Re: Aqiqah (celebration of child birth)
Is it true that like wedding that the girls side provides more stuff for the (chatti) for the baby. And the son gives a gift to his mother in gold???
Re: Aqiqah (celebration of child birth)
Is it true that like wedding that the girls side provides more stuff for the (chatti) for the baby. And the son gives a gift to his mother in gold???
Re: Aqiqah (celebration of the child birth) [Merged]
Pakistani style Aqiqah
It is more like a wedding, you gather the whole family in your house or in a hall, serve food(degain), you can also decorate your house with lights and flowers, distribute mithai etc
Pakistani style Aqiqah It is more like a wedding, you gather the whole family in your house or in a hall, serve food(degain), you can also decorate your house with lights and flowers, distribute mithai etc
Thanx a lot, anyone else who can help out, or might share there personal experience would like to get more details....
Re: Aqiqah (celebration of the child birth)
Thanx for th replies i have the knowledge abt qurbani and all that we will be feedig the poor and follow all the islamic ways inshallah. I was wondering more about the pakistani tradition the party, what cloths to wear, what gifts to give and stuff, anyone who can share there experience how big event can one have like a wedding day? how heavy cloths can the mom wear, any ideas or advice to make the day memorable????
It all depend on family traditions, i guess.
For instance punjabi Aqeeqa celebration might differ than pakhtoon or memon celebrations. Just like weddings they are not any generic traditions as such.
Religious part remains the same, which you already know.
Question: are there specifics on what the animal should look like when choosing it for aqeeqa sacrifice? Someone in Pakistan said it must have two teeth at least?? I can’t find any rulings on appearance just that it should be older than 6 months and can be a sheep or a goat.
Normally, the animal which is to be slaughtered should be with two teeth (probably this is a symbol that the animal is no more infant). This is followed for animals to be sacrificed in Qurbani on Eid and might be same for Aqiqa as well.
As far as the which animal it should be. I think there is no restriction. It depends on availability and affordability. In Arabs, they also used to sacrifice camel on children’s aqiqa during Prophet’s time.
i agree…murGhii ko chhoR ke kuchh bhii zibaH kar deN. ![]()
vaise, baby goat kaa meat to bahot bahtar hotaa hai. ham sab log yehii chaahte haiN k baby goat khaane ko mile. iskaa gosht ziyaada zai’qe daar hotaa hai aur bil-Khusoos iske gosht meN bakre waali mahek nahiiN hotii…in the west, baby goat meat is prefered over an adult/older bakraa.
do daaNt means at least a year old.