AQ Khan's buddies now under American sanctions

AQ Khan’s buddies now under American sanctions

I guess the law finally caught up to everyone or most everyone. Dawn reports the sanctions being clamped down on Qadeer Khan’s close associates.

US slaps sanctions on 13 people tied to A.Q. Khan

Monday, 12 Jan, 2009 | 07:57 PM PST |

WASHINGTON: The US State Department said on Monday that it had slapped sanctions on 13 individuals and three private companies because of their involvement in the A.Q. Khan nuclear-proliferation network.

‘We believe these sanctions will help prevent future proliferation-related activities by these private entities, provide a warning to other would-be proliferators,’ the department said in a statement.

The sanctions followed a multiyear US government review of information regarding the A.Q. Khan network, it said.

The entities provided an ‘extensive international network’ for the proliferation of nuclear equipment and know-how that offered ‘one-stop’ shopping for countries seeking to develop nuclear weapons, the State Department said.

Last year a UN nuclear watchdog said the A.Q. Khan network smuggled nuclear weaponization blueprints to Iran, Libya and North Korea and was active in 12 countries.

‘He and his associates provided Iran and Libya with centrifuge components, designs and in some cases, complete centrifuges,’ the State Department statement said.

Khan has been under house arrest since 2004 after Pakistan was confronted with evidence by the US Central Intelligence Agency.

The sanctioned individuals and companies were listed by the State Department as: Selim Alguadis, Kursad Zafer Cire, Mohammad Nasim ud Din, EKA Elektronik Kontrol Aletleri Sanayi ve Ticaret A.S., ETI Elektroteknik Sanayi ve Ticaret A.S., Tradefin Engineering, Mohammad Farooq, Daniel Geiges, Paul Griffin, Peter Griffin, Abdul Qadeer Khan, Shamsul Bahrin bin Rukiban, Buhary Seyed Abu Tahir, Gotthard Lerch, Gerhard Wisser and Shah Hakim Shahnazim Zain.

It also said sanctions have been imposed under Export-Import Bank Act (EXIM) against the same people firms mentioned above as well as Daniel Geiges, Gotthard Lerch, and Gerhard Wisser.

No further details were given over those affected by the sanctions or their nationalities.

http://www.dawn.net/wps/wcm/connect/Dawn Content Library/dawn/news/world/us-slaps-sanctions-on-13-people-tied-to-aqkhan–qs

Re: AQ Khan's buddies now under American sanctions

what a national hero!

Bhagat Singh was a national hero too. He too was "sanctioned".

Bhagat Singh fought for independence from slavery. A.Q.Khan specialized in stealing technology and reselling. If you want to compare the two, who am I to argue

Both were national heroes by their "nations". Whether they killed, stole, or whatever their nations were supporting their illegal acts. Got it?

Free India revers Bhagat Singh for his courage and sacrifice. Pakistan put A.Q.Khan under house arrest. That tells it all.

Many people think technology is the domain of all mankind.

And this changes what?

Re: AQ Khan’s buddies now under American sanctions

:smack:Main her bar samjhti hon apny GS ke AQ Anwar Quraishi ka zikar hu raha hy:smack2:

A lot of people in Pakistan still living in a utopia where AQ is national hero, but unfortunately on international scale he is known as mercenary, smuggler and God knows what else. When will Pakistan's come out from state of denial and start embracing truth.

So you want everyone to become a brown sahib and accept whatever they are fed 'internationally'?

Look yaar, we will start jumping with extraordinary joy if Times or FT post a good article on Pakistan. I never understand this behavior when their is something against us we labeled them as international or Jew funded... etc..

But for your information their were very handful of reports publish in Dawn too regarding Dr.Sahib kartoots , is it also funded by Zionists !

One should alwayz remember that whoever gets sanctioned by America doesnt mean that they are really culprit or should be hated. I really dont care about that. It tried to sanction so many chinese companies as well, but look whats happening.

No matter what, the fact will remain the same. Its AQ Khan whom we should be thankful to, for the nuke otherwise Pakistan would not be even surviving esp after Mumbai event. India would have stormed and eaten Pak just like a pigeon.

No wonder you'll alwaz find all indians hating AQ Khan ............ and no wonder you'll find ppl like Burqa going side-by-side with them...

Re: AQ Khan’s buddies now under American sanctions

lol AQ khan stole it

jaisey india ne khud banaya hai na BOMB. biggest joke ever. there are many countries now with BOMBS, sub ko AQ khan gya tha na bantnain. indian should check with dr. kalam, shaid uss ko bhy AQ khan ne hy diya ho BOMB. :rotfl:

America gives Israel every thing, Israeal then gives it india. thats all good
but when muslim countries start sharing it, thats wrong. double standards . . . :emmy:

Bhagat singh was hero to locals and british called him baghi, a traitor
AQ is our hero, we damn care what u call him. jaltey rehoo

one thing I am not sure if Pakistani common man understands or not.

When a part of the population makes people that are considered dirty by the rest of the world, it reflects badly on your country....A.Q.Khan, Osama etc enjoy support in Pakistan.

That's true. But extremists don't understand this.

I mean Nathu Raam Godsay was a killer of Mahatma. And still Hindu-extremists many of them brahmins treat him as hero.

AQ Khan broke no laws. He is not a convicted criminal. What he has done is given the Islamic world and specifically Pakistan the ability to defend itself against enemies. He is a national hero to Pakistan and many in the Islamic world.

His only crime is given the Islamic world the ability to defend itself.