Application of Sunnat in household affairs

Re: Application of Sunnat in household affairs

Yes. In trash.

oh did not know that. Inshallah will do from now. Good sharing LKK

While throwing if we read 'Bismillah' than Muslim Jinnat will eat them otherwise Mushrik jinnat. Same as before start eating any meat on bone, if we read 'Bismillah' than the Muslim Jinnat will share each bite with use. :)

Sunan Abu Dawud
**To wash both the hands before and after meals.
Sit in the squatting posture.
To recite the various Masnoon du'aas after meals. One of them is, 'Alhamdulillaahil ladhiy at'amanaa wa saqaanaa wa ja'alanaa muslimeen.

Sahih Bukhari**
To sit on the floor.
To take the name of Allah before eating.
To eat with the right hand.To eat with the fingers (thumb, index and middle fingers).
To eat from the closest part of the plate and not from the middle.
Fathul Bari
Sit in the Tashahhud position (like in Salaat).
Sahih Muslim

To clean every bit of food left on the plate and to lick the fingers before washing them.**

Sunan Ibn Majah
**As far as possible, to eat collectively from one plate.

eating with hands :)

keeping kajoor in your house; increases the plentiness of food

oh i dint know it, JazakAllah khair.

JazakAllah khair for sharing, i dint know this.

Ditto....my mom always used to do this and now we do it too.

It is a beautiful thread mashAllah! keep it coming, gives us a chance to learn much more.

using kalonji&honey in food. I put a pinch of kalonji in my every saalan

no velvet/double curtains for any window no matter how much I am tempted to do so.

no framed pictures/stuffed toys in sight(toys go in the toy box)

sitting on the floor for meals

why is that?please elaborate ur answer..............

i dont know about any sunna regarding curtains.....

jazak Allah

Dont leave dirty dishes in the sink overnight. Takes away barakah.

I also want to know about curtains. Never heard of that before

Volume 3, Book 47, Number 783(bukhari)
Narrated Ibn Umar:

Once the Prophet went to the house of Fatima but did not enter it. 'Ali came and she told him about that. When 'All asked the Prophet about it, he said, "I saw a (multi-colored) decorated curtain on her door. I am not interested in worldly things." 'Ali went to Fatima and told her about it. Fatima said, "I am ready to dispense with it in the way he suggests." The Prophet ordered her to send it to such-and-such needy people. "

I just could find this for now but I have ready in few ahadith where Prophet Muhammed(P) refused to enter a sahabi's house where there were 'makhmal' (velvet) layered curtains and entered only after they were removed.

^ I think the spirit behind this is discouragement of material excess. Why stop at velvet, makes sense to disallow the use of silks as well. Speaking of the evil of 'worldly things,' I'm thinking the gown/pishwas/anarkali fashion isn't exactly kosher either, considering how much material - opulent fabric at that - is used, but sigh, who can resist. :D

Really? I had no idea about the velvet curtains. There goes my idea down the drain :(

JazakAllah for this thread - you forget to do so many little things or do them without realising why you're doing them in the daily lives - this serves as a wonderful reminder.

i always try to enter the washroom with my left foot and read the dua before entering, and leave with right foot first.

Lovely thread.
Could be made a sticky cuz it serves as a reminder.

Little things we do
Saying salam wen entering the house.
Washing hands before eating.
Reading the duas before and after food.
Eating with hand usually.
Sitting on the ground while eating.
Reading the duas before entering the washroom and on leaving the washroom.
Try to enter washroom with left foot and leave with right foot.
Try to cut nails on either Monday's or Friday's
Try to fast on Monday's & Thursday's
Read surah mulk ,sajda and few other surah's every night.

These r allI cud remember at the moment.