, wa jannibish-Shaitana ma razaqtana (In the Name of Allah, O Allah! Keep us away from Satan and keep Satan away from what You have bestowed upon us);’ and if Allah has ordained a child for them, Satan will never harm him.‘’
[Al-Bukhari and Muslim].

Commentary: One should recite the prayer mentioned in this Hadith before one cohabits with his wife. This will save him and his offspring from the evil effect of Satan. But it must be borne in mind that this prayer is to be recited before the intercourse and not during it.

If the sky wasn’t polluted and so bright at night…you’d see a shooting star every second.

I remember when the blackout happened in southern ontario…u looked up you cud see the milkyway, and enough! shooting stars :stuck_out_tongue:

those jinns are pretty consistent :stuck_out_tongue:

jazakallah khairun, for posting this, Shikra bhai…yeh perhlijiye, cuz this is what you’re supposed to do.

Arey ek dua maaro, Allah swt tumahre liye farishton ke body guards bhejen ge :wink:

Powerful words…powerful words.

Subhanallah!

jazakAllah...

Shikra:
Allah told you to do THAT with your wife and you would feel weird saying his name before doing it? Just to be nice to her while you're doing it instead of having a little satan in your brain...I think it's better to say it :D....never trust yourself with the bad things...you're a human after all.

^^ :rotfl: nicely put :stuck_out_tongue:

Interesting … :k:

Tnx Cres

lol…kia karoon, religious stuff turns me off and brings doosri duniya’s fear in me and thus my speedometer goes down :bummer: If I am not too excited, I’ll try to remember the dua :smiley:

:jazak:
Thank you Cres and AQ.

PS: Shikra Bhai :smack:

allah-o-akbar

Bhai meray dua paRhi jaati hai maari nahee. :slight_smile:

World of Jinn >>>>

Previous discussion >>>

My uncle told me once that my Per nana jaan use to teach Jinns....