Arab-Muslim charity hit where it hurts

I have seen American-Muslims do the lose talk against Jewish and other American groups.

Well the chickens are coming home to roost. There will be a slow and steady squeeze on every entity supporting Hammas, Qaida, or Jamat Islami type organizations.

Members of these organizations may not go to jails, but they will be hit where it hurts most: the pocket book.

It is time that American-Muslims start supporting NGOs who promote peace and harmony in the middle East. Otherwise they will lose their shirts.

Such cases may go to Supreme Court, but every Arab group in US and UK must be cautious about sending money to Middle Eastern organizations.

Details:

http://www.suntimes.com/output/news/cst-nws-terror09.html

Muslims paying for the death of a Jew

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/local/story/260361p-222952c.html

Muslim charities must pay in slay

Three U.S. Muslim charities were ordered yesterday to pay $156 million to the parents of a teenager from New York gunned down in a terror attack in the West Bank.

The federal jury in Chicago awarded the damages to Stanley and Joyce Boim, who now live in Israel, for the 1996 murder of their 17-year-old son, David.

Earlier this month, the jury had found the Holy Land Foundation, the Islamic Association for Palestine and Islamic fund-raiser Mohammed Salah liable for Boim’s death by funding the terror group Hamas.

Yesterday, the jury awarded $52 million in damages - which were automatically tripled under federal law - and also found a third group liable, the Quranic Literacy Institute.

It’s doubtful the couple will recover anywhere near that amount from the defendants, but Joyce Boim said the lawsuit was not about money.

“If I can stop one nickel from reaching Hamas to buy bullets, to produce bombs that kill innocent men, women and children, I will have justice for David,” she said. “It could be billions of dollars. It’s not going to bring David back.”

** The Quaranic Institute refused to defend itself during the trial, and spokesman Amer Haleem claimed religious persecution after the damages were announced. **

“They had not one bit of evidence, not one shred of evidence against us,” he said. “All they had was the fact that we were Muslims and they used the word terror.”

[Edit]: Now, obviously there may be more to this story than just this, but I want to know, why would the Quranic Institute refuse to defend itself? And if they refuse to do so, what gives them the right to complain of religious persecution?

Is there a specific reason, Islamic or otherwise, that QI did not defend themselves?

I admit, I’m not too knowledgeable about politics, that’s why I’m posting this here, and asking these questions. So, please, no dirty comments, just serious answers, thanks.

Re: Muslims paying for the death of a Jew

*Originally posted by Sara516: *

"They had not one bit of evidence, not one shred of evidence against us," he said. "All they had was the fact that we were Muslims and they used the word terror."

[Edit]: Now, obviously there may be more to this story than just this, but I want to know, why would the Quranic Institute refuse to defend itself? And if they refuse to do so, what gives them the right to complain of religious persecution?

The above mentioned paragraph says it all, and hence no need for defense...

Think of it this way: Tomorrow you have a robbery in your house and yesterday you saw me two blocks away waiting for a bus...

You call the authorities and say that I robbed your house because you saw me standing two blocks away...

Let's also say the policeman is your brother and the judge is your father...What do you expect me to say?

I will simply say 'I didn't do it, I was just waiting for a bus...' The judge (your father) knowing that you might be able to derive some monetary benefit out of me by harrasment, extortion and scaring me, then your father would resort to it...

And me being me, would rather go to jail than pay to blackmailers and extortionists...

This kind of justice is justice only in the eyes of Kafirs and mod-Muslims...And instead of calling a spade a spade, they repeat verbatim what their puppet masters (CNN, FOX) tell them to repeat...But for those who understand what justice and being just is, they know this is wrong...

How much money do you believe the American government will pay to the dead of Iraq? Or those killed in a wedding in Afghanistan? Nothing...

This case is merely extortion...

"Is there a specific reason, Islamic or otherwise, that QI did not defend themselves?"

Yes although it has not been said, these people probably reject the legitimacy of the US legal system. Unless they appear before an Islamic court in the US they will not accept it, and we all know that won't happen. So playing the martyr in court and in the press creates sympathy with Lajawab and his ilk.

Obviously there must have been some evidence, or they could not have lost the verdict. Challenging the "evidence" in court and defending themselves might give a little credibility to the claim of no evidence.

Screw em'.

*Originally posted by Ohioguy: *
"Is there a specific reason, Islamic or otherwise, that QI did not defend themselves?"

Yes although it has not been said, these people probably reject the legitimacy of the US legal system. Unless they appear before an Islamic court in the US they will not accept it, and we all know that won't happen. So playing the martyr in court and in the press creates sympathy with Lajawab and his ilk.

Obviously there must have been some evidence, or they could not have lost the verdict. Challenging the "evidence" in court and defending themselves might give a little credibility to the claim of no evidence.

Screw em'.

Nice of you mention that...Americanists are not the first to be plagued by this pig-headed mentality...(I guess that's why Muslims aren't permitted to eat pork...One becomes pig-headed)...

Anyways, the Taliban asked for evidence against OBL...The typical American response? Screw 'em...

The world asked for evidence of WMDs...The American response? Screw 'em...

