Aqeeqah gift

Does one buy a gift for a baby’s aqeeqah if they had already given a gift when the child was born?

Re: Aqeeqah gift

I wouldnt want to go empty handed, though if u have already given once, u dont havta give again. Nothing wrong in that

But if it were me, i would take something small...aisay hi. Any reason to buy anything for a baby :d

It was a little different situation but when I took my 6 month old daughter to Pakistan for the first time everyone in my family/extended family gave her something (money or gift).Then we did her aqeeqa before I was to return.It was not a function or get together,only meat was distributed among family members.Some of them again gave her some gifts(mostly money)..
SO I guess you can take something...maybe a small gift or gift card.

I agree with khawa.

Yes Afshi, dont be a cheesecake and spend another 20 bucks and buy a gift

I say give them a 50 quid - and let them buy what they want

i'd take a gift for the kid too.

I don't know what is acceptable but my mom and I are facing this situation we went to visit my best friend as she just had a baby boy and we gifted her chocolates for herself and cash for baby. Now 2 weeks later we are also invited to the aqeeqah. Mom regrets giving her gift in advance and thinks its going to be ackward to go empty handed, however...

Personally I think its ok to go in empty handed, because we have already given our official gift, and some people have a limited capacity on what they can afford to give anyways based on how many occasions come up for them in the long run. I mean mashAllah this far into the year my family has already provided gifts for 4 weddings, with one more coming up this weekend (5 total). A gift for a wedding is $100 minimum each separate for rukhsati and walima and $50 minimum for seeing a baby, based on relation and how personal they are it would be more so it adds up. A small follow up gift is not going to come cheap either if you are looking for something decent. I personally don't really think its embarassing, against etiquettes, or offensive to just walk in empty handed provided that you have already gifted in advance...

How long ago was the baby born? If it was just recently, within a month, I don't think a gift would be required, if you've already given something. It would be nice to take something though. Perhaps a card (although there's no aqeeqah cards at the dollar store :p) along with a stuffed animal.

And if the baby was born 6 or more month ago, I would take another gift.

Afshi, this is the right time to get rid of the Mikasa's leaf shape platter that your friend gave you last year when they came to your house for the first time.

It's not something to stress or fuss over. But it's nice to give children, especially babies, something. You can take a story book, a stuffed animal, whatever. It can even be something to accessorize the original gift, almost as a reminder of what you have given as well.

If you have time, order an Islamic game/puzzle from NoorArt or islamicbookstore or alBalaagh.

I would take a gift again. Its odd to go empty handed. Everyone who is coming to see my newborn is bringing something although they already gave gifts for him on baby shower.

^ That's what happened with my daughter too, tho I did not expect it.

if budget it an issue take a bouquet of flowers......I wouldn't ever go empty handed.

unless you really really are on a tight budget dont go empty handed..
budget ideas:
home made cakes, cupcakes,or desi mitha/fav dish

buy cheap flowers bit of cellophane and wrap with ribbon curls
buy 3 things at poundland/ dollar store,wrap in clear cellophane add ribbon curls and you have a beautiful gift for $5/£5

unless you always want to show your status at $50/$100...then your stuck

but remember it's the thought that counts...

just a token gift would do - a dress, cute shoes, flowers, homemade cake or cupcakes

Was in the same situation a little while ago and was also wondering what to do....I had given a large gift at the baby shower and then gave some clothes when I went to visit the baby at home...the aqeeqa was shortly after my visit, so I didnt bring anything again with me. Had I only given one gift beforehand, I probably would have taken something with me, but as I had already given twice I didnt think it was necessary to give a third time, especially since the baby shower gift was quite expensive

tlk, relax it's just a question. the last thing i am is stingy. I just didnt know what the ettiquette is. The aqeeqah is nothing fancy, but just a dinner at the masjid. The parents are religious, so i guess cash is the safest bet, since I already given clothes when he was born 7 weeks ago, and not sure if bringing stuffed animals is appropriate.

thanks guys for ur suggestions. I must admit, it is a lot of gift giving - the shower, at birth, aqeeqah...inshallah i (oops...my future baby inshallah) will be rolling in the dough!

I am relaxed, I am relaxed.