I understand this thread could have been in culture or religion, but I feel it will be better suited here. However, mods, please feel free to move it if needed.
I have been teaching arabic for beginners for a few months in a local school here as a volunteer. The kids are pretty good at identifying huroof now but as I start with the harakaat, such as fatha (zabar), kasra (zeyr) and dammah (pesh), I see confusion. They forget the letters and cannot seem to grasp the effect of the harakaat on the letters. How would you suggest I proceed? It’s obviously something with my style of teaching.
Secondly, I am also teaching an Islamic Virtues class which entails lessons on character building. I would appreciate some ideas from you to make my class more interesting and worthwhile. My students are age 6-13.
well just want to ask .. at what level are the students studying .. am presuming Qaaida level .. well for kids its best that they are taught as in the traditional way ..which is zabr zer and pesh and dont confuse them with fatah, dammah and kasrah .. and once they have the grasp of the alpahbet and move onto .. spelling words ...and are fluent at it till they reach a stage where they no longer needto spell words ... only then i am sure it would / will be alot easier for yourself and for the kids to grasp and understand what fatah , dammah and kasrah is but till then i would suggest the traditional way ..
and this is how i ve done it from experience .. this is how i was taught...
But MashaAllah .. thas a very nice and wonderful job you doing ..teaching kids cos they are our future .. Good Luck :)
but as I start with the harakaat, such as fatha (zabar), kasra (zeyr) and dammah (pesh), I see confusion. They forget the letters and cannot seem to grasp the effect of the harakaat on the letters. How would you suggest I proceed? It's obviously something with my style of teaching.
Thanks.
Mera khiyal hy English main harkaat nahi hotin tu yahan ky paly barhy bachon ko kuch mushkil tu ho gi is main. Bilkul new cheez hy on ky liy.Jaisy Pakistan main Molvie sahab ratwaty hain ratwao. Alif zabar A b zabar ba Alif zyr e **:zor zor sy hilty hoy sabq yad kerta smiley:**
MAsha Allah
it makes me feel so happy when i see ppl doing something voluntarily doing something for deen.
well Niksik, i would say go with the proper desi method thats been since ages.
Start with Norani Quayida to make me learn the basics, and when i say basics then i mean very basic, and after that start teaching em Quran, and when they are reading it just keep on pin pointing their mistakes and after repeating the mistake few times they wont do it again insha Allah. Norani Quaida really helps alot.
ps. i dono uve been ever to pakistan or no, but teach as pakistani molvi sahabs do it is also very effective, if the kids keep on repeating the mistakes, twist their ears so hard that they start screaming their butt off, and also hit em at their backbone with ur fist closed :@:@:@:@
*Allah ny jisy Ecoshan jysa dost diya hu osy dushmanon ki zarorat nahi rehti:@:
^^ .. teach em like a pakistani maulwi shab .. lol .. KEEEP ONE POINT IN MIND .. MAKE SURE YOU DUNT HAVE A STICK IN YOUR HAND .. THAT WILL DEFINATLY GET YOU DEPORTED BACK TO PAKISTAN :p
I have been teaching with hijjah or however you would say it, the traditional way like alif zabar a kind of thing, but like Goodnews correctly pointed out, the kids here are not used to that style. Also, they don’t revise at home so when they come back after 2 days, their brains seem washed. I am using norani qaida, then we move on to Ahsanul Qawaid. I myself have learned this way and am duplicating the method I was taught. However, I think I need to slow down further.
The problem is that I get calls from the parents staying how come the kids are still stuck at the same lesson…and when I tell them to help at home, they say they do and that their kid knows everything.
tell the parents to get a life, or tell me m gona go to em and shoot em with my riffle. their kids shouldnt even need to come to u learn Quran, parents should theirselves should be good enough to teach their kids proper Quran, and u are teaching em for free and still those stupid dumboz are complaining @:@