I am wondering if films like “Satya”, “Vastav” and the recently released “Company” etc. popular among Pakistanis (me an Indian ofcourse).
I am interested to know this because the language in these movies(usually based on Bombay Underworld) is essentially Bombay-ish “tapori” Hindi and can be difficult to understand even for Indians who have never lived in Bombay.
I've never heard of Tapori, so my guess is that Pakistanis would avoid these movies (in fact, I suspect that most Indians would avoid them as well).
what bombay is to india, karachi is to pakistan. welcome to karachi and the pakistani style taporiness.
yes tapori movies are very much appreciated and liked by karachites. me to start with. i love all the tapori movies, either comedy or sad. there is a really amazing movie called Salaam Bombay (oscar nominee) by the director of Monsoon Wedding and Kama Sutra. I forget the name of the director, but i have heard lots about salaam bombay. im trying really hard to find that movie in my local desi stores but its a pretty hard catch.
they are pretty famous... I saw satya once (no asif khan, I didnt pay for the ticket, someone gave me the dvd for free), but I didnt find it difficult to understand the lingo...
Company is the story of DAWOOD IBRAHIM and CHHOTA RAJAN who were partners in Crime but parted ways after Babri Demolition.
SATYA is another classic movie. But my all time MUMBAI UNDERWORLD Movie is AGNEEPATH With the Shahenshah of Bolywood Apna BIG B.
AK
did anyone ask for the stories asif?
The Game Responds:
*Vaastav and Company were pretty damn good, if you ask me. Satya lacked the star-power, but it was still very watchable. People get sick and tired of mushy love stories; same is the case with the Pakistanis, Mr. Chilli. **Think About It**. People, That Is All.*
Whatchya gonna do,brutha, when the ARTIST-mania runs wild on you?
I just watched Company like 2 hours ago. It was BRILLIANT!!
I made sure to watch Company on DVD and it was superb
btw, I like Satya too. Sure.. thise “tapori” movies are good after sometime. But if everyone started make them every day.. then they’d get lame and boring.
i cant believe anyone liked such a wannabe gangster flick like "company". sure, the actors were talented, but it was so friggin lame.
"chandni bar" was worth watching. "vaastav" was bearable. am not gonna watch any more tapori flicks, same old story, too repetitive.
'Chandni Bar' is a well made movie..good acting no hamming and no formulas..but I feel that director should have at least given a positive message out of it..the film was depressing to the point that u feel sorry for this society...
I saw “Salaam Bombay” couple of days ago on Cinemax. It was damn good.
OOO I WANNA WATCH COMPANY!!!
DAMN IT! BUT PHOENIX MEIN KOI ACHA INDIAN STORE NAHI JAHAN SAY MEIN VIDEO RENT KAR SAKOON
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif
Maharani jee di JAY HO!
ye i guess, these movies are awsome!
**For a crash course in TAPORI LANGUAGE i.e. Bombaiiyaa Hindi (also called Bhindi)
visit : http://www.geocities.com/ashtheambi/bhindi.html
[This message has been edited by chilli (edited April 28, 2002).]
Ahh tapori movies rock!!
Satya, Vaastav…amazzzing!
Can’t wait to watch company!
I was born with a defective eye ![]()
Re: Are Bombay "tapori" movies ( eg. Satya, Company) popular among Pakistanis ?
I had seen Satya long ago and i remember liking it but i didnt know back then what it was called. Just saw it again last week (was on tv, Zee Cinema) and realized again what an awesome movie it is.
Its got all the punch without all the star power. Awesome movie.
And yes pakistanis love tapori movies.
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
Re: Are Bombay "tapori" movies ( eg. Satya, Company) popular among Pakistanis ?
Pakistanis are totally obsessed with bollywood and everything Indian.
Re: Are Bombay “tapori” movies ( eg. Satya, Company) popular among Pakistanis ?
…as are indians with Paki singers ![]()
Btw, you guys should watch SARKAAR (Bug B & Li’l B)
Sarkar was really good.
I was dragged to the movies to watch this one, and I went there protesting all the way coz I heard it had 14 songs and Aishwarya Rai in it. The whole time I kept thinking, pretty good so far, when will Ash make her appearance and ruin it? Before I knew it, it was over, with no sign of a single song or Ash :k: