Any suggestions?

One thing that really puts me off cooking is having the smell of the food on my clothes,in my hair afterwards. im sure we’ve all met or come across a desi on which you can smell what he/she had for dinner that day, sometimes you can smell it on a whole family. khair, asian food = strong and vibrant smells but please any advice on how to avoid getting the smell on myself? at all?

Re: Any suggestions?

Have separate clothes for wearing in the house and going out in.

Try not to cook immediately before having to go out.

Get a fan in the hood of your cooker to 'drag' the smell out of the kitchen.

Keep the windows opened.

Keep the kitchen door (that connects to the rest of the house) shut when cooking.

When cooking fish if you light a candle (any kind of candle will do) this will take the smell out of the air - I guess the same could be done for strong spices? Maybe get a scented candle and leave it burning while you cook.

As Amor suggested:

Have separate clothes for when you cook that you change out of when you're done. Exhaust fans, open windows.

Many if not all desi dishes require onion and garlic. And onion/garlic contain compounds......which are absorbed the body and into the bloodstream. And the only thing that completely gets rid of their odor is........time. You can mask the odor with breath mints, deodorant, etc. But you won't get rid of it completely until your body get rids of it. And your body gets rid of it through your breath and the pores of your skin. This is why you can smell onion/garlic/certain spices on people.

thankyou amor amor and redvelvet for replyin :slight_smile: i’ll definietly try the scented candles amor amor :k:

No worries , do let us know if they do the trick :)

Amor try to wear gloves when you are doing the basics onions/ginger /garlic etc ... that really helps reduce the smell ..

Also just keep some vinegar in a little bowl , just about quarter of a cup ... leave it uncovered while you cook. It helps reduce your body absorbing all the food smells ...

^ Lol, It was Sazzie that asked for the tips :) I'm sure she'll find them useful though ;)

another trick is that you can bhoono a lots of base masala and keep it bottled in the fridge (it will be like a curry paste that is common amongst many of our dishes) .. next time when you use that, there will be less smell as most of the smell comes from bhoonoing masala.

whats bhoono bhai :confused:?

Use lower heat levels and lids when you can.

you know when you saute the onion and then mix spices in hot oil and stir before adding meat and vegetable … that process of saute and stirring is called bhoono

get take aways

how comes i never smell like a desi kitchen :konfused:

thats interesting, about the vinegar, will definielty try it :slight_smile:

i do tend to do this, but you can still smell it, in the living room, on clothes, albeit faintly but you know :slight_smile:

is bhoono an urdu word? i asked my hubby and he said it means to fry, i was like ok,thanks mate :5:.anyway will try all the suggestions one by one inshallah so thanks:)

and put on several stones!? come on colourful!

i dont know, give me your secret!

but i dnt have a secret :crying: