Anyone for Rugby?

With the Cricket world cup currently going on in SA there is not much else being discussed in KK. However, the Rugby Six Nations Championship is also being played at the moment. It started on February 15 and will continue till March 30.

The schedule is as follows:

Saturday 15th February 2003

13:30 GMT Italy 30 - 22 Wales
16:00 GMT England 25 - 17 France

Sunday 16th February 2003

15:00 GMT Scotland 6 - 36 Ireland

Saturday 22nd February 2003

14:30 GMT Italy vs Ireland
17:30 GMT Wales vs England

Sunday 23rd February 2003

14:00 GMT France vs Scotland

Saturday 8th March 2003

14:00 GMT Ireland vs France
16:00 GMT Scotland vs Wales

Sunday 9th March 2003

15:00 GMT England vs Italy

Saturday 22nd March 2003

14:00 GMT Wales vs Ireland
16:00 GMT England vs Scotland

Sunday 23rd March 2003

14:00 GMT Italy vs France

Saturday 29th March 2003

13:00 GMT France vs Wales
15:00 GMT Scotland vs Italy

Sunday 30th March 2003

14:00 GMT Ireland vs England

So on saturday not only will England be playing Pakistan in the cricket world cup they will be playing Wales at Rugby as well in this tournament.

The current points table is as follows:

Country P W D L For Against Points 
Ireland 1 1 0 0 36 6 2 
Italy 1 1 0 0 30 22 2 
England 1 1 0 0 25 17 2 
Wales 1 0 0 1 22 30 0 
France 1 0 0 1 17 25 0 
Scotland 1 0 0 1 6 36 0 

I think England will win the tournament. Any other guesses?

Yeah, I agree. England looks like the best team in the pack. The big surprise for me was Italy's win over Wales. I feel there are a few more upsets in store during the 6 nations tournament.

Follow the Six Nations but the southern Super Twelve also started today.

I believe England should take the 6 but France might upset.

England should win this time, the only real opposition they have is France really. The team is playing more consistently and deserves to win it..but there could be susprises.

Rugby in a Pakistani forum, been there done that.
Specially around the WC, bad idea :nono:

Aur bhi khail hain Zamaney mein cricket kay siwa
Rahatein aur bhi hain chockey ki rahat kay siwa :slight_smile:

Ayee baat samaj mein Umair bhai.

But Ehsan bhai, us desis can only play cricket, these manly sports like rugby are out of the question.

whoa

some game against Wales, I was going to give up my hopes. Thank God there was a second half.

We handled france better than we just struggled with Wales I think..lets see if the level is a lil higher from the start of the match in other matches because ifthe way we played first half against waled was teh way against France, there would have been a loss.

22/02/2003  15:30  Italy  13 - 37 Ireland  
22/02/2003  18:30  Wales  9 - 26 England  

Because of the cricket matches yesterday I didnt watch the Rugby, probably would have been better watching Rugby rather then cricket yesterday.

yeah dont let the score fool you, had it not been for some fantastic tries in the second half, the victory would not have been possible. The entire team looked like a diff team in the second half. maybe they got some motivational speaker at halftime :)

At least I would have been watching professionals at work rather than wimps trying to surrender in a most unprofessional way.

France beat Scotland 38 - 3.

http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/030223/80/dtx2p.html

France have revived their World Cup ambitions by defeating Scotland 38-3 in a Six Nations championship game played at a frantic pace with both teams keen to run the ball at every opportunity.

The French, whose hopes of a second consecutive grand slam were dashed by England last weekend, won on Sunday through tries from lock Fabien Pelous, fullback Clement Pointrenaud, centre Damien Traille and wing Aurelien Rougerie.

Flyhalf Francois Gelez, recalled after goalkicker Gerald Merceron failed at Twickenham, scored 18 points from four penalties and three conversions and also created two tries with subtle field-kicking.

“We made some mistakes but we badly wanted to redeem ourselves and when we are in that kind of spirit at the Stade de France we fear nothing and nobody,” said Gelez.

Scotland, stunned last weekend by their first loss to Ireland at Murrayfield since 1985, could reply only with a penalty by Chris Paterson five minutes into the game.

TEXTBOOK DRIVE

France quickly took the game to the Scots.

Wing Vincent Clerc launched himself on the left-wing fast lane but was tackled into touch five metres from the line and France twice opted for possession instead of taking a penalty kick.

On the second opportunity, they won a five-metre lineout and lock Fabien Pelous crashed over after a textbook forward drive. Gelez narrowly missed the conversion from the touchline.

