lol its not about me im trying to see peoples POV and judge how desi is our community! (brutally honest)
How desi is our community? Picking on people is not a strictly desi trait, CuteGurl. It's an unpleasant part of human nature. Even non-desi people have obnoxious in-laws to contend with.
my issue is RV that in our culture till date uneducated gurls are accepted, aimless non ambitious gurls are accepted, *****y gurls are also accepted if they all tip-top BUT obese, short, not-traditionally good looking gurls are STILL NOT ACCEPTED and then we say why our generations are getting worse and acting like jahils? ya i am driving conclusions but im not rong when i say 'pretty gurls' who are 'accepted' by their inlaws know nothing more than parlor and tailor and those gurls are 'accepted' over smart sophisticated goal oriented gurls?? WHY?
In a perfect world, people would not judge and do rishtas based on just looks...
but in this imperfect world... it all depends on the guy's family.
If they are smart they would know tht looks fade away eventually so not to pick a person based on tht.
My fiance saw me at his sister's wedding and supposedly fell in love with me.. hahahha
then he sent his parents for rishta. They hadnt seen me since I was sixteen (and below a 100 lbs) so they were a bit shocked to c tht I had grown feminine curves hahahha (120lbs).. btw i m 5'4 just to give everyone an idea
My SILs are all reallllyyyyyyy thinnn like anorexic thin. none of them weigh mor ethan 90 lbs.
They accepted me the way I was, but after we got engaged, my MIL told me "pehlay to kitne patli thee" I stayed quiet as I was shocked.. I am not fat what so ever... Yes I have curves but all in the right places. lol Then she said "lekin phir bhi achi lagtee hoo" hmmm
Nowadays, I hear a few remarks here and there from them sooo not suree wht to do... its not like I am fat or something..
If by the grace of Allah i was a father in law I would not mind too much wether the choice of my son was fat or thin as long as he was happy and she was able to bear him strong and healthy children and thus allow me to retire from my duties and go find solace in the mountains. :)
I was not slim and trim when I got married. Inlaws had issue with that even though they themselves initiated the rishta still they found flaws in everything about me after shaadi. My sil was good looking and was accepted by them as beautiful but then after shaadi they found something wrong with her eyes and said kay yeh to bhangi hai inho nay humko bewakoof banaya. So the beautiful one now was bhangi (cockeyed) . So in a nutshell I would say that if the inlaws are jahil they will say bad and mean things about you even when those things don't exist but if the inlaws are insaan and not jahil they will not give you taunts even when there is something they don't like.
Really it varies with the values , upbringing , ilkhlaaq and insaniyat they have.
i was a uk size 10 when i got marrid, yet women in pak still called me fat- cos they were size4 to 6......but hey all the ATTENTION was always on me no them- JEALOUSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
note-its the women who make other womens life hell----
I was not slim and trim when I got married. Inlaws had issue with that even though they themselves initiated the rishta still they found flaws in everything about me after shaadi. My sil was good looking and was accepted by them as beautiful but then after shaadi they found something wrong with her eyes and said kay yeh to bhangi hai inho nay humko bewakoof banaya. So the beautiful one now was bhangi (cockeyed) . **So in a nutshell I would say that if the inlaws are jahil they will say bad and mean things about you even when those things don't exist but if the inlaws are insaan and not jahil they will not give you taunts even when there is something they don't like.
** Really it varies with the values , upbringing , ilkhlaaq and insaniyat they have./QUOTE]
So true!
If inlaws wanna taunt you or pick on you, dont worry, they will find a reason to do that whether you are fat as a truck or slim as a door