The world asked for evidence between Iraq and Al-Qaeda...The American response? Screw 'em...

Seems the concept of evidence and proof of guilt are the first to go when one becomes blind with hatred and power...Who needs justice and fairness when you hold a gun...Screw 'em...

pig headed?

If this charity chooses not to defend itself, what is to be assumed? Either that they are guilty and have no defense, or that they are political and want to play the martyr, the most successful of Islamic propaganda ploys.

This has nothing to do with WMDs, or OBL.

There appears to be plenty of evidence! Former FBI agent tesifies that the money trail led to Hamas. Better to play the martyr then to suffer a defeat in court. That way you can have Lajawab whining and throwing up every bit of flak he can find.

"An expert on Mideast terrorism testified Monday that a suburban Islamic organization that translates religious texts served as “a money-laundering clearinghouse” for the militant Palestinian group Hamas.

Matthew Levitt, a senior fellow at the Washington Institute for Near East Policy, also testified that the Oak Lawn-based Quranic Literacy Institute had provided “cover” for Muhammad Salah, a Bridgeview resident awaiting trial on criminal charges of financing Hamas.

Levitt’s testimony came at a multimillion-dollar trial in U.S. District Court in Chicago in which the parents of a teenager killed in a 1996 terrorism attack in Israel are seeking to hold the institute responsible and win monetary damages.

U.S. Magistrate Judge Arlander Keys has already found Salah, the Islamic Association for Palestine, which recently closed its Palos Hills office, and the Texas-based Holy Land Foundation for Relief and Development legally responsible for the slaying of David Boim, a 17-year-old U.S. citizen.

Levitt, a former FBI counter-terrorism analyst, testified that financial records show that in late 1992 and early 1993 Hamas’ political director and two key aides funneled nearly $1 million to Salah “to fund a new generation of Hamas terrorists.”

Israel had deported several hundred Hamas activists in December 1992, stripping Hamas of leadership and decimating its infrastructure in the West Bank, according to Levitt.

Levitt also called the Quranic Literacy Institute a money-laundering clearinghouse for Hamas, citing a Woodridge real estate deal that left the institute with a windfall of close to $1.4 million.

“Everything about this transaction is suspicious,” Levitt told jurors.

Among the oddities, he said, was that the institute, a nonprofit group, was involved in funding the deal at a time it didn’t have much money. It also never invested a dime in the deal, he said.

Levitt also said the institute provided cover for Salah, listing him falsely as a paid employee in a couple of documents.

One September 1991 letter by Amer Haleem, the institute’s secretary, said Salah had been employed since the first of that year.

In testimony Monday, Haleem contended at the time of the letter, the institute had agreed to hire Salah retroactive to Jan. 1, but a couple weeks later Salah decided not to take the job.

Levitt also testified he found to be reliable Salah’s confession to Israeli authorities following his arrest in early 1993, saying that as part of a ruse Israeli authorities tricked Salah to think his handwritten statement would be given to other Hamas prisoners to be smuggled out of prison. Salah, who has pleaded not guilty to the criminal charges, has repudiated the confession, saying he was tortured."
http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/local/southsouthwest/chi-0412070127dec07,1,664585.story?coll=chi-newslocalssouthwest-hed

So, the Quranic Institute is being sued for millions of dollars because one of its members was a member of the Hamas Mujahideen, a secret which is very easy to hide...

If I am a Mujahid who helps other Mujahideen around the world, and I live in the States, then I decide that to pass my time more constructively, I will join an institute where I can learn and help teach others...

The institute welcomes me with open arms ( as is Muslim practice, as unlike untrusting Americans, we don't delve into someone's past), and later, the American government finds that I once bandaged a wound on a Taliban Mujahid, gave money and aid to Afghan refugees many of whom were Taliban and arrests me for being a terrorist sympathizer...

Are you telling me that the institute would have to pay millions of dollars because they took me in?

OG my friend...Islam was spread not because of the sword but because of the importance and emphasis it placed on being upright, noble and honorable even at the expense of one's life...And everything noble and honorable is what the spirit of every man wishes to attain...

One of the things which the Quran emphatically states is:

You who believe! Show integrity for the sake of God, bearing witness with justice. Do not let hatred for a people incite you into not being just. Be just. That is closer to faith. Heed God [alone]. God is aware of what you do. (Qur'an, 5:8)**

Judging by the American rule of law, every American, specially if he is a Republican, is a legitimate and compulsory target of each and every Muslim around the world, because he placed the man who waged war against the Muslims into a seat of power...

But Islam states:
"And no bearer of burdens will bear the burden of another" [Al-An'am 6:164]

And as if we'd trust American and Israeli intelligence...After all that transpired and is happening, it must take a very foolhardy idiot to fall for anything that comes out of American news and intelligence..And combine it with Israeli intelligence? Lies, lies and damned lies they'll remain...

"So, the Quranic Institute is being sued for millions of dollars because one of its members was a member of the Hamas Mujahideen, a secret which is very easy to hide..."

