We are having a separate nikaah ceremony here in Canada, and the actual reception/rukhsati in Pakistan. Since many of our friends from here won’t be able to come to Pakistan, we have decided to have a big enough affair so that they can also be a part of it. I already have an idea as to what I want for my reception/valima etc, but since I had never imagined having a nikaah beforehand, I never thought of what to wear for it. My mom wants me to wear a lehenga but I don’t want to dress like a total bride. I have decided to wear a not-too-heavy saree on my nikaah, with a dupatta to cover my head. Would that be appropriate? Also, if I do go for a saree would this one (or something similar if it’s turns out to be too expensive) be fine or is it too simple? Any suggestions/comments would really help because I am totally confused right now …
Re: Appropriate for nikaah ceremony?
I would suggest saree may not be that appropriate for nikah ceremony. Also with a separate dupata you may not be too comfortable ( I guess) in the dress. Go for something flairy, not a lehnga if you dont want as you might be wearing that on your rukhsati. Try an anarkali peshwaz, or a trail dress. or a floor length maxi style dress. These are quite inn too.You can have this same saree color and design converted to a dress.
A random design click for you- go for a chiffon flairy angrakha style dress with trail, having work around the entire opening and border and around arms. You may have work on dupata borders for the heavy look. Try churidar with it. You can also keep the chiffon top sleeveless and wear a jamawar/jamdani A-Line shirt with long churi sleeves under it
I dont think sarees and dupattas go together at all!
I would suggest a pretty peshwaas, looks elegant and covered up enough :)
yup you shudnt go with saree it wouldnt look too nice. The right choice wod be to go with some sort off choridar with peshwas or an A line shirt like these days we have so many flair wale dresses and shirts so you can get something from dat.
Are u keeping the dupatta over ur head during the entire function or only during nikah ceremony?
If ur only keeping it on during nikah and taking off later, i would go for it!
If ur keeping the dupatta on ur head entire function, im not sure... i love sari's, but with dupatta it might look too much layers..
I personally like Sonam Kapoors sari in the movie Aisha, its white/creamish... for nikah or engagement..
The maxi dress (dress without churidaar or pants) is also great!
Funky nails, I would think my mom would want me to keep the dupatta on my head the entire time.
Girls, can you please post pics? I have only 4 months before my nikaah ceremony inshaAllah. I wouldn't be going to Pakistan for my shopping and I do not trust any of my family back home with my dress (bad past experiences). I basically don't want to take a high risk so I was hoping to go to a well known designer and having a formal/heavish dress made. At least with them the risk would be lowered. My budget is around $1500-2000. I would love some pics/ideas of dresses that fit my budget and are by someone trustworthy ...
I think if you want to wear the sari, use its palloo. A separate dupatta might look odd.
I love saris, but I think you might want to consider advice ammi always gives me: "You can wear saris anytime, for pretty much any event. Your ghararas, shararas, lenhas, and peshwaazes are worn rarely, so enjoy them especially at your own events."
Why do you wanna wear a saree?
I like the idea of not going total bridal on your nikkah but you can select a gown, a frock or even a nice shalwar kameez.
i don't like brides in saaris, please choose something else, a long gown or anarkali.
Aline heavy embellished long dress with light dupatta and churidaar
will loook awsome
i also made many for my nikah type functions clients
My heart is not into anarkalis. I wore a gorgeous anarkali for my cousin's wedding, and I don't want to wear the same style for my own nikaah.
Sahar02, I do want to look a little bridal because it will be my legal/religious wedding but I just want to save the actual bridal lehenga look for my main reception. I think my mom is just excited about the whole bridal thing that she wouldn't even mind seeing me in a red lehenga on my nikaah day.
I was thinking of a saree because it's different and I have never worn it to any family function before. My main concern here is not only to look gorgeous in whatever I choose to wear, but look different. Price is a factor but I wouldn't mind stretching my budget a little for the perfect outfit (I have spent my entire life dreaming about it so now I am not going to cheap out and crush all my dreams). I am not looking for knockoffs, so please no more pvt messages with the information on those (no offense). I would really love to see some pics of all the ideas please.
Also, how do you get in touch with the designers back home? I have emailed several but have not received any responses so far. I will have to wait till the weekend to call and I just wanted to get the initial quote/information over the email to be able to compare before going ahead and making the effort to call. Can anyone give me tips on how to get in touch with Karma, Umer Sayeed, and Nilofer Shahid via email?
*i think this is a bit too simple *
make some changing with ur dress… take a shalwar kamez, kaam pura kameez ka loh aur
sath mei bana lo ek gharara ??? just an opption ![]()
or
btw.. if u still gonna go for saree then do it my dear…
saree k sath ek extra dupatta bana lena ;D my sister and a cousin did the same for
their engagement ceremony ;D
im specially in love with this saree ;D
goodluck ;D
Thank you soooo much for the ideas Teri Nazar, but my mommy just ruined all my plans. She does not want me to wear anything but a lehenga. She said that it is my wedding and that I wouldn’t look like a bride without it. She suggested that I ask my khala back home to bring me a lehenga but I would never trust my khala, and I don’t want to look too bridal ![]()
Here is something I came across when I did a search on Umar Sayeed on facebook. I love it because it’s not too heavy and it’s a lehenga. The only problem is that I don’t know if it will suit my body type. I am very petite, 5 feet, 90lbs. Do you think something in this style would look good or would it be too overwhelming? I was also thinking that if I went with something like this, I would get either capped sleeves or full net sleeves and change the colours. Maybe keep the pink but pair it with a deep purple? I have emailed the lady on Umar Sayeed’s facebook group twice and have received no reply so far. Can anyone give me his contact details or find out the approximate price for this dress for me please?
love it^
Before any selecting any wedding lengha you should read out these important tips How to Select Best Wedding Lengha - Wedding Pakistani. Its very useful.
so I guess you would have to go with some lehnga then.
this lehnga is lovely.. not to much heavy.. goo for it
goo for full neth sleeves and change the colour tht it goes with 2 colours ;D
xD im kindly in love with this simpel not to heavy lehnges (^^) take a look (^^)
love them