Apology from Mughal emperor family.

Does anybody have any further info on this? Does it really matter now that a descendant of the Mughal emperor apologize for sins that she was no way responsible for?

International Human Rights Organisation
Head Office: Chamber 210, Judicial Complex, Ludhiana- 141 001
Tel & fax: 91 161 240 2453, Cell: 98147 02089

PRESS RELEASE

LUDHIANA, - The International Human Rights Organisation (IHRO) has welcomed the step taken by India’s last Mughal emperor, Bahadur Shah Zafar’s great grand daughter-in-law to atone at the Golden Temple for the atrocities committed on the Sikhs and Hindus by the Mughal rulers on the Vaisakhi Day at Amritsar, India.

While expressing its dismay at the cold shoulder response, before now, shown to this cause of utter humility and friendliness, by the Akali leadership at the helm of Sikh affairs, the IHRO said that the step taken by Mughal Bahu, Sultana Begum, would, if responded in right perspective, usher an era of goodwill, peace and harmony among communities living in this part of the world.

The IHRO chairperson D S Gill, secretary-general Mohinder Singh Grewal and administration secretary Avtar Singh Gill, in a statement issued here today, called upon the Hindu and the Sikh community leaderships alike to show interest in this cause of humanity and receive the Mughal Bahu at Amritsar and help her atone at Sri Darbar Sahib, the Mecca of the Sikhs, for the sins committed by her ancestors centuries ago.

The IHRO, in its core-group meeting held here yesterday, resolved: “… we also urge Akal Takht Jathedar Giani Joginder Singh Vedanti to do the needful when the Mughal Bahu after the atonement appears at Sri Akal Takht, in order to undo the “historical bitterness” which had been created and shaped by individuals and the pages of history.”

The lawyers activists of the human rights NGO have also asked the Punjab government headed by Capt Amarinder Singh to extend all help and make proper arrangement for her security, etc and to see that “some” vested interests may not be able to create any hurdles in this noble cause of humanity.

The Mughal Bahu and her grand daughter have also expressed their willingness, in a section of the media, to pay a visit to the Sheesh Gunj Gurdwara in Delhi where Guru Tegh Bahadur was beheaded in 1675 by their forefathers, they said.

nice of u 2 to rub it in by mentioning the mughals imran but r u forgetting wat indira gandhi did. she in June 1984 ordered operation blue star, a military assault on Amritsar's holy Harimandir Sahib or Golden Temple, the central Sikh place of prayer, which had been occupied by Jarnail Singh and his militant supporters with a heavy cache of arms.

the occupiers refused to depart peacefully and a firefight ensued - with 83 soldiers and 493 occupiers killed, and many more injured.

anti-sikh riots followed after her death in New Delhi and nearly 2,000 innocent Sikhs were killed. Many members of the ruling Congress party were implicated for their role in the riots and many related cases are still pending judgement in Indian courts.

i think its great. mughals were no angels. dair ayay durust ayay.

I dont like what some of my ancestors did either (as i am mughal) , but considering the fact that millions upon millions of people have been involved in wars and fighting, and have killed people or murdered people, I think many of us would be related to people who have done great injustices to others. If you ask someone for an apology doesnt it mean that you think they are partly responsible, or that you are holding them partly accountable? If your friend ran over your neighbors cat, would you accept them asking you for an apology? Do you think its fair of them to ask you for an apology? I would say I disapproved of what happened, and am saddened at the fact that so many ppl were killed, and I believe people should be satisfied with that. I do not hold families of people that killed some of my extended relatives to be responsible, and I expect no apologies from them, because they didnt commit the crimes. That is like holding a grudge against someone for no good reason, and holding grudges usually only spreads ill will towards others. I have Sikh friends whose families were killed in that time, they havent once ask me for an apology, but they did ask what I think of all of it, and I told them and they were satisfied with my answer, and I think thats the best way.

I came across a great website just a few days back on mughals.

Re: Apology from Mughal emperor family.

*Originally posted by imran dhanji: *
Does anybody have any further info on this? Does it really matter now that a descendant of the Mughal emperor apologize for sins that she was no way responsible for?

good for the Mughals.

now, let us have an apology for Gujrat by Modi mian and his ilk. after all it is a more recent event and hence, more relevant, isn't it Imran bhai?

Thats degrading for all Muslims and esp Asian Muslims.

Who are these idol worshippers that we should apologize for anything?

I apologize for nothing, and regard the Great Kings of the Mughals and the Muslim predecessors as rulers of India as a symbol of pride for all of us.

I shall name my first son Tamerlane.

Re: Re: Apology from Mughal emperor family.

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *

good for the Mughals.

now, let us have an apology for Gujrat by Modi mian and his ilk. after all it is a more recent event and hence, more relevant, isn't it Imran bhai?

Yes, I agree there should be an apology from Modi and also from Congress for the 1984 riots.

*Originally posted by legbreakgoogly: *
Thats degrading for all Muslims and esp Asian Muslims.

Who are these idol worshippers that we should apologize for anything?

I apologize for nothing, and regard the Great Kings of the Mughals and the Muslim predecessors as rulers of India as a symbol of pride for all of us.

I shall name my first son Tamerlane.
He was one of the most cruel kings who killed millions of people just because he could.

He was a great Saint of Allah. He glorified Islam and spread justice!

In 1398 Tamerlane invaded India, where he captured Delhi and massacred its inhabitants. He brought back riches from India beyond his wildest dreams: trays of gold and carved ivory and mounds of jewels – rubies, pearls, emeralds, turquoise, topaz and cat’s eye, and diamonds said to be so valuable they might have fed the world for a day.

http://sun.menloschool.org/~sportman/westernstudies/first/1718/2000/gblock/mughal/societyandculture.html

Education has really hit rock bottom in Pakistan it seems. Nauzibillah, calling him a saint.

He went to war with the Ottomons, defeated and captured one of their leaders, Bayazid (around 1402).

This stopped (for a period) the muslim conquests of europe and was a severe blow to islam.

You should put things into prespective.

:konfused:

anyway, i, on behalf of the mughal family, seek an apology from the british (for what they did to our family and our wealth) and from the indians (muslims and hindus - who betrayed our family and stabbed us in the back) and from the neighboring countries who refused to help us in difficult times…

hah! who the hell is this so called mughal bahu to apologize for the actions of her "husband's" ancestors? Mughals were among the worlds greatest emperors and their actions werent so stupid that one of their descendants would stand up 200 yrs later and apologize for them. thats an insult to the Mughals. im not saying the atrocities commited were justified, i just mean to say that do we know in what relevence the action was taken? the Mughals were kings, warriors, strategists. does an ordinary woman from today know enough to say they were wrong and say sorry for them? who needs the apology? the Mughals dont. maybe she needed the limelgiht for personal attn. its an insult to the kings.

Munni,
do you guys have family trees connecting you back?

Imdad,
great link! thanks.

Such an apology is meangless. Not aall mughals were bad. Other than Auranzeb (beloved by Pakistanis), other mughal emperors adapted to the Indian society quite well. Even Auranzeb was an Indian, his chinese roots having been indianised a long time ago. Nicks that are trying to make it an India/Pakistan issue have too much time on their hands.