Sorry, million dollar Real Estate deals are pretty obvious. A million dollars coming and going out of the Charities coffers would require the cooperation of many people involved in the charity. Of course they allowed all of this to be introduced into evidence without challenging it. Sort of damning on the face of it eh? Never mind the guys confession...

Ooops...

Rant on, quote whatever you want. Lecture away.

Woudn't have any effect OG...Screw 'em...

So when can Palestinians start suing the Amercian govt. for funding the zionist army which is flouting all international norms (Geneva Convention et al.) as well as the USA's own legislation about the use of weapons against civilians? Thousands of Plaestinians have been killed, maimed and made homelss by the zionist entity funded hand over fist be succeding American regimes. But to quote OG "Screw 'em" (the Palestinians, that is). OG do not try and put a justice/evidence gloss over the ruling against the charities. Justice was not and is not in the American regime's viewfinder as far as the on-slaught on Muslim lands is concerned. Just OIL. So simple.

"OG do not try and put a justice/evidence gloss over the ruling against the charities. Justice was not and is not in the American regime's viewfinder as far as the on-slaught on Muslim lands is concerned."

First of all, this had nothing to do with the "American Regime". This was a civil suit brought by a family whose son was killed by Hamas.

They did present evidence that this charity funded Hamas. Hamas is not a country, it has no sovereign rights. It is a terrorist organization with a thin cloak of legitimacy.

Obviously the Muslim charity HAD no defense or they would have defended themselves and challenged the evidence. The "charity" has no hope of paying even a dime of this penalty. This suit has been ongoing for nearly five years, yet their excuse is that "they did not have adequate time to prepare a case"?

And you guys swallow this crap, and then rant on about Oil, and onslaught of Muslim lands? This case was about an incident five years ago. Long before Afghanistan, long before Iraq. Hamas INTENTIONALLY targets and kills innocents. And yet you guys are here defending them, and apologising for them. Hamas behaves like mad dogs, and they should have every leader hunted down and assassinated.

That needs to be separated from the Palestinian cause which, by the way, I support.

But the tactics of Hamas, and terrorist organizations need to be denounced by Muslims, not defended. An organization who intentionally (there is that word again) kills innocents should be destroyed with the utmost wrath. A huge part of the "support" for Israel is based on the revulsion of the tactics used by the Palestinian terror groups. Denouncing the INTENTIONAL slaughter, (and that is the essence of the word "terrorism" in the minds of most Americans) would go a long way toward strenthening support for the Palestinains, and weakening the Israelis best propaganda tool.

Excellent! Now lets hit Pakistani government where it hurts, the Kashmiris, Afghans, and Americans should get billions in from Pakistan since it backed and supported Al-Qeada, gave birth to Taliban, and have sponsored all known Kashmir jihadi groups. This is an unbeatable case, can’t go wrong on this one. I’m sure the poor Tajiks, Hazaras and Uzbeks of Afghanistan will apperciate this very much.

*Originally posted by Logo: *
Excellent! Now lets hit Pakistani government where it hurts, the Kashmiris, Afghans, and Americans should get billions in from Pakistan since it backed and supported Al-Qeada, gave birth to Taliban, and have sponsored all known Kashmir jihadi groups. This is an unbeatable case, can't go wrong on this one. I'm sure the poor Tajiks, Hazaras and Uzbeks of Afghanistan will apperciate this very much.

it backed and supported al-qaeda? OBL was CIA's lil experiment, so they should pay for it, and taliban were the by producty of the screwed up post war handling of afghanistan by the US, so yep, US should pay up by your example.

whats the deal with listing opinions as facts, maybe you should be sued because you send money to OBL every thursday, and are hiding two taleban in your basement

Well the US is the daddy here, daddy don't pay, daddy little b*tches pay when daddy wants it to.

I might be sending money to OBL or hiding two taliboobs though it’s not as bad as selling nuclear secrets to rogue nations, a part-time job you have taken up.

p.s. enjoy the F-16s.

p.s.2 daddy sends love.

oh guess u learnt some interesting lessons from daddy, explains it all.
waiday parrhay likhay hotay toh u would have known it was an international ring, waisay toh aur scientist bhi idher udhar pakray gaye that secrets behjtay huay, memory ki varzish karaoon kya

PS: enjoy what the f-16 will bring
PS2: who's yo daddy

agir tu para leeka hota so you would know that that is the whole point kaka jee, people with nukes tech selling their secrets to international rogue nations or terror sponsoring nations. Daatrrr issshh yyy itsshh coollddd nuuukkklurrrr plllorrruuufoooraasshhaaan.

p.s. enjoyin already.

p.s2. the one sleeping with yo mommy. :- )

Screw em'.

Firstly, What exactly is the purpose of the QI?

In my thinking ... (and am without knowledge of any kind about Q.I.) .... Q. I. by name suggests to me a society of people who study and educate others about the Q'uran.

If the group was subversive and guilty of funneling monies to "terror organisations" wouldn't they have had assets assets frozen?

Is it possible QI chose not to defend itself because the group is not based on and does not participate in terror activities?

Perhaps disregarding on the principal that recognizing give creedence to accusations that are not credible? A concensus that the accusations did not warrant a response?