Kenny Logan gave the French a scare with a brilliant midfield run. He broke the line, chipped and chased but was outpaced by wing Vincent Clerc.

Gelez confirmed France’s domination with a perfectly struck 40-metre penalty kick. He then booted his third after Scotland newcomer Kevin Utterson high-tackled from 40 metres.

By then, France were leading 15-3 and had the freedom of the Stade de France. Handling errors stopped them from running away but they still managed to go into the break with a 17-3 lead.

Two minutes into the second half, Clerc broke on the left wing and, with a swift pass, centre Xavier Garbajosa set up fullback Clement Poitrenaud for an easy try in the corner.

Gelez converted to increase France’s lead to 24-3.

LAST FLOURISH

The Scots were relying on fast counter-attacks but the French defence held tight and kept their discipline.

After a rush by the forwards and a quick delivery, Gelez delivered a perfectly-timed kick above the Scottish backline. Centre Damien Traille gathered the ball at full pace and crossed behind the posts. Gelez made no mistake with the conversion.

Scotland coach Ian McGeechan once again reshuffled his backline, with Gregor Townsend taking over the flyhalf position from Brendan Laney and Andy Craig coming in as outside centre.

Scotland had an opportunity to score a well-deserved try seven minutes from time when fullback Glenn Meltcalfe broke the line after a ruck but Utterson knocked on 10 metres from the line.

By then, the replacements’ ballet was in full flight. France coach Bernard Laporte substituted lock Olivier Brouzet with David Auradou, prop Sylvain Marconnet with Christian Califano and even captain Fabien Galthie with 22-year-old Dimitri Yachvili.

France still ended the game with a last flourish. Thomas Castaignede, who came in for Vincent Clerc, launched into a long run down the left to offer flanker Olivier Magne a try disallowed for a forward pass.

The last try was still to come in injury time when wing Aurelien Rougerie outjumped his opponent to catch a high kick by Gelez who duly converted.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
yeah dont let the score fool you, had it not been for some fantastic tries in the second half, the victory would not have been possible. The entire team looked like a diff team in the second half. maybe they got some motivational speaker at halftime :)

Maybe the same motivational speaker was needed in the Pakistani dressing room before the start of their pathetic innings, eh?

I watched the Wales vs England game and would have to agree with you - it was a tale of two halves!

The French put on a real display yesterday and taught the Jocks a real lesson.

England vs. Ireland will be the crunch game now...any predictions?

if england plays the way they did in first half against wales, Irish will crush them, if england plays like they did in the second half.. then the irish should pack up and not bother to even show up..cuz they will get hammered.

England all the way.

Latest News
** Hines surprised by Murray omission**

Recalled Scotland lock Nathan Hines admitted he was shocked by Scott Murray’s omission from the RBS 6 Nations squad to face Wales but claimed the bold move by coach Ian McGeechan was a boost for the fringe players.
http://www.6nations.net/news_530.html

Praise for Pelous

France coach Bernard Laporte has hailed Fabien Pelous as an example of perseverance and self-motivation after naming him captain in place of the injured Fabien Galthie against Ireland. http://www.6nations.net/news_526.html

Cohen set to miss Italy clash

England wing Ben Cohen is a major doubt for the RBS 6 Nations match with Italy at Twickenham on March 9 after effectively being ruled out of the game by coach Clive Woodward. http://www.6nations.net/news_archive_525.html

Today’s results

Ireland vs France 15 - 12

Scotland vs Wales 30 - 22

**Scotland vs Wales **

Scotland coach Ian McGeechan compared the kicking of Chris Paterson to England’s Jonny Wilkinson after the 30-22 win over Wales.

The Edinburgh Gunners player scored six from six attempts for the Scots which, coupled with his second-half try, gave him a personal points tally of 20.

With the Calcutta Cup up for grabs at Twickenham in a fortnight, McGeechan joked: "I know how Clive Woodward feels now.

"You have to give credit to Chris for his kicking. We actually got points for all the good rugby we were playing.

“You don’t always get tries but when you get penalties or conversions from the touchline it give you a tremendous fillip.”

But McGeechan was less impressed with substitute referee Tony Spreadbury, who replaced injured Argentinian match official Pablo Deluca at half-time.

Wales scored two tries in the closing moments although the Scotland coach admits some of the blame should go to his side as well.

McGeechan said: "We took our foot off the pedal a bit. We wanted to score first after the break which we did. Then we eased off and Wales, who are a very good side, took advantage of it.

“Apart from the comedy act in the last five minutes it was very good. I think you have got to keep refereeing to the final whistle and not stop three minutes short.”

** Ireland V France**
Ireland captain Brian O’Driscoll admitted the weather played into his side’s hands as they overcame defending champions France 15-12 in a tryless RBS 6 Nations clash in Dublin.

Both sides experienced difficulty in coping with a swirling wind and persistent drizzle at Lansdowne Road, but Ireland maintained their 100% record thanks to sure-footed fly-half David Humphreys, who kicked four penalties to take his points tally to 55 in three games.

“Because of the weather conditions, France were unable to play their usual expansive game,” said O’Driscoll, who has yet to experience defeat as Irish skipper.

“It was our job to make sure they couldn’t attack as they usually do and perhaps the weather did play a part in that.”

The Irish have now won their last nine matches and have beaten the French three times in their last four meetings to confirm their emergence as a world force.

Although they were unable to add to the eight tries they scored against Scotland and Italy, coach Eddie O’Sullivan was delighted with his side’s persistence and patience as they condemned the reigning champions to a second defeat in three games.

“I’m relieved to come out of a tight game,” he said "I’m very proud of the team and very happy with the way they stuck to the task.

"It was very important to get a win against a world-class side in very difficult conditions. I think it was a good professional job.

"There were mistakes on both sides. It was probably the ugliest game I’ve seen for a long time but it’s looking a lot prettier when you come out the right side of it.

“That’s a good French side who came into the game knowing they could still win the six nations. They really made us work for the victory.”

http://www.6nations.net/news_585.html

England cruise to 40-5 win over Italy](http://uk.news.yahoo.com/030309/80/dv181.html)

LONDON (Reuters) - England have beaten Italy 40-5 to keep their Six Nations grand slam hopes alive but after a devastating early spell, the home side spent much of the match on the defensive against a much-improved Italian team.

In a blistering opening 22 minutes England scored five tries, two by impressive fullback Josh Lewsey, to race into a 33-0 lead.

However, Italy found a way back into the game and dominated possession for about 40 minutes either side of halftime.

They managed only a solitary second-half try by fullback Mirco Bergamasco after giving England’s defence a sustained examination.

England have now gone 20 successive games unbeaten at Twickenham but coach Clive Woodward, building towards this year’s World Cup, was not impressed with his team’s failure to build on their great start.

“It’s a very quiet dressing room, there’s a lot of frustration still,” said Woodward.

"We were fantastic for 25/30 minutes and then we just took our foot off the pedal and we couldn’t take the ball off the Italians.

“They played very well but we just got a little bit sloppy. They were in line for a hiding at one stage.”

Ireland and England have won their first three games and will meet on March 30 in Dublin in the final match of the championship, likely to be a Grand Slam decider.

Ireland beat champions France 15-12 on Saturday while Scotland beat Wales 30-22 to leave Wales winless after three games.

FLYING START

England, with wins over France and Wales in the bag, got off to a flying start at Twickenham.

Captain Jonny Wilkinson opted to kick for touch with his side’s first penalty and the result was a secured lineout and three quick passes that put in Lewsey for a try just minutes into his first international game for two years.

Wilkinson, leading the side in the absence of the injured Martin Johnson, repeated the option in the 10th minute and this time hooker Steve Thompson burrowed through to score.

Three minutes later winger James Simpson-Daniel got on the scoresheet after another lightning move, Lewsey slipping the killer pass.

The Wasps fullback, who gave up a career in the army to concentrate on fulltime rugby, then scored a superb individual try. He said this week he would not try to copy Jason Robinson, out injured, but his triple sidestep would have done the Sale man proud and it left his opposite number Bergamasco clutching air as Lewsey ran 50 metres to score.

Quick work by scrumhalf Matt Dawson then set up centre Mike Tindall for England’s fifth try in the right corner.

England looked set to better their 80-23 success in the fixture two years ago but Italy stopped the points tidal wave.

The visitors went on to dominate the remaining 20 minutes of the half. They came up against ferocious tackling as the hosts showed 100 per cent commitment in defending their tryline even if England’s attack lost its cutting edge.

Italy started the second half well and England’s plans were further thrown off course by a double injury.

Wilkinson went off with a shoulder problem in the 48th minute but his replacement Charlie Hodgson lasted only five minutes before he too went off, with a twisted ankle.

Will Greenwood took over the flyhalf duties.

Ramiro Pez, playing at flyhalf in place of Italy’s star player Diego Dominguez, dropped the ball inches from the line but the Italian pressure finally paid off after an hour when winger Mirco Bergamasco scored in the corner.

Winger Dan Luger scored England’s sixth try to round off a disjointed home team performance.